We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Romantic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Romantic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a lovely weekend away hotel was all you could ask for the staff lovely , the room beautiful , the spar and swimming pool lovely , had a lovely 3 day stay and would recommend to any couple wanting a romantic weekend away .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,784
    610
    211
    96
    41
See reviews for
481
2,283
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Midway between the Jorvic center and the railway museum this recently converted hotel has convenient parking and is in a quiet location just inside the city walls. We arrived late with tired kids and the hotel staff did a great job of settling us in quickly. The rooms are far larger than a standard hotel room with very comfortable beds. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We were only staying for a day so didn't have a chance to check out the spa. We would certainly stay here again. A big thank you to Jordi, Desiree and the other staff whose names we didn't catch.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikechf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Der Mike Chf

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are so delighted to hear that you had a good trip to York and enjoyed our hospitality. You will notice that our comfortable beds are a feature of our trip advisor reviews, and we are pleased you agreed with our other guests.

We are so proud of our wonderful staff, and it was great that Jordi and Desiree in particular looked after you so well during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

Visited this hotel just for a couple of hours in order to pay the piano at a wedding reception. Excellent venue. Great help from concierge re parking, attention quick and effective when required in the hotel, great coffee! Noticed excellent array of cocktails available although unable to try as was driving. Very friendly staff willing to help. Will definitely consider staying there when visiting York for a longer period.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oilcanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear elderlybrother

We remember your great piano skills well - all our team commented on them on at the wedding.

It Wws great to see you that day and look after your requirements. We are lucky to have a first class concierge team who have decades of experience looking after everyone from royalty to celebrities, led by Peter and Jordi they are always thinking ahead to guests requirements.

We do hope to welcome to back in the not to distant future - maybe as a guest of ours this time.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is a great place to spend a weekend away. It was recently converted to a hotel so the rooms are modern, elegant and very comfortable. The bathrooms are well appointed with heated floors and heated towel racks. The beds are comfy. The spa and gym were a bit of a disappointment. The treatment room was freezing which ruined the experience. The spa itself was not world class and was a bit of a disappointment.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear J G

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hospitality and service of our team and that our grand historical building left you with some happy memories.

As we only opened 4 years ago all the rooms are very modern and we ensured during the development process that the rooms are certainly spacious.

We are currently looking at moving our spa area around with a possible refurbishment to make some more space or our guests to relax. Most certainly we can turn the air conditioning down in the gym, so please feel free to ask next time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset,england
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel was booked as a birthday get-away. And to say l tripped over my bottom jaw on arrival is so much the truth. On arrival the doorman arrived beside the car and requested our keys, asked us what cases we wished to take into the hotel, unpacked the boot, Called two other bell boys and had our bags and cases taken to reception, on a big trolly like swanky USA hotels. Nothing was too much trouble and the guy who showed us to our room gave us a lovely history lesson about the building. The dinner was just so out of this world, as was breakfast the next morning. The swimming pool and healthy club were great as well. To surprise someone with a night in this Hotel as a present is just never ending browny points. The memories it gave us have not dulled and will never go. Costly but worth every penny as a surprise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Station Mastered office, just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witchy446305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Witchy

We are delighted that you had such a memorable stay with us, and as the video on our website says, we aim to create memories for all our guests, so it delights us that this is the case with you.

Our historic building is most certianly memorable but it is the service and hospitality that our team give to our guests that I believe makes us so different from other hotels.

I do hope that you can return to us again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Went to this beautiful hotel abiut 3yrs ago and reebooked this april 2014 and the standards havent changed at all. Still as spotless and staff are so friendly you dont have to be posh to stay here its down to earth folk if you want to make or if you want lap up the courtesy the staff can offer. The pool and spa is lovely and usually empty. The beds in room are so comfy and big. Molten brownie bathroom accessories to take away if you dont use them but are replenished daily. Bettys tearoom flavoured teas inroom. Mini fridge well expensive so get your chocs and beers from the sainsburys express 2min walk away. Perfect location bang in the centre of york.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Pauline

Thnak you for your kind words on your visit to us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We pride ourselves on being Yorkshire's only 5 star hotel - and therefore providing a proper Yorkshire welcome. This means we are approachable, friendly and we look after our guests with a smile on our face.

I am pleased that our relaxed approach made for such an enjoyable stay, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

I really should have left a review sooner, as we have stayed at the Cedar Court Grand three times now, and it just gets better.
Our last visit was earlier this month, and it was faultless. The building has so much character with a beautiful reception area, wide corridors and excellent rooms and bathrooms. The bar manages to be both comfortable and luxurious, and the staff are, without exception, friendly and exceptionally helpful.
We haven't dined in the hotel in the evening, but breakfast is delicious.
Very well located for the station too, and an easy walk to anywhere you need to get to in the city centre.
I would highly recommend this hotel, and will look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leighandnigel7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear Leigh and Nigel

It is always so nice to hear from guests who have stayed with us more than once who can evaluate the changes we have made to try and make our hotel a better place to stay in.

To hear that these changes have been a success is a real credit to the hard working team we have, so thank you for the feedback.

As regular guests I would like to add you to our VIP list so please email me on ben.morcombe@cedarcourtgrand.co.uk with your details and I would be delighted to do this for you.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing