We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“fabulous weekend”
other travelers have booked this property
County House - Grand landmark building with gated parking
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
County House - Grand landmark building with gated parking
Lounge with French doors to private patio Bedroom made up with a superking bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
County House - Grand landmark building with gated parking
Lounge with French doors to private patio
Bedroom made up with a superking bed
Fully equiped kitchen
Patio Doors let in the sunshine
Lounge
Dining kitchen
Lounge/Dining
Lounge/Dining
Kitchen/Diner
Outside Dining
Private patio
Bedroom - made up with Twin Beds
Bedroom showing extra bed, sleeping 3 people
Bathroom with shower over bath
Imposing entrance hall in County House
County House taken from the Minster roof - the large building just above the spires
Near the city walls and gateway- only 2 minutes walk
Near the Minster - only 4 minutes walk
Winter Breaks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
brian f
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fabulous weekend”
Reviewed December 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed at this lovely apartment for 3 nights. Lots to see and do within a few minutes walk.
The accomodation is very clean and comfortable . Nice touches like cakes and scones left on the table for us and enough tea coffee etc. to see you through the first day or so. Lovely private patio area.
Supermarket was only 5 minutes away .
Would not hesitate to stay here again and will recomend to friends and family

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ericmckay
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First Class.”
Reviewed September 8, 2017 for a stay in September 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Started with message from Phil and Mary to say the apartment would be ready for 2pm and they would be at front door.They were and Phil demonstrated how to operate the electric gates that keeps your car secure.They then were taken inside and both demonstrated all equipment and features of the apartment.I could go on and on about all the plus points,but the truth is it's First Class.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin e
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment”
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is the second time we have stayed at this lovely apartment. Once again, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. When we arrived, Phil and Mary were there to meet us again, and they were wonderful hosts.
If you're looking for an unusual and quirky place to eat, then look no further than The Hairy Fig on Fossgate...what a hidden gem! Little Italy in Goodramgate is a brilliant Italian Restaurant and their food is top notch! The Lamb and Lion in Upper Petergate makes delicious food, too.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colin e
Old Colwyn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Apartment”
Reviewed December 4, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

My wife and I had an excellent stay at this apartment. The owners greeted us on arrival and they were very accomodating. Very comfortable bed, and the place was immaculate and tidy with everything you could ask for. We look forward to staying at this apartment again in February.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfort of the bed. A really good night's sleep!
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 16, 2016
Thank you Colin, we are looking forward to your return.
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann H
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

As a family of 3 ,2adults and 1 12 year old boy with special needs we loved this place ,nothing was to much trouble ,the place was spotless comfortable and of a very high standard it really is a retreat .We were greeted by the owners and everything was explained clearly and a lovely afternoon tea awaited us we couldn't have asked for more thank you very much we will hopefully be back very soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent quality
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alex w
edinburgth
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“luxury indeed”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

First and foremost thank you Mary & Phil for letting us stay for a week in your lovely apartment. We had a very relaxed week so cosy and comfortable everything we need to make our stay stress free you had thought of right down to the box of needles and various coloured threads, disaster overrated.
the location was spot on we were only minutes away from all of the main tourist areas the Minister was only a 3 min walk.
Having somewhere to sit out and have a glass of vino was a bonus.
Overall we had a fantastic stay, the welcome sweet meats were a great wee treat thanks. We will be back.......thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loveholid...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Another lovely stay in this superb apartment cannot fault it at all a great place to stay in York so convenient for everything ,and comfortable feels like home ,Mary and Philip are great hosts and make you welcome ,look forward to our stay next year

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing