We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip to York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #7 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Cedar Court was a perfect blend of location - walking distance from Rail Station, yet quiet, close to all sites. A true 5 Star hotel at amazing affordable rates. The room was large, comfortable with all amenities. Staff were superb. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,661 - 2,667 of 4,093 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

My partner, daughter & I had 2 night stay in this hotel. The staff were so polite and helpful. The spa was relaxing after days out in York. Would defiantly recommend to family & friends, and we will go back. Thank you to the hotel staff for a fantastic stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michellepro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I booked this hotel because we wanted to spend a day touring York -- and it was a good way to break up our 4 hour train ride from Edinburgh to London. (it's halfway between them) This was the top hotel on TripAdvisor and the hotel rates weren't outrageous compared to what we were paying down in London. It was pricey for York but we figured it was worth the splurge for the one night we were there. Also, it was a 3-4 minute walk from the train station so it made the logistics very easy.

We traveled with our 9 year old son. Our room was not ready when we arrived so we dropped off our luggage and asked the concierge where we should go that afternoon. The concierge gave us a map and started walking out the hotel and down the street with us -- all the way down to the nearby traffic light so we could get our bearings. He talked us through all the places we should see -- and pointed out where they were in relation to the hotel. I have never had a concierge ever take that much time out to give us a quick lay of the land -- and walk us out the hotel to point out things. That was a good first impression! (BTW, he highly recommended the train museum which was right down the street -- and he was right -- it was great for all of us)

The hotel was an older business building and they have retrofitted each business office as a hotel room. So each room it seems is unique. When we got into our hotel room we were amazed. The room was very large (even for USA standards that we are used to) and had massive ceilings. They had a king sized bed for us and already had a single/twin rollaway bed made up for our 9-year old son. My son was shrieking with excitement because they had left a kids-sized robe and slippers on the bed for him -- along with a big gingerbread cookie. Wow, another great first impression! He will never forget this place -- and neither will we -- just because of these two little things they did to make our stay more enjoyable!

We were able to use their exercise room and indoor pool. Their exercise room was small but decent. They had treadmills and elliptical machines which I needed for my workout. And the pool was large and inviting. Very well heated too. My son and wife had a great time swimming in it while I exercised. The spa there looks amazing but we didn't have time to partake in one of them.

We wish we had spent many more days relaxing at the Cedar Court. We will do more next time. This was one of our best experiences with a high end hotel. Our next hotel (in comparison) was the Hyatt Churchill in London and while it was a high end hotel, it was NOTHING compared to this hotel. This was a memorable place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheersman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for both the city centre and the train station. The rooms are clean and comfortable with top class service including a turn down service with little presents included.
We had a facial in the spa and are still relaxed two days later!! The pool and Jacuzzi were excellent. We didn't eat here so cannot comment on the food but would definitely stay here again if ever in York.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank We2downunder09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Second time we have stayed at Cedar Court whilst visiting York. We won't stay anywhere else now in the future when we visit. It's a great hotel. Excellent facilities. Not cheap, but friendly and confident in the service it provides. Rooms - great; spa -great, restaurants - great, public areas - great, staff - great. Thank you to all who made our second stay... great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stopped here for a night while catching up with friends in York. We chose to stop here as we had previously got married here a couple of years prior to our recent stay.
We requested a quiet room and we got one on the top floor with a nice view out of the large window. The room was very nice as we expected, it was also clean, tidy with all bedding and towels etc clean. The bed was comfy. Some nice touches included the Molton Brown toiletries and underfloor heating in the bathrooms.
Although the large window was a nice focal point for the room the gap between the window and the blind meant that we were woken up by the sun shining in first thing in the morning which was a little disappointing, otherwise it was okay.
We used the valet parking which was efficient, didn’t think the price was too bad as we have seen other hotels (abroad) charge a similar amount for valet into the free hotel car park.
We used the Spa in the afternoon we arrived. As we were travelling from Australia we tried to book the Spa via email, but as we did not receive a response to emails we had to call. We were a little disappointed with this, if you are going to provide an email for contact, then you should at least respond. After an initial mix up in treatments booked the Spa treatments were good for us both, but I was disappointed to find the pool closed due to incorrect levels of chlorine.
It was nice to return to the hotel where we were married, but a couple of things took the sparkle of this stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Yorkie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family of 5 enjoyed an overnight stay in this hotel on a recent trip to York. The rooms are modern, large, and clean. The beds were quite comfortable. My only complaint would be the limits on the a/c . I like cold when I sleep.
The bathrooms were large with excellent shower and deep soaking bath. The radiant floor heating was a nice touch.
All in all, this was one of the nicest hotels we had the pleasure staying in on our recent excursion to Great Britain. i wouldn't hesitate to rebook on any future trips.
On a negative side -- the restaurant is pricey and the food so-so. You may wish to consider an alternative dining experience

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,456 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#12 of 47 in York
1,464 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton York
Hilton York
#39 of 47 in York
2,947 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#4 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range: $191 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing