We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cant go wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

For and "old world" style this is a really good (but expensive) hotel! The rooms are exceptionally big by both European and American(!) standards, and the fixtures/fittings are well appointed too with quality of upkeep & small luxuries / features associated with top rated hotels. Staff are excellent and very attentive. Was here on business but York is a fairly small city and being about 30 feet from the edge of the City Wall should be easily within 5- 10 mins walking distance for most of York attractions (the red sightseeing tour buses go right past too!). It is 3-5 mins walk from train station so ideal location.

Stayed: May 2014
Thank Captain_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Dear Captain JD

So pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

It gives us great pleasure that the staff in particular made you feel so welcome, as we pride ourselves on providing a true Yorkshire welcome.

It was equally pleasing to hear that you enjoyed our spacious and luxurious rooms, and we certainly are blessed with having such a great location in the city centre - and you are correct the citys sightseeing buses do stop right outside the hotel as do the sightseeing boats on the river.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,373 - 2,379 of 4,209 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Across the board excellent choice of hotel for trip to York. Right next to station and easy walk to City. Stylish design and use of materials, finishes creating contemporary feel in an interesting georgian building. Food and service bang on the money. Ranks with best breakfast ever.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank RLMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear RLMorgan

So nice to hear that you had an enjoyable visit to us recently.

It was lovely to hear that you enjoyed our Yorkshire breakfast and that is credit to Susana Ramos our breakfast manager and her team who work hard from the early hours of the morning to ensure everything is right for our guests when they rise. We also use the freshest local ingredients at breakfast and our head chef sources our sausages, balck pudding and various other local ingredients from the best suppliers in Yorkshire.

It was also pleasing to hear that you found it such great value for money.

Once again many thanks

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A group of 8 friends stayed at The Cedar Court Hotel this past weekend to celebrate a 60th birthday. What a find! The hotel is in a great location, in a beautiful building with wide corridors, high ceilings, lots of natural light and many original characteristics - which make it a completely unique property. We had a deluxe room, on the 4th floor, which was really spacious and well equipped. Lovely bathroom, and comfy beds! The staff were all super friendly and knowledgeable - especially the concierge, Jordi. Great bar area, with additional small sitting rooms, ideal for a group such as ours. Afternoon Tea and breakfast were excellent, as was the meal we had in the evening @ Hudsons. The ONLY disappointment was the length of time we waited to be served for dinner. Our table was booked at 8pm, and we did not get our mains until 10.15. To be fair, the restaurant was very busy but, even so..... Despite this, we would definitely return. Highly recommended for a city break.

Room Tip: We were very happy with our corner room on the 4th floor - as were our friends on the ground and 2nd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2014

Dear Lynn

We are so pleased to hear that you had a lovely visit to our beautiful hotel.

We are equally delighted to hear that you took advantage of all the different facilities within the hotel. We have recently revamped our new afternoon tea menu to offer some delicious new cakes for the summer so it was very pleasing to hear you enjoyed them.

Our rooms are very spacious and it is nice to know these do not go unnoticed. Our Deputy Head Concierege Jordi Vacca has recently been inducted into the golden keys association for concierge and is a real credit to the hotel so it is very pleasing to hear that he and the concierge team looked after you so well.

We am sorry about the delays at dinner, you are right the restaurant was particularly busy on that evening with big tables, and a group of 17 did arrive late which sadly delayed a couple of tables. So please accept our apologies about that.

Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for one night only. we were a group of 14 friends who all stayed for a night out around york. The rooms were lovely, clean, spacious and the staff were all very helpful. Would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a good quality base, and is extremely central for all the shops, bars, train station. Cannot comment on the food as we had a room only.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hobskr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear hobskr

Thank you for your lovely review on the visit of you and your group to the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

It is so nice to hear that the team looked after you and that you enjoyed the surroundings of our hotel. I would agree that we are very lucky to have such an ideal location to both the railway, city centre and the major road networks.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming back you and your friends soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

Have just got back from a nights stay here and cannot fault the hotel or staff one bit. I made the journey with the intention of proposing to my girlfriend and the concierge, Graham, made everything fall into place perfectly. Make sure you pack your swimming costume as the spa is the perfect place to unwind. All the staff were incredibly polite and couldn't do enough to help. Thank you all, especially Graham. We will definitely be coming back here again.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Rob

First and foremost congratulations on your engagement, no excuse not to have your wedding with us now!

I am very pleased to hear that our concierge Graham looked after you so well, having spent a career looking after royalty and dignitaries as a butler you were is safe hands.

I hope that you can come back to us soon and then you can take full advantage of our spa facilities which include a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna - along with gym and health and beauty treatment rooms.

Once again congratulations and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

Stayed on the 10th may for one night in an executive room (505). Very welcoming and helpful staff. Room excellent with lots of space and quality fixtures and fittings . Bathroom exceptional and all areas very clean. Bed nice an comfortable. We had a problem with the tv reception and this was dealt with quickly and a note was left to say it had been fixed. Didn't eat in the restaurant unfortunately (wish we had after eating at a poor italian!) but enjoyed a couple of drinks in the bar. Continental breakfast looked lovely and was enjoyed by my husband unfortunately due the poor italian the night before all I coulda age was a slice if toast!! Would stay here again if we return to york. One small grumble was that we were told by member of staff that the top floor where our room was is haunted by a railway worker who killed himself! Not really what you want to hear!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicky141272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear Vicky

It is so nice to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us on your visit.

I am particularly pleased that the team worked so hard to accomodate you and rectify any issues that arose in particular the faulty TV.

I have to say that I am unaware of the story regarding the railway worker, however as with any historic building there are many myths that generate over time, but I do know that the top floor of the building does have a great deal of history and infact had the only baby, so far, to be born in the property. But please except my apologies regarding this.

We look forward to welcoming you back

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

business trip to york, very pleasant surprise to not end up in a typical stereotype business hotel but a charming indulgent place.
Huge room, great comfort, magazines, high end toiletries, coffee and tea, great bar and service, great breakfast choices, all in all a great experience, especially for the price paid.

Room Tip: i would avoid ground floor next time as it was hard to sleep with open window due to noise and "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Krisis

Thank you for the review on your stay with us at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our historical building proved to be such a nice surprise.

Please accept my apologies regarding any noise that disturbed your stay with us, we are currently implementing a secondary set of windows on all bedrooms that face onto the street and are subject to noise, which will protect all bedrooms from the city noise.

We are pleased you enjoyed all the touches such as the Molton Brown toiletries, Yorkshire breakfast and selection of magazines we offer.

We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,570 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $182 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing