We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another excellent meal”

Thompsons Fish Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“another excellent meal”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

once again i took my parents out for lunch at this lovely restaurant,this time i had their black and blue burger with all the trimmings it was out of this world, my pareents had fish and chips all great as usual well done to the chef many thanks

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    694
    141
    23
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Huge Desserts”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We visited today, my first time. Excellent. Very quick service, piping hot fish and chips, lovely fresh tasting fish, beautiful batter. But the desserts were exceptional, huge portions of beautiful desserts with lovely fresh fruit. Cannot praise this restaurant enough.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julielucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant Fish and Chips”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Called today for the first time at this lovely Fish and Chips Restaurant and was not disappointed. Had Haddock light battered and it was beautiful - fish was excellent quality. The premises were very clean only down side was the toilets, they were clean but the smell from them was none to sweet, my husband confirmed that the gents smelled the same. Seriously needs sorting, other wise well happy with food and staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING food”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited thompsons tonight for a family meal, the food was amazing! Huge portions and the fish was massive and very thick big flakes and tasted lovely and fresh, one of the people in our party ordered a ham salad and again it was huge! Lots of thick cut ham and lovely fresh salad! We have also had the gammon there before and its beautiful and well worth a try! we never come away hungry or disappointed! The restaurant looks like its had a makeover and we thought it looked lovely! The staff are always very friendly and make you feel welcome and the service is fast and the food is always nice and hot and freshly cooked! This is the best fish and chip restaurant and takeaway in York and is well worth a visit!! Voted best fish and chip restaurant 2013 and it is!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highcliffe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Not just a nice place to break your journey!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Thompson's was a convenient place to break our journey home from a stay in Whitby. Normally, it is difficult to 'rave' about roadside cafes. Often they are over-priced with low standards as they know 'you won't be back'. Thompsons is an exception.

Yorkshire is clearly one of the best fish and chip counties and Thompson's must be one of the best in Yorkshire. Haddock and chips were text book perfect with tasty crispy batter and chunky firm-textured brilliantly white fish. Chips were from good quality potatoes and perfectly cooked. Everything was served piping hot with good Yorkshire tea and bread and butter. All for £9.95 ('Regular' size but pretty large portion).

We didn't have room for sweets but they are home made and other customers were very enthusiastic about them. From what we could see coming out of the kitchen, other dishes were equally good.

Our only issue is that we just couldn't find which organisation had awarded them 'Best Fish and Chips 2013'. It appears that they have awarded it to themselves on the basis of customer feedback.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thompsons Fish Restaurant also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Thompsons Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing