We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful building , tastefully renovated - customer focus a little lacking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cybilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot1082, Deputy General Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2010

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,922 - 3,928 of 4,012 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

Everything we expected and more.... Friendly staff were always willing to help. Nothing was too much trouble for the concierge team and helped make our stay truly memorable. Hope to return soon when all the leisure facilities are up and running. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottishshoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank armagh222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shilo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2010

We chose this hotel as I love York and we decided we deserved some luxury for our 20th Wedding Anniversary.

On arrival we were met by the doorman who unloaded our case and arranged for the car to be parked. Inside we were offered orange juice, as we has a short wait to check in. To our delight we were informed that we had been upgraded as it was our anniversary! The case was taken to our room which on first impressions was light and spacious with 2 bathrooms. One with a huge double-ended bath with marble surround and a sink, the other with a large shower, toilet and sink. Lots of lovely Molton Brown toiletries were left in each bathroom plus lovely fluffy bathrobes, towels and flannels.

Inside the wardrobe was a safe and a haridryer. Also two pairs of slippers for us to use, and, here's where things start to go wrong, a packet of cheese and onion crisps left by the previous occupant!

We decided to overlook this and went off to explore. When we returned to the room it was thundering outside and we wondered why it sounded so loud. Then we saw that one of the windows was jammed slightly open and no amount of pushing would budge it. When we tried to put the bedside lamps on neither of them worked, and the standard lamp wasn't working either. We thought that this was pretty poor for a 5 star hotel and my husband reported it to reception. A maintenance man was sent to the room and after quite a while faffing with different light bulbs it was decided that it was due to the electrics which were behind the fitted headboard and they would fix them the next day. He did manage to fix the window in the end.

We went out for a meal and returned to sit in the lounge. The barman was friendly and the lounge is comfy and cosy with candles on the table. The only gripe I would have is the constant plinky-plinky piano music played in the background. I know everyone has different musical tastes but something slighlty more modern now and again would have been nice.

We retired to our room and tried out the bath. Very deep and roomy but the water seems to go cold quickly and the marble surround is uncomfortable to lie against.

We settled into bed and turned off the few lights that were working - then we saw it - the room bathed in a bright green light emitting from some kind of security light above the door. My husband climbed on a chair to wrap a black sock around it and discovered that someone had previously stuck a Mr Bump sticker on it to try and block out the glare!

We could hear the people above us running and emptying a bath but the bed was big and comfy and we were too tired to care by then.

Breakfast was lovely and we were looked after very well. We went out again as the maintnenance men needed to sort out the electrics. When we returned we couldn't go back to the room as they were still in there, so we sat in the garden lounge until it was ok to return. The lights were now working - hooray! But the crisps were still in the wardrobe and probably still are!

When we returned to our room on the second night we found that the bed had been turned down and some Molton Brown Eye Rescue left on the bed. Time to wrap a sock around the light again and go to sleep.

Breakfast on the last day wasn't such a good experience. We were informed that we couldn't enter the dining room as they were still clearing tables to we had to wait in the bar. We were waiting for about 10 minutes and the room was quite cold. Lots of uncleared tables. We ordered a full English again and it was a long time before it appeared. Today it was minus the sauteed potatoes for some unexplained reason. My husband's orange juice glass was cracked and he was lucky not to cut his lip on it. We reported it to a waitress who apologised and promptly exchanged it.

We then checked out which was simple and the car was brought to the front of the building for us.

All in all it was an enjoyable stay, but we really shouldn't have had to report issues with the lights which should have been tested before any guests were allowed to stay in the room. Another (more major) niggle is that the website stated that the spa would be open from the 14th of July (the day we arrived) but we were told that it still wasn't ready.

The staff were all wonderful - friendly, professional and helpful. They all work hard and deserve recognition for that. We will definitely return one day - if the spa ever opens!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffordshire_UKKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HYAYEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dissapointed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range: $189 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing