We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the Shoulder”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Shoulder of Mutton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #136 of 192 York B&B and Inns
uk
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the Shoulder”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is our local pub & I have to say being an older couple you are treated with a smile & respect, in particular a new bar man called "Mikey" so helpful & kind, nothing is to much trouble. Although we have never eaten in the pub, the food looks absolutley delicious. I would definitely give this place a go,its location to the City is fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gran-daffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    48
    18
    14
    19
See reviews for
31
61
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Warm welcome received on arrival and shown to a spacious and modern family room overlooking the garden and play area. Food is delicious and plentiful and breakfast was superb!
Service was impeccable, staff couldn't do enough for you.
About a 10-15 min walk into York town centre and has car parking to rear of pub.
All in all - would definitely use again and highly recommended! 5*

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beckiewebbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southamptom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Shoulder of Mutton for 2 nights in York in early July 2012. We were very pleased with the room, it was newly decorated to a high standard and the double bed was extremely comfortable. The owners were very hospitable - offering to drive us into central York as it was raining and going out to buy me something for breakfast which wasn't on the menu. The cost was very reasonable and there was plenty of parking at the back. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and would stay there again.
Helen & Andy, Southampton

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

Please dont be put off by the frontage of the Hotel..follow the parking sign go through the back gate into a lovely well kept play area and large beer garden...through into the bar...where a lovely warm welcome was waiting for us .by the owners sister..We stayed in rooms 3 & 4 newly furbished to an excellent standard..new Bathrooms, really comfy beds with good quality matresses and bedding..very tastefully decorated..Breakfast was great nothing too much trouble.The only downside ..wished we had been staying longer..would have loved to have sampled the much raved about Sunday lunch. Must warn anyone you can hear the folks in the bar dowstairs enjoying themselves but that did'nt ditract us in the least,we would have joined in if we had'nt walk the length and breath of York during the day...An added Bonus was the lift we where given into town..what a kind jesture..plus the offer to pick us up if they wern't busy...above and behond ...We will certainly be back.Well done !!!

Room Tip: we where in room 3 above the bar my son and partner where in 3 this room was quiter..but did'nt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

arrived sat 16/06/12 early ,to drop off car and work our way to the races, we were greeted by the staff and sat down with a lovely pot of coffee..one of the staff offered to run us to the racecourse in his car whenever we were ready to go (a gesture worth £14 as we found out when we booked a taxis back to the hotel after racing).On arrival back we purchased one of their reasonable priced pub meals which was great value and continued to have a few drinks from a good choice of beers and wines.After a good nights sleep in a newly decorated room with a shower which works ! we enjoyed a full english breakfast very tasty !! To the management and staff we cannot thank them enough for their hospitality and as the chef said ENTER AS A VISITOR GO OUT AS A FRIEND. Nothing could be nearer to the truth.Well done,

Room Tip: Although they are well on there way to upgrading every room.every room is ok !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Room was clean and tidy and newly decorated. Had a lovely home cooked evening meal and even though I needed to be up and out before breakfast was being served, the staff showed me where the cereals etc would be, so I did not miss out.
Just one draw back, the music from the party downstairs could be heard but as it was a Saturday night, I think this should be expected.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed at the Shoulder of Mutton last night on a business trip to York, the management and staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom I slept in was clean, warm and well furnished. This mornings breakfast was REALLY the full monty and well presented.

Although some painting was being carried out it, it didn't cause any problems. Want to stay in York for business or pleasure? Try The Shoulder of Mutton!

My bedroom was located at the front of the building and there was a little noise from the road but not enough to spoil the stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a rear bedroom but the front ones are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.7 mi away
Elmbank Hotel
Elmbank Hotel
#45 of 46 in York
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holgate Hill Hotel
Holgate Hill Hotel
#42 of 46 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
York House
York House
#64 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nags Head York
The Nags Head York
#102 of 192 in York
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#38 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoulder of Mutton

Property: Shoulder of Mutton
Address: 64 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoulder of Mutton 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shoulder of Mutton - Pub, B&B & Restaurant has been under new management since the 9th of May 2013 and is now run by Estella & Stewart.Here at the Shoulder of Mutton we have newly refurbished rooms and are in the process of redecorating the remaining rooms.All of our rooms are en-suite with tea & coffee making facilities, towels & complementary toiletries. Along with our rooms we also have a large fully licensed bar, function/dining room where breakfast, lunch & evening meals are served, small lounge room, large beer garden with children's play area & free private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shoulder of Mutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoulder Of Mutton Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing