We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Third visit, will return again.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Third visit, will return again.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in January, I myself having stayed twice before. We had two executive rooms which were spacious, quiet and well appointed. As before, the food was excellent, both the breakfast and dinner on each night. This hotel is very well located for the city centre and only 3 minutes walk from York railway station, although being situated in a quiet enclave. The interior décor is very inviting and grand. Service was tip top and the range of drinks available in the bar (All served at your seat) was excellent. The ambience in the main restaurant is very relaxing and the service individual and attentive. Once again,impossible to fault this hotel. It deserves to continue to be a success.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive Rooms, they are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BritishTraveller53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,739
    601
    208
    95
    41
See reviews for
472
2,248
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (669)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Stayed here one night with a number of Middle East clients who were all in suites. Check in was smooth and although we were early all but one of my guests' rooms suites were ready. My standard room on the ground floor was enormous, utterly peaceful and perfectly clean. We had dinner which was extremely pleasant - my party all tried the various fish on the menu and all were very complementary. Breakfast was delicious and we left with the compliments of my party ringing on my ears. At least two of them commented that the hotel was significantly better than either the Langham or the Park Lane Hilton, hotels we had stayed in earlier in the week. For me, the hotel is a classic example of all that is good with classic English hotels - customer service is flawless, the rooms are clinically clean, big, comfortable beds, hearty breakfasts and dinner menus based on locally sourced produce. This hotel is perfectly placed for visiting York, a stone's throw from the railway stn, inside the walls and within a very short stroll of the Minster and local shops.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brands_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Looking at other reviews I would certainly agree with the majority of them.. it is a really nice grand hotel. I loved the high ceilings in the room, This was not matched by the size, though it was more than adequate. The TV system was extremely slow and took a while to even change a channel but I did like the option to turn on the speakers in the bathroom. The heated floor was also a nice touch. Other than this, nothing to write home about. We stayed in the Classic Room so if you can afford it perhaps upgrading would be a good option.

Outside the room elsewhere had a very '5 star' feel to it but keeping in with the traditions and history of the hotel. The bar particularly was very nice and we enjoyed many hours in there. I would however say there was a thin line between 'Historic' and 'dated'!

We visited the spa several times for treatments and to use the pool. For a 5 star hotel spa I expected something more. The whole pool area was small and would of liked something extra than just a sauna and steam room. On the whole the spa staff were very nice but a couple seemed to have an attitude!

Lastly the customer service. 5 star service as expected BUT I get the impression (and was very obvious while we were there) that the usual clientele is older couples with a bit of money behind them or older business groups. As a couple of 29/30 I felt a bit looked down too..I certainly never felt at home. I also tried to arrange a surprise for my partners birthday while we were there. Other hotels have jumped at the chance previously to assist me with something but I felt I was getting nowhere so in the end I didn't bother. I was also a little bit offended when we were asked on our check out day 'When are you leaving?' This was later in the day when I was waiting for my partner to have a spa treatment. "We are spending money at your overpriced spa.." I should of answered. It was one particular porter to be fair who also sighed when we asked for our car keys...

Overall we enjoyed ourselves and enjoyed the hotel but just felt a bit out of place.. been toying over giving it 3 or 4 stars but going for three as I have stayed at 5 star hotels before like the Savoy and this doesn't even come close.

Room Tip: Classic Rooms are quite basic. Upgrade if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fireball84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

My mum booked a night away for the both of us as a celebratory trip for both of our birthdays. Upon arriving we were greeted by the doorman, who parked our car and was immensely welcoming. We'd arrived early and our room wasn't ready (which wasn't a problem) we then decided to have lunch in the hotel bar and were treated so kindly by the staff, along with some gorgeous sandwiches and lovely coffee. The surrounding and general decor of the hotel is phenomenal, if I could live there I would! We went down to the spa which is lovely and very peaceful - great for some R&R! The breakfast again was outstanding with a large choice and every need catered for.

The hotel is a lovely place and I hope to visit it again (in the not too distant future!). However what really makes the stay so pleasurable is the staff, who are so very kind and couldn't seem to do enough for us. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizaheslop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

If you are looking for somewhere that is special for a nice treat, then this is definitely somewhere that I would recommend. It is very well placed if you are travelling to York by train as a very short distance from the train station. Also ideally located within walking distance of the town centre, the River, the Minster, great shops and restaurants all very close by.

We were amazed by the amount of staff there were in the hotel, it felt like almost as many staff as there were guests and every member of staff that you spoke to was very keen to help us in any way they could.

We went for my husbands birthday present and it is always a risk when you buy a trip away as a gift, but this one was fantastic - would definitely recommend.

We stayed in room 424 on the 4th floor and can highly recommend this room both for the view and double aspect windows - it was great.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and were given 424 we were very pleased with this room on the top floor wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltcoats, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Just returned from 2 nights stay at the Cedar Court, it was wonderful, I would highly recommend staying there.
The service, room, luxurious decor and exceptional attention to detail was really fabulous and look forward to visiting again.
Stayed in a executive room, it was very large with three windows with views of York Minster and city walls directly outside, huge bathroom with granite surroundings, underfloor heating and speakers for music, very comfortable bed, fridge and mini bar, tv, hair dryer, iron, tea and coffee, butler service if required, valet parking - honestly everything you could want. I havent mentioned the best bit, the spa, swimming pool, gym, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna were just fantastic. Minutes walk from everything, very central. Hotel only 4 years opened so everything is very new.
Staff were all very friendly

Room Tip: Corner suite gives you views to York minster
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Highly recommend small hotel. Spent 3 days here last week and have never experienced anything like this hotel. Everything about it was perfect. The Junior Suite we stayed in was big enough for a small army. Loved every minute of it and every member of staff we encountered in our stay was polite, helpful and very friendly. The location of the hotel is brilliant.

Will 100% be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,036 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Prestigia, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing