We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location for the way of the roses”
Review of Blakeney House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blakeney House
Ranked #35 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for the way of the roses”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here as a group of 9 on our second night of the way of the roses cycle. We arrived very wet following a heavy downpour and all our wet clothes were taken from us which saved us having to put them to dry in our rooms, bikes were taken care of straight away and locked away. Lovely rooms, great choice of breakfast - the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon bagels were cooked perfectly ! We ate at the Walnut tree which served good wholesome food at reasonable prices, I had the steak and ale pie which was delicious! Would definitely stay here again either for a trip to York or when we return for the way of the roses. Thanks again Louise and Mark.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rainford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you guy,s, even if you were a little soggy on arrival! Cycling is becoming such a popular sport and the WOTR's route is quite chalenging so we like to make sure your spotover is a relaxing and enjoyable one.

Hope to see you again.

Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    33
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
114
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Louise & Mark did everything to make our stay enjoyable and comfortable. Our bedroom was spotless with a lovely en-suite. We were greeted with a cup of tea and homemade cake on our arrival. The guest house is in a good location for York and the surrounding area & you can walk into York (around 25 mins) or catch the bus.Louise and Mark are happy to pass on their knowledge of the area & to recommend places to eat. Cold water and fresh milk were provided in a fridge & this was much appreciated. The breakfasts were delicious and we would definitely recommend the Blakeney.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lynEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for your complimentry review. I am pleased you had such a lovely time. A warm welcome, good housekeeping and a delicious breakfast, along with a desire to help make our guest's break away an enjoyable, all seem to be the winning ingredients for making our B&B into a success
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

A group of us stayed here as part of an organised bike trip. Louise and Mark did everything they could to help: warm and comfortable rooms, delicious breakfast (fresh fruit salad was very welcome),guided us to pubs for evening meals, sorted out soaking cycling clothes and were generally pleasant. Thank you for everything - I hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myscamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We always enjoy having our cycling groups. A warm welcome, comfortable bed and great breakfast is very much appriciated after a hard day in the saddle!

I hope we we see you again soon. Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abernethy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My room was exceptionally clean and well-equipped. A nice touch was the availability of fresh milk which was kept in a refrigerator on the landing (this was in addition to the usual cartons of milk on the tea-tray in the room).
The slot for breakfast was quite limited at 8.30 - 9.0am. The owner warned me of this when I arrived but an earlier breakfast could be arranged if requested.
Unfortunately, it is a good 30 minute walk into town although a 'bus service is available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for your complimentry review.

With regard to breakfast our normal breakfast service has always been from 8.30am until 9.15 during the week and 8.30am until 9.30pm on weekends, so not as limited as you suggest. We find this works well for our guest, but we can do earlier breakfast from 7.30am on request, or a buffet tray is provided in the fridge if requested before that time.

We are always happy to take on board Guests constructive comments and since your stay we now do breakfast during the week from 8.15am until 9.15am.

Many Thanks
Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have just had a fabulous 2 night stay at The Blakeney. We are a family of five and were more than comfortable in the family room.
We were welcomed with fresh coffee and home made cake, Mark and Louise could'nt do enough.

And the most important part of going away...The breakfast.. Lovely, everything you could want, all fresh and good quality products.
If you go to York, and don't stay at The Blakeney your missing out!!.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. Good to know our breakfast hit the spot! Many thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife & I spent our 44th wedding anniversary at Blakeney House & to say we were impressed was an understatement, the food was excellent, the room was comfortable & clean & the hosts were exceptional.
They could not do enough for us, for our next stay at York my wife & I will look no further than Blakeney House..
Thank you very much..Malcolm & Rosemary Parry.

Room Tip: According to other people that stayed when my wife & I did all the other rooms are excellent als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blue4yuo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you Rose and Malcolm I'm so glad we helped to make your anniversary celebration a happy one.We hope to see you at Blakeney house again in the future. Best wishes Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

A wonderful warm and friendly welcome on arrival. The hospitality of tea, coffee and delicious homemade cakes.

The rooms were excellent, very comfortable and homely. The breakfast was excellent with a good choice and variety, the service was excellent. The hotel is placed in a very good location. All was a great value for money.

Louise and Mark were perfect hosts, went out of their way to help and could not do enough for us.

We would definitely stay there again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blakeneyhouse, Owner at Blakeney House, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you for your complimentry review, we strive to make all our guest feel as welcome and comfortable as possible. Many Thanks Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.5 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#40 of 192 in York
317 reviews
2.2 mi away
Carlton House
Carlton House
#9 of 192 in York
1,353 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 192 in York
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Bishops Guest Accomodation
2.2 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#37 of 192 in York
71 reviews
1.7 mi away
Alcuin Lodge
Alcuin Lodge
#3 of 192 in York
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blakeney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blakeney House

Property: Blakeney House
Address: 180 Stockton Lane, York YO31 1ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blakeney House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Blakeney House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing