We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious home-made cakes, drinks and scrummy yummy ice-cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Cremeria - CLOSED

La Cremeria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ice cream parlour and light lunches
Tadcaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious home-made cakes, drinks and scrummy yummy ice-cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

A perfect way to start our Christmas Eve before going to the nativity service at York Minster. We had the most delicious home made cakes (Chocolate and Beetroot, Lemon and Poppy Seed), wonderful drinks and the best ice-cream EVER! Pear and Stilton (yummy), Candycane and Peppermint (delicious) and Pina Colada Sorbet made with a fair amount of Bicardi in it (hic!). Everything is made from fresh ingredients and Mark is ingenious with his creations. You can even buy the icecream in half litre/litire tubs to take home - perfect for parties!

We live locally and so we know this area of York well. If you are visiting York, don't bother queuing for an hour for a well-known tea room, come here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank helenTadcaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    32
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ice Cream Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

Had the 7th Heaven ice cream mix (shared between two!) Everything about it was fantastic (quanity, value and flavours). If we had to choose only one flavour it would have to be the raspberry. The owner very friendly, knowledgeable and clearly passionate about ice cream.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Super Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic blueberry gelato,friendly service-don't miss it!
Very close to the Minster & a great place for lunch & good coffee.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2603jj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small but perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

This is in an area of York that many tourists never quite reach, which is a shame. We found it by accident when needing a rest and some refreshment! We had hot chocolate and warm chocolate brownie, and both were the very best best we had ever tasted! The lady who served us said it was her granddaughter's recipe and it was really, really fantastic! They had a a power cut for a short time during our visit, but carried on and were able to continue serving us with a smile and a joke! Very helpful and friendly - a real "find"!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davsor2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pumpkin icecream and lovely welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

What a lovely find. The staff were so friendly. We wanted a sit down and coffee not far from the Minster. what a great place. The ice cream flavours are superb and huge portions. thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kentJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cremeria also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing