We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expensive but worth it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed over the Easter weekend for two nights and booked on Lastminute.com which gave us a much better price than other competitors.

Straight from getting out the car we were impressed. The valet service was excellent, made it much easier but at the same time is expensive. Being a city centre hotel where parking can be difficult it's worth the extra cost. Although if we go again we'll be getting the train as the station is a 5 minute walk away.

The hotel itself is a pleasure to be in with friendly staff and superb service. Our room was 211 a standard double but still very large with high ceilings, under floor heating in the bathrooms and a kingsize bed.

We never ate in the hotel however for an amazing breakfast Baileys Tea Rooms just over the bridge is a definite recommendation. For dinner The Red Chilli Chinese just round the corner is one of the best we've been to anywhere and both very reasonably priced.

We booked ourselves in for the couples spa treatments which were brilliant with great service from the staff down there. However the spa itself is pretty basic with just a pool, steam room, sauna and jacuzzi. No real seating or space to relax.

Overall the hotel is fantastic, we really enjoyed our stay and will be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,742 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,784
    610
    211
    96
    41
See reviews for
481
2,283
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (680)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to spend some time. We booked a package with 2 nights, dinner, 2 hours spa treatments each and continental breakfast. We upgraded to an executive room (408), which was beautiful, I loved the double shower.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, every detail is thought of.

We have stayed here before in a classic room, which was also stunning!

We had cocktails in the bar, these were about £10 each, which is what I expect for a cocktail. Dinner was gorgeous, try the chocolate fondue!

The spa had about 8 people in at about 6pm, but after breakfast the next day I had the place to myself for 40 mins and at about 3pm there was just 2 people when I went.

The treatments were what we needed. They use Espa which are lovely products.

All in all a perfect couple of days.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank holidayshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Well, what can I say!! This place is AMAZING!
We stayed here for four nights for our honeymoon.
First impressions - stunning, clean hotel, very polite and helpful staff - doors opened for us, bags taken to the rooms (nothing was too much trouble.)
We booked an executive room - this was luxury! Two bathrooms (one with a shower and one with a bath.) It had a sofa / chairs, mini bar, crisp white sheets. We loved it!
We booked dinner for the four nights and this was amazing too. The presentation of the food was out of this world, and the taste, well DELICIOUS!
We returned back to the room to find it 'turned down' - curtains pulled, duvet pulled back, bathroom cleaned, a little card with tomorrow's weather on, water beside the bed and some lip cream.
Everyday the room was thoroughly cleaned, towels changed, sheets every other day and pillow cases everyday.
It was also my birthday during the stay so we had breakfast in bed. This turned up, not on trays but on a table wheeled in to the room, absolutely brilliant!!!
We couldn't fault anything in this hotel - the staff, spa, rooms, food, drinks - all top class!
This is one of the best hotels we have stayed it....Paul at the front of house was brilliant and Sophie in the spa did the most amazing treatments on me.
I am so glad we picked it for our honeymoon....definitely worth the money. Totally top class luxury! Everyone must experience The Cedar Court Grand - we'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claireee1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

My husband booked this as a surprise birthday trip.
As soon as we entered the hotel we were greeted with a smile.
As a birthday treat the hotel upgraded us and the room we were given was amazing.
My husband ordered champagne and chocolate coated strawberries and they were worth the money. :)
The breakfast was the best I had eaten and overall we are booking for the same time next year.
Couldn't fault the hotel or the staff who always greeted you with a smile . When people say about going the extra mile they sure did.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squeaky1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Spent two nights here in April to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Amazing hotel, very smart and very clean - even behind the radiators! Staff friendly. We stayed in one of the larger rooms - 401 - and it was absolutely massive! Large entrance hall, high ceilings, pillars, superking bed, 2 armchairs, 2 seater sofa, big tv, desk, chaise longue. The bathroom was huge - you could hold a party in there! Spied into the standard rooms and they were very spacious too. Didn't eat there; food pricey, bar pricey too - nearly £9 for a glass of wine - ouch! However if you've got the money nicer to drink there than at the rather dirty (don't look at the floor or touch the tables) Slug and Lettuce that we ended up in - even though you get two cocktails for the price of one! Used the Spa twice - very nice and relaxing, pool warm and clean, low lit atmosphere, was never crowded - 6 people there at most. Sauna, steam room and jacuzzi all good. Great location, right near the station and the centre ... wonderful!

Room Tip: We were in a corner on the 4th floor ... we had no noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

It's a very nice hotel with SPA and the staff are extremely friendly but I have stayed in other 5* hotel before and they have been much better! I didn't eat in their restaurant so I can't comment on that but SPA is nice and the rooms are clean and large.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London
Level Contributor
213 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

For my partner's birthday, I booked a night in one of the hotel's fifth floor rooms which boast a super-king-sized bed, sofa, armchairs, etc. We loved it! Room 502 (see photos) comprised a big bedroom, a lounge/TV area, a wardrobe area, a massive bathroom (double sinks, double shower, bath, loo in a separate room) and even had a separate loo at the far end of the 'room', on the other side of the lounge area. It was a HUGE space. I'd expected one big room. Instead, it was a trek to go from one end of the space to the other - there were actually two doors into it from the corridor, one at either end! We snuggled into the white cotton robes provided and ordered room service: I had a steak sandwich and my partner had a burger - both excellent. The staff were super-attentive. You really felt like you were staying in a high-end hotel from the moment you arrived. Even though our room was expensive (£300), what you'd paid for was so obviously apparent (huge amount of space, Molton Brown everywhere, vast bed, a separate place to watch TV, etc.) that it didn't feel like a ridiculous amount to spend. I'd definitely save up and go again. Breakfast was amazing: we had the full Yorkshire breakfast of eggs, thick-cut bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato, fried potato, fried bread and black pudding - deeeeeelicious! Location-wise, it's a really short distance from York train station - five mins max. Perfect.
Only thing that wasn't so positive: the air con made a terrible noise, like an alarm warming-up. We turned it off. The hotel apologised and I assume it'll be fixed, but check. You couldn't have slept through it. We didn't need air con, which was why it didn't affect our stay.

Room Tip: 502 was a lovely room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,094 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing