We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a lovely stay at this great place. The Doorman welcomed us straight away and told us about parking and our options plus telling us to drop our luggage off and if our room wasn't ready it would be stored safely while we could get off out to see the sights.
When our room was ready our bags were brought to our room and the chap showed us all about our amenities from TV to underfloor heating in the Bathroom.
The pool and spa was superb clean and all working, spotless floors and walls and staff always on hand to advise.
Our room, 203 was great, huge bed and equally huge bath, bedding and towels spotless, which you should expect but don't necessarily always receive, the quality of toiletries as has already been written about by others was brilliant too.
Top tip don't pay extra for the Yorkshire Breakfast, NOT because there is anything wrong with it, but because the breakfast buffet is so damn good, cereals, fruit, fish, pastries, yogurts and plenty of toast and coffee.
A really Grand stay, thank you.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Alan T

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank for commenting on our delicious and extensive breakfast buffet, we are pleased that you found it 'scrumptious'.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,564 - 2,570 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you judged by the building alone, it would be 5 star all the way. Fantastic imposing place, restored to a very high standard with luxurious decor. Wide corridors, lots of wood....all quite grand. Room was large and well furnished.....but never got warm (despite stuffing things on the window ledges to prevent draughts). The only let down was the service really. Lady on the front desk when we arrived was stony faced, check out queue on leaving was long, and generally it was not attentive service with a smile......at breakfast we weren't asked whether we wanted coffee or tea or toast, but had to catch the eye of a passing waiter. Also the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs for breakfast was not pleasant. All in all a bit disappointing. Exception was the hotel butler (!), who showed us to our room – very chatty and helpful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callmedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Callmedave

Thank you for your feedback. I am disappointed that we did not make you feel welcome on your arrival. It is such an important first impression and usually our feedback is exactly the opposite, that our reception provides a wonderful Yorkshire Welcome. Unfortunately, I have no dates, timings or name which prevents me from looking further into your comments, perhaps, should you read this message, you could get in touch.

I am delighted however that you enjoyed being roomed by our Concierge. A part of our arrival experience we extend to all our guests.

Kind regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We have just returned from staying two nights at this beautiful hotel.Its has a classic timeless quality to it but with all the contemporary features we need today. The whole experience was a delight and nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were friendly without being over familiar and yet professional without pretension, a credit to whoever trains them!
The rooms were large clean and beautifully appointed, huge bed, luxurious robes and Molten and Brown toiletries completed the sumptuousness of our stay.
The menu in the restaurant is undeniably understated. We have eaten all over the world and stayed in many fine establishments so our standards can be high and we found the quality of the food here was excellent, it may not suit all tastes as the menu is acceptably small and calls its self the "grill" for good reason, However, the additional touches made for two beautifully prepared meals of exquisite food that we could find no fault with.The staff were happy to serve us and be the best that the profession expects, they were excellent.
York gave us a warm welcome and we enjoyed the railway museum and a trip on the steam train.We ran out of time to do much more but do hope to return. Thank you for this excellent trip, worth every penny!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate616275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Kate616275

Thank you for your delightful review. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your time at the Grand and in York.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This was booked as a suprise for my birthday by my boyfriend. All I can say was totally impressed with everything about this hotel. Staff and checkin great, we arrived early and were able to leave our bags so we could explore york. The room was amazing, huge space and the most comfortable bed ever. My boyfriend said it was a classic double room type. Had a bath/shower room and seperate toilet room. Lovely Molton Brown complimentary toiletries too. Also had dressing gown and slippers provided in room, used the spa several times, pool jacuzzi steam room and sauna all very good. Didnt eat here so can't comment. Appox 5 mins walking distance from train station and short walk from main Centre. Would love to return and would definitely recommend.




















Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jo0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Jo0711

Wonderful to read that you chose the Grand as a surprise stay in York. Thank you for all the compliments and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Our 3 night stay in a .very well appointed room met all our expectations. The hotel is an old building and has been converted leaving lots of the original features.We were met at the station to have help with our luggage, a service we appreciated as my husband has walking difficulties.
The hotel is very close to the center of York so we were able to stroll to most attractions.
The restaurant was very good, although the service was slow the wait was well worth it.
The staff through out the hotel were helpful and friendly..
.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Pat H

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our team helpful and friendly.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed for one night on a Sunday at a good room rate. Our room was a good size, with a huge bathroom and separate toilet. Everything about this Hotel is luxurious with bathrobes and slippers provided, even some miniature ones for my Son. We used the Spa and swimming pool which was great. There were a few Children using the pool which was fine with us so, don't expect a Adult only experience as this Hotel welcomes Children, and quite rightly so!

We regrettably didn't use the car parking service provided by the Hotel as we thought it might have cost too much but later found out it was only £2 more than parking in the NCP car park ourselves. It would have helped us greatly if only we had known.

We didn't have breakfast or Dinner at the Hotel so can't comment on that.

This is by far the Best Hotel I have ever stayed in so far and I hope to return again someday :)
Great Location, Fabulous Rooms and Friendly, Helpful Staff - Don't hesitate book it!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sal034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Sal034

Thank you for the review. It was lovely to read that you & your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here mid week during half term, the hotel was busy but we did not have to wait at any period. We stayed in a double executive room which was fantastic, spacious with luxurious amenities. We checked in late and despite the restaurant being full they manage to move our booking by 15minutes. Food and device was superb in the grill room - the edible perfume was a lovely touch!
Would highly recommend a visit.

Room Tip: Executive doubles have lovely double showers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pazzington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear Lucy J

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed your meal in the restaurant.

Warm regards
Andrea Schipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 47 in York
1,457 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,949 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $190 - $476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing