We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Shoulder of Mutton, York”
Review of Shoulder of Mutton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shoulder of Mutton
Ranked #111 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at the Shoulder of Mutton for 2 nights in York in early July 2012. We were very pleased with the room, it was newly decorated to a high standard and the double bed was extremely comfortable. The owners were very hospitable - offering to drive us into central York as it was raining and going out to buy me something for breakfast which wasn't on the menu. The cost was very reasonable and there was plenty of parking at the back. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and would stay there again.
Helen & Andy, Southampton

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Please dont be put off by the frontage of the Hotel..follow the parking sign go through the back gate into a lovely well kept play area and large beer garden...through into the bar...where a lovely warm welcome was waiting for us .by the owners sister..We stayed in rooms 3 & 4 newly furbished to an excellent standard..new Bathrooms, really comfy beds with good quality matresses and bedding..very tastefully decorated..Breakfast was great nothing too much trouble.The only downside ..wished we had been staying longer..would have loved to have sampled the much raved about Sunday lunch. Must warn anyone you can hear the folks in the bar dowstairs enjoying themselves but that did'nt ditract us in the least,we would have joined in if we had'nt walk the length and breath of York during the day...An added Bonus was the lift we where given into town..what a kind jesture..plus the offer to pick us up if they wern't busy...above and behond ...We will certainly be back.Well done !!!

Room Tip: we where in room 3 above the bar my son and partner where in 3 this room was quiter..but did'nt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

arrived sat 16/06/12 early ,to drop off car and work our way to the races, we were greeted by the staff and sat down with a lovely pot of coffee..one of the staff offered to run us to the racecourse in his car whenever we were ready to go (a gesture worth £14 as we found out when we booked a taxis back to the hotel after racing).On arrival back we purchased one of their reasonable priced pub meals which was great value and continued to have a few drinks from a good choice of beers and wines.After a good nights sleep in a newly decorated room with a shower which works ! we enjoyed a full english breakfast very tasty !! To the management and staff we cannot thank them enough for their hospitality and as the chef said ENTER AS A VISITOR GO OUT AS A FRIEND. Nothing could be nearer to the truth.Well done,

Room Tip: Although they are well on there way to upgrading every room.every room is ok !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrissywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Room was clean and tidy and newly decorated. Had a lovely home cooked evening meal and even though I needed to be up and out before breakfast was being served, the staff showed me where the cereals etc would be, so I did not miss out.
Just one draw back, the music from the party downstairs could be heard but as it was a Saturday night, I think this should be expected.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vicg60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Stayed at the Shoulder of Mutton last night on a business trip to York, the management and staff were friendly and helpful. The bedroom I slept in was clean, warm and well furnished. This mornings breakfast was REALLY the full monty and well presented.

Although some painting was being carried out it, it didn't cause any problems. Want to stay in York for business or pleasure? Try The Shoulder of Mutton!

My bedroom was located at the front of the building and there was a little noise from the road but not enough to spoil the stay.

Room Tip: Try and get a rear bedroom but the front ones are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kencom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our friends booked the hotel months ago and I went on-line w/c 2nd April 2012. I was horrified when i read the reports and was all for cancelling.
However, what we found was a really nice friendly public house with staff that went out of their way to pleasr.
The rooms are recently renovated/ decorated and are modern, clean & tidy with the shower room being very nice indeed.
Pub food great value and we were really pleasantly pleased; ignore the old postings and give it a try.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Scotties57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We arrived at the shoulder of mutton on 09/03/2012 4 adults staying for 2 nights, having booked this hotel/pub in 2011reviews looked good in 2011.
They started to go down hill in 2012.
We thought about cancelling but did not
The new staff had taken over on 07/03/2012 and they could not do enough for us, the dinning room was closed due to great need of being refurbished however they took us by car to a very nice restaurant and picked us up for return.
The chef made a great breakfast on both mornings ,for the price and location it was great it's not a 4star hotel but its not 4 star prices .
Brendan and his new staff can not be held responsible for the past owners mistakes .
The rooms we stayed in will be refurbished but they were very clean and both beds had new mattress ,do go and stay when it's finished it will be a great place to stay.
We will return soon

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bmwNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
York House
York House
#68 of 194 in York
347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nags Head York
The Nags Head York
#105 of 194 in York
93 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cumbria House
Cumbria House
#109 of 194 in York
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Dovecote House
Dovecote House
#55 of 194 in York
131 reviews
15.1 mi away
Ye Olde Red Lion
Ye Olde Red Lion
#115 of 194 in York
101 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Saxon House
The Saxon House
#117 of 194 in York
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shoulder of Mutton

Address: 64 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range: $93 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shoulder of Mutton 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shoulder of Mutton - Pub, B&B & Restaurant has been under new management since the 9th of May 2013 and is now run by Estella & Stewart.Here at the Shoulder of Mutton we have newly refurbished rooms and are in the process of redecorating the remaining rooms.All of our rooms are en-suite with tea & coffee making facilities, towels & complementary toiletries. Along with our rooms we also have a large fully licensed bar, function/dining room where breakfast, lunch & evening meals are served, small lounge room, large beer garden with children's play area & free private car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Shoulder of Mutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shoulder Of Mutton Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing