We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicer than just another chain restaurant”

Gourmet Burger Kitchen
Ranked #340 of 858 Restaurants in York
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: International chain
London
Level Contributor
191 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Nicer than just another chain restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

They do what they do well- really delicious burgers for very reasonable prices. The staff here were lovely- we sat in GBK having a catch up for about four hours and they were fine taking photos for us and at no point did we feel pressured to leave as you might in some restaurants. Lovely modern interior nicely located. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank killtacos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    107
    71
    47
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“So Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

The service was great and the menu was really clear cut. Which is nice for people from a foreign country. You know exactly what you are getting for your money, there is NO GUESSING in this place. The burgers were delicious and the fries and milkshakes were awesome too! I definitely recommend to stop in here for a quick meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Molly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a great little joint in a beautiful central location around the corner from the Minster. It is pleasant to sit in, upstairs and down, with the standard GBK modern interior. I've never had a bad meal here - each time it's been hot, fresh food cooked well. You have to pay separately for chips, which is a little annoying but since this isn't the average burger place I don't tend to hold it against them. I most recently had a lunch deal, a small burger and fries for £6 or so. Very decent deal. You can download an app that gives you discount and rewards each time you go. Highly recommended - one of the best places to eat in York.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RedGastronomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Tasty burgers at a price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We visited GBK whilst on a recent trip to York.
Service was "OK" - I've been to this GBK previously and received extremely good service to it all depends on who is serving on the day.
When we were seated the menu was explained and that we were to order at the bar when we were ready. We were also given two small glasses and told to help ourselves to monkey nuts.

Whilst the burgers are delicious with plenty to of otions, it can work out quite expensive as the price on the menu is for the burgers only and sides are extra - even the fries!! However having eaten at a GBK previously we knew that the burgers are filling enough that we could share a regular portion of skinny fries between the two of us.
There is a special lunch menu in place between 12 & 5pm with a burger and fries priced from £5.99 and £6.95 although these are slightly smaller than normal so we chose burgers from the normal menu.

If you are happy enough to drink water then jugs of iced water with mint leaves and slices of lemon & lime are provided free of charge, so we just drank this with our meal and shared a milkshake (ask for an extra straw) between us.

In total our bill came to just over £27 for 2 burgers, 1 portion of skinny fries and an Oreo milkshake. I did try to use my NUS card for the advertised 30% discount when presented with the GBK app but sadly this could not be used against Resident Hero (RH) burgers which typically both of ours were.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank badger1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good burgers bt pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I visited here with friends on a saturday night before going to the nearby comedy club. We found the inside quite cramped but very modern and it had the feel of a burger cafe not a retaurant.
The burgers are very nice and they have a wide range of toppings and styles.
I found it quite expensive and they make you pay for sauces like mayonaise and ketchup which is wrong
Overall good burgers but let down by high price

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Burger Kitchen also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Gourmet Burger Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing