We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worthy of the hype”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Just returned from an absolutely sublime stay at the cedar grand court. The staff , and facilities delivered on every level. its rare to find a 5 star hotel that strikes the perfect balance between attentive service and remaining relaxed , but the cedar in York does that wonderfully. I cant say enough nice things about it. Peter the concierge was brilliant from the moment we got within 10ft of the front door, until we left 3 days later. I am disappointed to only be able to give 5 stars for the breakfast - it was worthy of much more !

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,010)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,132 - 2,138 of 4,012 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2014

I have stayed here many times, it is without doubt one of best hotels in Yorkshire. It Ouse's quality & class and it always delivers on every level. The terrace area is lovely perfect for summer nights eating or just relaxing with a drink. Although it can be a little windy and you need to position yourself to catch the sun, it's the location of the terrace In between two buildings it feels at times like your in a wind tunnel. Not complaining that's just how it is. We had a suite on the 4th floor where we were told by a staff member any of the HRH's who stay use these rooms. So really don't have to say much about the rooms if they are up to royal approval. The bar area is a relaxing chilling place with a very rich feel about it, love that bar, once your sat there you really don't want to move. Breakfast is excellent although not the quickest service but a Sunday morning and the hotel full it's hardly something to moan about
The staff here are excellent they have a very professional team at the Cedar Court
The location of the hotel is perfect if you are arriving by train only a 7 min walk from the station but by car it will be parked for you it is a pretty perfect set up , it's what you expect from a 5 star hotel and they deliver
I could go on about the spa gym and the many other relaxing rooms here but you really need to go and enjoy the experience yourself

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Pete D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

From the moment we approached the hotel from the railway station , dragging our suitcases behind us and were greeted by a concierge who assisted us with them, to the moment we left, again assisted all the way to the railway station , the experience of this hotel was amazing. Any query was attended to immediately. We felt we got the personal service of a small hotel combined with the proffessional service of a five star luxury establishment. Cleanliness second to none. I would like to especially mention Jordi for going the extra mile during our stay, with his knowledge of all things York , which helped us to make the most of our stay in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Cedar Court is probably among the best that York has to offer but is really a solid four star hotel with ambitions to be a little more. My views were probably coloured by recent experience as I arrived in York having just spent a couple of days at the recently re-furbished Cafe Royal, London Piccadilly Circus, but although the price tag for a suite there was comparable to this hotel the quality and service were certainly not.

The arrangements for check in / check out are inadequate particularly at busy times and this was compounded by a computer problem which left only one functional terminal when I checked in. Very frustrating after a long journey. The room itself was spacious but very traditional in style and without the wow factor. The underfloor heating in the bathroom made it uncomfortably warm during the night.

The spa and pool are basic and a little cramped, smelling heavily of Chlorine and with no real area to sit and relax. When we visited on a Saturday in the early evening it was overrun with noisy children and not a place to linger.

The bar and restaurant were all OK.. but again not really 5 star quality or service. All in all the whole experience from start to finish was really just OK. This is a solid business hotel but I would hesitate to book for a long weekend break.

Room Tip: Suite 405 is certainly quiet spacious and comfortable but somehow trapped in the 80's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

So sorry for the late review. Family stayed here for 3 nights in October 2013 and the whole stay was fantastic. The Hotel were brilliant with the kids. The room was amazing, double height with huge windows. Swimming Pool, Spa and Gym were great. Had a great time in York and for a short stay in Winter / Half Term it was cracking.

Room Tip: For a family see if you can get a double height room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KKIS-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I first stayed here last month for a couple of nights with my husband and couldnt wait to go back. I booked the 'I love Sundays' package and couldnt believe the value for money.
We arrived early ,the valet parking was great, no hassle around parking and worth the cost. After the day spent round York we checked in ,the room was lovely ,two good sized beds, dressing gowns and slippers and fabulous Molton Brown goodies.We headed to the Spa as the package included a thirty minute treatment.. I opted for the neck, shoulder and back massage. It was divine I cant rate the spa staff highly enough, friendly and probably the best massage I have had .
We didnt eat in the hotel but had cocktails in the bar ,and although they are a bit pricey ,the Apple Crumble martini was sublime, in fact we ended up having three but they were sooo good, and by the second we didnt care how much they cost.
The continental breakfast the next day was good ,with a good selection ,however we were asked for our room number 3 times, no one else was, so made us feel as though they didnt think we should be having breakfast.
Good checkout ,friendly staff ,excellent valet service.
I cant wait until I can go again, and cant recommend this hotel enough .

Room Tip: If you are using the spa ,the ground floor rooms are good for accessing the spa via the stairs, avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliee41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We were very interested in Yorkshires only five star hotel we are both in the Hospitality Industry so know a little about how these things work! Loved the building and the decor our twin room on the first floor was well appointed spotless and had everything we needed. The pool was a little treat after an afternoon of shopping. We ate in the hotel and whilst not fine dining we ate in Hudsons were well looked after and the food was certainly good. Average breakfast in the morning. We enjoyed our stay overall and the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate was not expensive.
Our only niggle was that we did feel invisible for much of our stay perhaps it was just timing.........

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pamela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,391 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,526 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range: $189 - $522 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing