We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
York Lakeside Lodges
Ranked #22 of 50 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great family weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in A cottage (minster) which sleeps 7.
It has a triple room, twin and double. All rooms were perfectly presented, nice and clean and very spacious. Pillows quite hard though so maybe take your own. Kitchen and bathrooms were also very roomy, towels are provided too.

The surroundings were lovely, huge lake with ducks and plenty of space for fishing should you wish to. Also a few little benches and picnic tables for if weather is nice to sit around the lake.

Not much in near by vicinity apart from tesco over the bridge but there is a park and ride facility in tesco car park should you wish to take trips into York or the designer outlet mall.

We had a great family break here and we will be returning.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santaslittlehelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    39
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
52
62
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Clean,friendly ,peaceful, beautiful location and a sunny weekend lovely!!!
We arrived and were greeted by a man who asked about our journey and explained our stay. Arrived at our lodge that was vey clean and just what we expected . Greeted wit a jug of milk tea and sugar what more after a long journey. Comfy bed . Clean sheets , clean shower and clean towels. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Totally unimpressed by this place - the only good thing is the fab location. Extremly rude lady met us upon our arrival barking " yes can I help you" at us. we explained we had a booking to which she replied in a very rude and aggressive manor " ha! Not at 11.40 you don't" she the suggested we go over to tescos till 3 as the lodge wouldn't be ready till then. When we returned at 3 her obnoxious husband gave us our keys and didn't speak another worded us so we found the lodge ourselves. In dire need of a revamp as things were old and mismatched, wasn't told about the fact you had to pay for your own electric and we had to have the heaters on a lot as it was freezing, no hot water and instructions on how to work an immersion heater completely baffled me and nothing I did worked so we had no hot water for the duration of our stay. The utter rudeness of the staff here and pathetic attempt at being a "quiet lakeside lodge" when it's just a cabin with a lake banged in the middle of a very busy town means I won't be staying here or recommending this place to my dog never mind friends. A big and very expensive let down. I'm staying at premier inn next time and chances are it will be cleaner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leanne n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Minster cottage during half term 18-22 Feb and found the cottage to be quite spacious and perfectly satisfactory for our group of 7. No problems here with cleanliness and there were plenty of pots pans plates etc (we had brought some of our own due to other reviews but this wasn't necessary). The lake setting was beautiful & location couldn't have been much better, close to York. The guy who runs this place though does appear to be a little grumpy and needlessly curt. Not a big deal & it didnt spoil our stay but its not pleasant all the same. The lady in reception was lovely however so if you would like some help or need anything probably best to ask her :) ... Other than this we had a lovely break, the kids enjoyed themselves and we would most definitely consider returning as we found this cottage good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RiggersBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed in Lodge 9 for 3 nights over valentine’s weekend. The view from the lodge was amazing, a few times we sat outside on the decking with a glass of wine and watched the birds it was so peaceful! There is a lovely walk around the lake with beautiful snow drop flowers all around :)

Inside the lodge it had everything we needed and was spotless! The TV in the living room is a flat screen and much more up-to-date than the one in the pictures on the website. Our bed was comfortable and there was lots of space for clothes in the draws and wardrobe.

You pay for your electricity at the end of your stay, the owners make this really easy to monitor because the heating and water heating are on timers. (We had the heating on a few hours in the morning and night, watched the TV every night and used all the appliances in the kitchen and the electric bill came to £7)

The owner of the lodges is really nice, gave all the information we needed when we arrived and put together a fabulous welcome book filled with information from how things work in the lodge to local things to do.

The only things I could think of that might have made it even better is maybe a few more towels for a weekend stay and to supply some cleaning products like washing up liquid/ cleaning sprays.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

We went to the A cottage from Cornwall with our 2 grown up sons and their girlfriends on the Friday before Christmas. We had a number of family get togethers during the week as we originate from York and on the surface most visitors were quite impressed with our accomodation. The location was lovely and as a fly fisherman I was keen to take advantage of the lake in the "front garden".
We arrived at 2.40 on the Friday afternoon to be informed quite curtly that we would have to remain outside the grounds until 3.00, we became the front end of a lengthy queue which was finally admitted at 3.05. Our first impression of the cottage was "a little dated and worn but satisfactory" and plenty of room for us and our belongings. The local Tesco store was our next port of call, very conveniently located about 5 minutes walk away, since we had brought nothing in the way of food with us in the car.
It was when we started using the facilities that things started to unravel a little: the cooker control symbols had worn off so it took us some time to figure out how to cook our tea; the remnants of a previous meal was sandwiched between two of the dinner plates and when I went for the stack of dishes to use instead I was showered with tomato soup, again left by a previous guest. I got my tee shirt into the washing machine and got the soup out of it, however in the whole time we were there we never managed to dry anything in the tumbler.
At this point my wife decided to put the entire inventory of the kitchen through the dishwasher while she had a proper look round. She found that the kitchen bin had not been cleaned and that there were items of rubbish, including food under the corner unit in the lounge. Any attempt to hoover was thwarted by an overfilled vacuum bag smelling of stale milk, we could only ever clean the floor with a sweeping brush after that.
Once we had cleaned the cottage to an acceptable standard we went on to have a lovely Christmas with only one further upset when the toilet door lock fell apart locking me inside on the morning of our departure.
The initial dissappointment was soon overcome but the question has to be asked, "Why is the reality so divorced from the official website testimonials?" It looks as if they are contrived or something has changed drastically in the last few months which has affected the management and running of this site. Hoseasons might wish to take a good look at York Lakeside Lodges while they are pinning their flag to them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a bit of a late review as I stayed here in February this year.

I decided to book a solo 3 day break in February this year and booked a last minute break through Hoseasons.

When I arrived I was shown to my lodge which was a one bedroom with twin beds. The lodge was very dated it was adequate for my stay and a last minute break but very overpriced. It just looked as if it hadn't been updated since it was built - theres traditional and old fashioned and then theres lakeside lodges! The lodges were not what I expected at all. The lake is lovely to look at and peaceful but just sort of plonked in the middle of a town centre, there's a college just up the road to the lodges and houses that run at the back of the lodges. There is a train line nearby as it kept me awake every night.

The beds were ok, I felt this stay was very very over priced for what it was. Wifi is charged at £5 but when I went I reception to ask for it I was met by a very abrupt man, check our was 10am on the dot but you can't leave until someone comes to the lodge to physically read the meters then collect payment for your electric usage.

I guess if your after a base for York sightseeing then the is ok but you'd be better off saving some £ and booking into a premier inn.

Wouldn't stay here again and I wouldn't recommend it either

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mum-rin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near York
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#36 of 45 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
9.4 mi away
Paradise Lakeside Lodges
1.1 mi away
St. George's Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Oakwood Lodges
Oakwood Lodges
#2 of 3 in Selby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
6.7 mi away
Wighill Manor Lodges
Wighill Manor Lodges
#1 of 1 in Tadcaster
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Farm
Home Farm
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York Lakeside Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York Lakeside Lodges

Property: York Lakeside Lodges
Address: Moor Lane, York YO24 2QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 50 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — York Lakeside Lodges 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your York Lakeside Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
York Lakeside Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing