We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Had a great weekend here for my husband's birthday. I'd booked an Executive room but we were upgraded to a Deluxe room upon arrival which was huge. Rooms are well appointed and bathrooms lovely. The only downside was there was no view from the room apart from a car park but it didn't really matter.

Great breakfast both days - quite busy as it was the weekend but service remained excellent.

We used the pool a couple of times which is very nice - quiet and relaxing. Also booked a massage in the double treatment room in the spa which was great - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are enormous. But if you want a good view, ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetiepie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear sweetiepie79

Thank you for taking the time to review you visit to us in York.

It is always nice to hear such positive reviews and I am glad that you were happy with the room you were upgraded to.

We are glad that you were able to enjoy the full Yorkshire breakfast each morning and able to find time to sample the spa and use the health and beauty facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,739
    601
    208
    95
    41
See reviews for
472
2,248
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

The Cedar Court Grand lives up to its name - the public areas are elegant and beautiful and the room and bathroom definitely the most spacious of any I have ever experienced in the UK. Our room was fantastic - spotlessly clean, tastefully furnished in a traditional style and extremely well-appointed, and we only booked the least expensive room type. The bathroom had lovely towels and toiletries and great lighting for doing makeup. Wi-fi was good, and I really appreciated the free bottled water and the evening turn down service. The Spa area was beautiful and it was lovely to relax in the heated pool after a long day of sightseeing. The location is also fantastic, near the railway station and the city walls, and within walking distance of all the great restaurants and attractions that York has to offer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelLover50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear TravelLover50

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased that we were able to look after you so well, and that you enjoyed a comofrtable time whilst in York. We are very lucky to have some of the most spacious rooms you will find in hotels anywhere and that does allow for a comfortable and relaxing time for our guests.

I am particularly pleased that you enjoyed the added extras such as the Molton Brown toiletries, Harrogate Spa water and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel.

I do hope you are able to come see us again when you next visit the UK.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
padstow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

We booked a 3 night stay in July 14. Travelling by train to York as we were intending to view the minster and museums. The hotel was excellently situated for the train station and a short walk acros the bridge to the town centre. The reception staff were courteous, attentive and informative about the attractions of York.. The room was excellent with efficient air con! The Spa facilities particularly the pool were good and the staff and breakfast arrangements similarly of a high standard.
Overall excellent value for money.

Mr and Mrs Mathews

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stissey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear stissey

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

It is great you were able to take advantage of our leisure facilities - particularly the pool, and pleased that the tea, were able to look after you as well.

I hope that we can welcome you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

I'd booked a 2 night stay as a surprise for my husband to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary weekend and decided to book here after reading good reviews and I wanted something special! Rooms were booking very fast due to the York Races being on but I managed to find an online rate for a double room. I'd phoned up a couple of days after booking to confirm they had received the booking and to book dinner and spa treatments. They asked if we were here for a special occasion and I explained it was our anniversary.

We checked in on the Friday after work and were disappointed to learn that our room was a twin and not a double. I was told this was often a problem with online bookings and I was almost looked down upon as they assumed I had not phoned to confirm booking, and that we were one of the last people to check in (it was about 8pm) - but I explained that I did phone in fact several times! Even the young girl mentioned they had noted it was our 1st wedding anniversary!Unfortunately there were no other rooms available, they did try very hard, but gave us a complementary bottle of wine for the mistake. We were advised to speak to reception to see if a double room was available the next day - there was although it was a room for disabled access. We accepted it and it was fine, in fact probably smaller in size to our first room to give you an idea of how spacious the rooms are!

Overall its a very nice hotel and we were made to feel special by excellent concierge Jordi on our 1st night especially after the mix up. Good food and spa (although didn't realise you have to pay a supplement for hot breakfast - continental included in price). Excellent location, train station only a 2 minute walk which is great when walking in heels to catch the shuttle bus service to the races! Spacious rooms, comfy bed, good bathroom and toiletries, underfloor heating and powerful air con (was hot this weekend!). Wifi only worked for us for 24 hours though.

I will stay here again, just a little disappointed with the mix up of our room especially as I'd spent a lot of money, and there was no apology for the mistake when checking out. Despite this I will book again and give the hotel benefit of the doubt.

Room Tip: 101 room was nice and quite, room number 7 was a little noisy but only due to being on ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STail0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear STail0r

Thnak you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand.

I am so pleased to hear that Jordi and the rest of the team were able to look after you so well during your stay and that the location of our hotel aided you in having a relaxing visit to the races on a busy weekend.

I am sorry that there was some confusion with your booking and that your room was not set as a double as it should have been. Please also accept my apologies that we did not handle the situation better and resolve the situation sooner.

I am pleased to hear that you will return, and I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here before and thoroughly enjoyed it, 5 star claims, 5 star pricing therefore I had high expectations. The hotel felt like a different place....
It started on arrival where I had to struggle up the steps of the hotel vs being assisted with the bags. The welcome at reception was warm but one of the rooms I booked was not ready even at 3pm!!!! I received an apology but no estimate on when it would be ready and no offer of tea or anything while we waited, poor show on that.
Finally got the room after an hour waiting, the room was a twin (205 or 206) and was welcomed with a big stain on the wall where a room from above must have leaked (nice in 5 star). My issue is not the stain but the fact that the hotel thought it was ok to let guests have that room at all.
The next morning there was an ear piecing sound from the same room the guests ran the bath and the pipes were screaming! I could hear it in my room which was across the hall.
Rooms were still comfortable and clean but the fridge was noisy.

Visited the bar and it was still ok as was the breakfast.

All in all -a bit of a let down. I hope standards improve.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barnacle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear barnacle08

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us.

I am sorry that the welcome was not up to our usual standard and I will be discussing this with our front of house team. I am also sorry that the room was not ready till slightly later than usual due to some technical issues.

You are correct that there had been a leak in the room above previously and unfortuantly as we were fully booked we were unable to offer an alternative. We have rectified this problem and sorted the situation now, but I am sorry that it impacted on your stay.

Please rest assured that both these issues will be resolved and I hope you visit us again in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Yes it's comparatively expensive but it's five star and having enjoyed a one night stay this week we've come to the conclusion it's the best (only) hotel to stay in while in York. Simply first class all round...loved it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Dave

Thank you for taking the time to review your trip to York and your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I have to agree we are the best place to stay in York, but I am baised, so its so much nicer to hear from someone who has stayed. We are Yorkshire's only 5 star hotel, and we hope to a deliver an experience that befits that.

I do hope that you are able to come and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Everything was outstanding. The hotel is a grand building and the rooms very generous in size. The staff were friendly and helpful, spa was a welcome haven, well laid out and clean. Dinner in the Brasserie was excellent and highly recommended. York Minster only a few minutes walk away. I could not fault it.

Room Tip: We had an executive double which was extremely comfortable. There are not many rooms with a view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Alistair T

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

I am pleased that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay in our hotel when you visited York. I am equally delighted that you had such an enjoyable meal in our Hudsons restaurant, which has only been open for a number of months. We are lucky enough to have two restaurants, Hudsons and HQ, both of which provide a unique dining experience in the city.

I am delighted that the team were so friendly and helpful, as that is what makes us stand out as Yorkshires premier hotel.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing