We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andijacks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Thank You to all the staff for an absolutely fantastic weekend the service the room and the food were fantastic. The Sunday Lunch has to be the best I have ever had. This is also a great base from which to explore York, we arrived on the train on Saturday morning and after a short walk we were at the Hotel where we were able to leave our luggage until check in time. will definitely be staying again

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,492 - 2,498 of 4,008 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2013

I enjoyed a lovely afternoon tea followed by a treat in the spa with a friend at the Cedar Court. The afternoon tea is beautifully presented and the staff are pleasant and attentive. The spa is lovely and the relaxation room works!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank QuincyYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic place to stay for a weekend treat. From the moment you arrive you are having five star treatment. Car parked for you and your luggage taken to your room, Use of pool,Jacuzzi and sauna with bathrobes and slippers for your use. Fantastic rooms which are very pleasant, and nice touches which make for a grand experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank TarquinOscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was our first visit to this Hotel for our Wedding Anniversary(for which we got a complimentary upgrade for!!) and I have to say it was fantastic.From the minute we arrived to the minute we left was first class.Room was spacious and extremely clean and modern.Bathroom was superb.Spa facilities were brilliant and so was dinner on the evening.With a only a few minutes walk into York itself the location was very good also.Would highly recommend the Cedar Grand to anyone wanting a special relaxing experience in a classy Hotel with excellent facilities all round!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This majestic building with lovely people working tirelessly, will make you feel like you are in heaven. I live close by and use the Spa facilities every term to unwind from my teaching job. In January I am booking a Hotel room with my girlfriend, to celebrate my 40 orbits around the sun. Worth the money, go on treat yourself!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank racheling l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Second visit to this hotel, and another great stay. Everything about it is 5 star! Beautiful and interesting building in a great location, rooms are very spacious and spotless clean, staff are very friendly and efficient, food, service, pool and spa - all are amazing. If you stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at this 5 star Hotel for 3 nights in August 2013 and was very impressed with the standard of accommodation, level of care shown to me by all staff and the fantastic view provided from my room. It was in a perfect location from which to explore all of York's sights. The rooms were quiet and kept very clean and the character of the historic building had been empathetically modernised when converted to a hotel.
The comfort of the bed was marvellous and I enjoyed some of the best nights of my entire trip (2 months).
Breakfast was also outstanding and great value. Staff were happy to provide suggestions on alternate nearby restaurants.

Room Tip: The room I was given was a corner suite on a higher floor with views on 2 sides, the first view over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill100722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 47 in York
1,379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#21 of 47 in York
1,522 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
Price Range: $189 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing