We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit”
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We have never stayed in York before as it isn't too far from home and an easy commute however we decided to book the best when it came to staying over. We were booked in for two nights and received a warm welcome on arrival. Our room was very grand and immaculate. We didn't use the spa due to lack of time but we were informed the facilities can be used on the day of checkout even once you have vacated your room, we will definitely bear this in mind next time we visit.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting York.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GirlsAbroadx9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,881
    638
    221
    101
    48
See reviews for
501
2,368
75
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had an absolutely wonderful stay at the Cedar Court Grand this weekend. We are not usually 5 Star travellers, we don't have designer luggage and didn't arrive in a luxury car, so we were a little wary of how our visit would go. However, we do work hard, and saved hard and like nice things, so we were looking forward to a couple of days of luxury.

We arrived just after lunch on Friday, the hotel is a beautiful building, with a very imposing entrance. The door staff and reception staff were very welcoming and friendly, our booking was checked and we were told that our room was ready for us. We were happy to carry our two smallish bags up to our room ourselves. We arrived on the 4th floor, and found room 408 which is just gorgeous.

A huge bed with beautifully laundered duvet and sheets, a throw and extra cushions. The room has lots of storage space, both hanging and drawer space. A giant TV and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. Yorkshire Tea, Ground Coffee, Hot Chocolate and Shortbread biscuits. Fresh milk was delivered to our room in a china jug when we asked for it. There is an iron and ironing board, hairdryer and safe in the room. Luxury soft towelling robes and slippers. The bathroom is gorgeous, we had a sunken bath and a walk-in double power shower. There is a heated towel rail and an assortment of luxury Molten Brown toiletries. The bathroom has underfloor heating. There are two easy chairs and a coffee table in the room, with lots of space.
The mini-bar is well stocked, but a little pricey - bottled water is complimentary.

My husband went down to the Spa and used the Sauna, Steam Room and Jacuzzi, he was really impressed by the facilities, very clean and well thought out.

We went into York for the evening and finished our night with a couple of Baileys Coffee in the bar - again, these were pretty expensive, but the bar area is really nicely done out, a pleasure to sit and relax for a while.

When we returned to our room. the turn-down maid had serviced the room. The bedding was turned down, some more complimentary toiletries were left for us, bottled water and slippers by the bedside.

We slept really well, the room was warm and there was no noise from either the rest of the hotel, or from outside.

Breakfast is served in the Grill, we had continental breakfast included in our price and it really was fabulous. We were seated and served with tea and coffee and toast and then went to the buffet area, to help ourselves. The selection was huge and included: cereals, museli, bread rolls, doughnuts, muffins, cold meats, smoked fish, selection of cheeses, fruit, yoghurts, pastries and croissants. We really couldn't ask for more, the food was fresh and very tasty. We didn't order a hot breakfast but for a small supplement there was full English, kippers, eggs etc available. There were complimentary newspapers available for guests.

Without fail, every member of staff was friendly and welcoming. We were greeted with a cheery smile and enquiry as to whether we were enjoying our stay by everyone we met.

The hotel and staff are top-class and very professional. It is clear that the staff are proud of the hotel, and rightly so. We were treated very very well, made to feel welcome and have no criticism at all about our stay. We will most certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annec14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here for my 30-10th birthday and had a fantastic time. Stayed in a junior suite and it was beautiful. Beds were so comfy and the bathroom was simply stunning with under floor heating. The spa is a must if you stay here. The therapists are very skilled and professional. Big thankyou`s to Graham for all your help in organising my surprise from my dad.. you were simply amazing...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharree19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is actually a review for my Dad and his wife's trip to celebrate his 70th birthday. They had a fantastic 3 days and loved the hotel with its great facilities and wonderful room.

My contact was with Simon the concierge and Beata head receptionist. I'd posted a some cards and unfortunately due to my error with the postage it was delayed and Simon was great keeping an eye out for me and emailing me updates. Two weeks later it turned up and the hotel very kindly posted it back to me so I could at last get my cards including a special one from my fathers 5 year old granddaughter to him.

This showed great customer service.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Witnessss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Cedar court hotel. We arrived early and didn't expect to be able to check in, we were hoping to leave our cases , ready to explore York. On arrival the receptionist, said we could check in immediately, we were then shown to a lovely well appointed room , by the concierge who explained the facilities to us and sent up complimentary tea and coffee .He even told us if we were to use the spa we could change in our room using the bathrobes provided and take the lift straight to the spa in the basement, a great tip. Only slight disappointment , the spa treatments were nearly all booked, only a few times left , so book asap. Food in the restaurant was very nice and not too expensive. Ncp carpark is on tanner row and is £17 per day and is just round the corner. Well situated for all York has to offer. We would stay again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Was a little wary of staying here having read some of the "terrible" reviews. However, I can only say the reviewers are completely wide of the mark. This is a beautiful hotel, the rooms are fabulous. The bathroom was as big as some hotel rooms and was fitted with a huge bath and walk in shower, dual sinks and Molton Brown products. The bar was stylish with a good selection of wine. All the staff were very friendly and the location is ideal for all York's attractions. Well deserving of its 5 stars. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b19jfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redcar
Level 6 Contributor
424 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We recently spent one night at the hotel as a birthday treat for my wife, having previously stayed at most of the top hotels in York.The staff without exception were polite, friendly and efficient,from the doormen to the room maid.We had a classic room,which was bigger and better than we expected with all the required amenities.My wife used the Spa and was more than pleased with the facilities and treatment.We had dinner in the Grill Room and couldn't fault the food or service.
The continental breakfast was of a good quality as it should be for £15 per head.A cooked breakfast was a further £5, £20 does seem a bit steep for breakfast
My only criticism is, as usual, the price of drinks and snacks in the room minibar .When will hotels realise that if they brought these prices down to a reasonable level,they would sell far more and make more profit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redscarfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,257 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,485 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing