We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish & chips just as it ought to be”

Thompsons Fish Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 874 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fish & chips just as it ought to be”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Excellent fresh cod and chips: what more can I say?
Prompt service, clean loos and lots more choice on the menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lucymoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    673
    141
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
doncaster england
Level Contributor
144 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“beautiful place to eat”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

called on our way back from filey and glad we did meal was gorgeous and well presented, what i would call proper fish and chips well presented and reasonably priced and a lovely decor as well . Well worth a visit !!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bobbyblade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“thompsons fish and chips simply the best”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

went to thompsons fisheries on Monday the 19th of may had a fab meal the restaurant is cool crisp and comtempory the food is out of this world the waitress carnt do enough they go over the call of duty to help u and they do it with a smile the chefs are worth there weight in gold the food is amazing so if ur in the York area and travelling to the seaside call in the girls will be pleased to see u and u will get a hello with a smile xxxx

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 707vanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A really must try”
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

Once again we had excellent food and brilliant service. We found Thompsons fish restaurant in 2010 and have always had wonderful tasty food, fish so fresh and the best part is NO Bones. Huge portions and that is not all, you get fresh bread, tea or coffee and if you don't like hot drinks as I don't, they will oblige by giving you an orange juice. Thanks once again Thompsons. PS I do not know why they have a pudding board we can never eat all the fish dinner. BRILLIANT.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Still the best”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

Been for the seniors fish and chips today as a birthday treat. Once again the fish was superb, brilliant white and cooked to perfection. Such a clean friendly place I would always make this first choice for fish, although they do an awful lot more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DaphneYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompsons Fish Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thompsons Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing