We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, clean pleasant, friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Ranked #11 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value for money, clean pleasant, friendly hotel”
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is a good choice for any one visiting York for a short break. Very clean comfortable room, great breakfast and only a short walk to the city centre and all the attractions of York.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,913 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,140
    615
    118
    25
    15
See reviews for
542
848
65
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

I've found that Premier Inn's can be a bit hit and miss but this one is definately a hit!

The hotel itself is well situated for the city centre being a less than 10 minute walk away. Right by the hotel are several good pubs and there is a highly regarded Italian restaurant just over the road or a 2 minute walk away.The railway station is a 2 minute taxi ride away.

The rooms are typically Premier Inn but my room was quiet and certainly fine for a business trip.

The staff were very polite and helpful. I checked in early but there was no problem in getting in to my room. Breakfast was very good and served in a nice restaurant next door.

The man responsible for booking diners in at breakfast time was very friendly and enquired about my stay and as to whether everything had met my expectations.

This is a good Premier Inn run by good staff. I would recommend it.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DaveUKWorcestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Good location for tourists, just outside Mikkelgate, perhaps a 12 minute walk to York Minster and 10 minutes to the National Railway Museum (through the York railway station).
Wonderful staff, extremely friendly and helpful in every way. A good value: modern, comfortable, spacious, clean, and well-maintained room. Also quiet and with good climate control. Convenient Kosta Coffee just before the reception to the adjacent Premier Inn property (Blossom Street North?). Restaurant/pub attached to Blossom Street South (did not try).
Only "limitation": Parking. Very easy to drive past the hotels' parking lot. Due to one-way streets, this leads to a 10-15 minute drive around York to get back to the vicinity of the hotel. The lot for the two Premier Inns is fine, but somewhat tight; and if it's full, you need to drive out of the lot, make a quick left, and go down an "alleyway" to the nearby commercial parking lot (give hotel reception your ticket, and they will "validate" it electronically to get you a reduced rate at the lot).

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chip162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Only a short walk from the train station to the hotel, we arrived to a very nice welcome. The receptionist told us of the hotel meal times and booked a taxi to take us to a show in the evening. We enjoyed a relaxing afternoon with drinks in the bar before our evening meal.The bedroom overlooked the road but was very quiet, the beds and pillows were the most comfortable we have slept on in a hotel. Each member of staff was polite and friendly. Every area of the hotel was decorated to a lovely standard and was kept clean and tidy.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marie186346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Lovely hotel especially as we only paid £39 for our family room!! Ideal base for exploring all of Yorks attractions. Polite friendly staff. Nice restaurant and food. The car park is a 5 minute walk which is not a problem but on the interent it did say parking was available and we assumed it was at the hotel until we received an email 2 days before we went to say it was at the NCP. You do get 20% discount though so was only £8.50 for 24 hours.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia5591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Excellent location - about 5-10 minutes walk from main town centre of York. Many excellent restaurants located within easy walking distance. Hotel staff are brilliant, very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Only down side is that there is no parking attached to the hotel (others payable locally), so because of this we chose to travel by train which is sooo easy, as train station about a 5 minute walk away. We hadn't been to York since we were both kids, so it was nice to visit and be able to enjoy the sights again. The weather helped too as it was gorgeous... Would definitely consider going back to stay there again - and would definitely travel by train.

Room Tip: Room 131 on 1st floor - no view but very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajb231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Myself and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for two nights in June 2011 and we were really impressed. The staff were very helpful and friendly - including check-in, in the restuarant and throughout our stay.

Room - The room was perfectly clean on arrival, had everything that we needed and was cleaned well during our stay. The bathroom facilities were good and the bed was comfortable.

Food - We had both breakfast and evening meals at the Table Table restaurant that joins the hotel, and found the food to be good value and of a good standard.

Location - The hotel is in a very good location, within walking distance of all the sites, bars and restaurants.

Parking - There is limited parking on site, so we parked at the NCP car park very close around the corner which was very secure. A discount is received for those staying in the Premier Inn (24 hours costs £8.50).

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and would recommend this hotel, and a stay in York, to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAshton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton York
0.3 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson York
0.6 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel
Address: 28-40 Blossom Street, York YO24 1AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in York
#2 Romantic Hotel in York
#7 Business Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a historical part of York close to Clifford’s Tower, the memorial gardens and the city walls ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn York City (Blossom St South) Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing