We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasteful elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
northwest
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tasteful elegance”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Yes, as other reviewers mention, the staff and service are faultless, yes, the location is perfect, yes the facilities are more than anyone could ever need but most importantly for me the decor is tasteful and understated. So many hotels claiming this quality of experience let themselves down with naff canvas "paintings", Unnecessary bedcovers with no practical purpose ( what is that "strip" on the end f the bed about?) and mountains of slightly unsavoury cushions on the bed which clearly do not get washed after every guest. This hotel as quality furnishings which don't shout at you they just make you feel classy. Thank you for my clean, white sheets, my fantastic mattress and my quality duvet. Thank you for your cosy public spaces with timeless elegance. Thank you for knowing what good taste looks like.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moleydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Moleydog

Thank you for the generous review on your trip to see us.

We pride ourselves on retaining as much of the original features of this historic building and keeping our furnishing and fittings low key for this very reason. As the former headquarters of North Eastern Railways it would be wrong to forget how important a role this builidng had in the history of this great railway city.

In order to do that we hope we keep some of that history whilst providing our guests with 5 star hotel amenities but not in the usual hotel standard, devoid of any character or feeling.

Thank you once again for your kind words, and I hope that your experience means that we will see you in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards


Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,877
    638
    221
    101
    48
See reviews for
499
2,367
75
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

I stay here when working in York and without exception the team that work at the Cedar Court Grand hotel are as classy as the surroundings.
The rooms are lovely & comfortable and if you have any issues on them or any point they are taken seriously and acted upon quickly.
It is right in the centre of York City enabling easy walking access to all the main points of interest.
If you are visiting York give it a go, but only if you enjoy being comfortable and relaxed ;o)

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor are very spacious but the rooms higher up have a better view - just de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreen626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Doreen

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa. It is always a pleasure to hear from a regular guest who visits us more than once and therefore has a different prespective and an oppurtunity to evaluate us over a period of time.

We are very lucky to have such an ideal location to not only the city centre with the vast array of shops, restaurants and bars but also the railway station and the a59 leading directly onto the M1.

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us and I am pleased that if ever there is an issue we are able to rectify it swifty for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Very impressed with the Cedar Court Spa hotel in York, the service was faultless with all of the refinement you could hope for from a 5 star hotel. I booked this hotel as a gift for my girlfriends birthday, we visit York regularly and have wanted to try this hotel for some time. The experience was everything I'd hoped and my girlfriend was delighted with her birthday gift,
the room was incredible, very well appointed and extremely comfortable.

The spa area seemed very relaxing and luxurious, my girlfriend had a massage which she described as "amazing", the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Highly recommend this hotel for special occasions or just a luxuriously relaxing break in beautiful surroundings.

The only minor criticism would be that the hotel was full on the weekend we stayed, we waited quite a long time for our cooked breakfast to arrive and were told it was due to the volume of orders. This would not have been an issue normally but it was on the day we were checking out, the delay meant that we did not have a lot of time to wash up and finish packing within the check out deadline. The staff were extremely courteous and apologetic regarding the delay so it was not a major problem for us, some other guests had got up and left though complaining that it had taken too long and their onward travel plans meant they would need to leave.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Paul

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review on our hotel.

We are delighted that you had a nice stay with us and that all of the team looked after you during your trip to York. It was great to hear that your girlfriend enjoyed her spa treatment and I shall certainly pass that on to the spa team.

I have raised your point regarding the delay at breakfast with our f&b team so please accept our apologies, but in future please do not hesitate to contact us and we will happily extend your check out time if we can.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

My husband & I spent a long weekend in this excellent hotel. From the moment we arrived in this fantastic building we felt really welcome. Our room was terrific and the breakfasts excellent. The cocktail bar was great and the staff very friendly.

We will definitely return here and gave no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHA4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben_M_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
So delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and that you were able to enjoy some time in our luxurious bar, which is home to some 180 whiskys from all over the world.

We are delighted that you would recommend us to friends and that you will be returning to visit us, where we will be pleased to offer you the normal friendly Yorkshire welcome.

Kind Regards

Ben Morcombe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Even though it wasn't cheap it was well worth the money and we will visit again as much as we can. It made our trip to York special :)

The Spa was almost empty and the staff were a great help. The hot breakfast wasn't brilliant but as it's located in the centre of York there are loads of better places to eat . . like Betty's :)

Room Tip: Junior suites are great but they are double the price of a normal room and I believe you don;t need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Chris
Thank you for reviewing your recent visit to our Hotel. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, but was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast as much...
Please feel free to contact us direct with further details regarding your breakfast experience.
Kind regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We spent a Friday and Saturday night here during April. As we were a bit late arriving we decided to have dinner in the lavishly decorated bar (we were too late for the restaurant), there was a new menu and we had the trio of mini burgers and the duck pancakes. All tasted fabulous and were presented very well too.

Our room was on the ground floor so there was a bit of noise when people on the floors above flushed their loo or had a shower etc, I think I would ask for a higher room next time, but I would definitely go back.

All the staff were very friendly and super helpful. The hotel itself is very plush and it felt like a real treat to stay there. (the turn down service delivered free lip balms to our room, and the complimentary toiletries were all molton brown) There's a short walk over the bridge to get to the main part of York, but this was quite pleasant.

Whilst staying in York I would definitely recommend going on a Ghost Walk. There are 4 to choose from and we went with "The Ghost Hunt", the guy dressed as a Funeral Director starting at 7:30 every evening from the bottom of the Shambles. It was very funny and a great way to spend a couple of hours.

Room Tip: Higher Floors will have less plumbing noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jugi25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Jugi25

Thank you for sharing your experience following your visit in April. I was delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay and the convenient location of our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to York.

Warm regards
Andrea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland,England
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Fantastic hotel in a fantastic location! Fab room with the most comfortable beds ever. When we returned in the evening the bed had been turned down, curtains drawn, mood lighting switched on and a bottle of water left on the bedside table, also a small tube of lip balm left on the bed, all toiletries had been replaced and the bathroom cleaned!

Excellent service from all the staff, made us feel very welcome. Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 109 only downside was the noise from the binmen at 7am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlargeGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear ALargeGeorg

Thank you for the great review and how wonderful to hear that you were charmed by the services we offer.

We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to York.

Regards
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing