We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Wombwell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellent for visiting”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Visited York for the night and next day and stayed here.
Was really nice and clean, only downside was lift was not working and the reception area wasn't much of a reception.
Car park prices was good too, either in the travelodge car park or the NCP around the corner. Was locked in a garage and only came to £10 for 24 hours. NCP & travelodge have got a deal with each other.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    605
    116
    25
    16
See reviews for
537
843
63
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I think premier inn are a group that do it right anyway, and this one is no different. What struck me was all the staff are very young but they are all very helpful and pleasant. Kien who serves in the restaurant is a credit to the hotel. Rooms are a very good size, modern and very very comfortable. Food is of a good standard too and very reasonable. Nice and close to the walls of york. Well done!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank futuredub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We visited York for my birthday 6th Feb 2013 and caught the train to York. I looked on mapping before we left and found the Premier Inn on Blossom Street South only 5 mins walk from the trasin station. On arrival at the hotel we had a warm greeting as always and directed to our room. The room was at the rear of the hotel with no spectacular view but it was very quiet and has you'd come to expect the high standard of these hotels.
We unpacked and made our way to the bar and resturant and again a warm welcome from Kien behind the bar. He was helpful with all the information we needed to make out stay enjoyable and what and where to go whislt in York. We had some lunch and a few drinks then made our was up Micklegate 1 min from the hotel which takes you a 10 min walk straight in to York. Shops, bars and resturants on this street so plenty to look at on our way in to the city centre. We walk every where over the 3 days there which was enjoyable and took no time at all. The pavements and some cobbled roads could make disabled travel somewhat difficult but give it a go everyone to there own. Across from the hotel is an extremerly busy road and more busy junction just up from the hotel. I have to say the sound proofing from the bar, resturant and hotel was fine no issues there. The busy junction is controlled by a pelican crossing which seems to take ages to change but be wary this junction is one you need eyes in the back of your head!!! Off this junction on Micklegate you can join the York city wall which you can walk around the city. Some parts of the wall are now missing but look for the brass castle sign on the pavements and follow to the next start of the wall. A great way to see different views of York with plenty of resting places. Some steps are step be warned. Overall a great hotel with great people in a great city. Oh the lift in the hotel is under repairs and out of order so this could be a problem for some. Check if you go if its up and working.

Room Tip: Dissabled perhaps choose a ground floor with good acces to bar and resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a winter trip to York and this time we stopped in Blossom St “South” and were wonderfully catered for. Although it was winter the heating was more than capable and the hot showers were if anything too hot, not that I am complaining. The service was 1st class and although we went into the “North” part of the hotel by mistake they did take care of our parking before showing us the correct hotel.

We stayed in Room 131 with a small window out onto an enclosed courtyard, which was quiet and was fine for us, we don’t expect a view of the wilderness of the Serengeti from a two storey inner city UK hotel bedroom where silence is always a challenge so we were well pleased that although there was no view, there was no noise. The building is maze like for the un-familiar so initially finding our way back out was a challenge. A simple arrow with the word Reception hanging from the ceiling at the end of each corridor and the head of the stairs would cure the problem once and for all. A well deserved 10 out of 10 for the stay

Mr & Mrs Briscoe

Room Tip: we were at the back of the hotel and it was silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Reception check in, by Charlotte, was quick and efficient. Our room was well appointed and clean. It remained cold, however, even with the thermostat turned up to 24! but, on request, we were immediately provided with a supplementary heater, which made a huge difference. Because we were at the back we got little or no traffic noise but the refuse collectors at 7am one morning were an annoyance. Hannah, also on Reception, went out of her way to obtain details of buses into town for us. Can't commend either of those girls highly enough. Smiling and pleasant the whole time.
The restaurant was a disappointment - even starting with the arrangement of the tables. From the back it was a bit like an Assault Course to manoeuvre through for those of us less agile. Dinner was 'adequate' (unfortunately our main course choice was steak) but we acknowledge that we were tired and, after dinner, relaxed with a drink on the comfy sofas in the bar area.
Breakfast, however, was hectic. I made a pot of tea for two and carried cups and teapot back to the table. Then went back along the bar to make toast - which initially did not toast enough (very chilled bread?) but burned when put through the toaster a second time!! My husband had helped himself to a selection of bacon, eggs etc by then - which had cooled considerably by the time I succeeded with the toast, which he wanted to eat with it! By the time I sat down to eat my breakfast the tea was cold and I felt stressed. All together an experience we didn't want to repeat. Also, the morning sun streaming through the windows highlighted a thick layer of dust on the wooden partition shelving - not what you want, particularly in an eating area! The following day we ate breakfast across the road at the Bar Convent Hotel. Delicious food, relaxed environment, clean and pleasant staff - highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Her1-n-Him2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We've just returned from a great weekend visit to York and our stay at Premier Inn was we agreed a good choice for our hotel. Location is great as you are only 5 mins from Railway Station or Shops, Restaurants in centre of York. Check in was very quick and efficient. We had concern reference our original room due to air conditioning units operating outside but when we went to reception we were immediately moved to quieter room. Rooms are basic but are equipped to meet your every need. Most importantly they are very clean and well maintained. I've stayed in number of Premier Inns around the UK as you normally know what to expect and have too date been lucky and not had bad stay. If you want a hotel that has a great location, clean and inexpensive for your visit to York this would be excellent choice. On our previous visit to York we paid top dollar to stay in hotel overlooking York Minister and had the worst night sleep ever with late night clubbers shouting and fighting outside hotel on way home. In contrast Premier Inn was very quiet and we had great nights sleep. Give it a try if you decide to visit York and you will not be disappointed !!!! Just one last thing make sure you book Blossom St South and not North. We had to visit the other Premier Inn on Blossom St to get our parking ticket validated and first impressions were it looked shabby and not a patch on it,s sister hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

No, it is not 5 star luxury but as a base to explore York, I'd find this harder to beat for value for money. The staff were welcoming and the room was clean, tiday and well equipped. We ate breakfast on our second morning and the hot buffet was excellent - so much so that I had little room for any of the other offerings....

Room Tip: Yes, the lift is currently / temporarily out, so select a floor which is based on the weight of your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
1,203 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#2 Family Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing