We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
$139
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
York Marriott Hotel(York)(Great Value!)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express York(York)(Great Value!)
$101
$84
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Middletons York(York)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$191
$172
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$194
$169
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$299
$290
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel York Centre(York)(Great Value!)
$122
$110
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$139
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (4,309)
Filter reviews
4,309 results
Traveler rating
3,141
714
267
120
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,141
714
267
120
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscedar courtmolton brown toiletriesturn down servicestar hotellip balmdoor staffclassic roomexecutive roomunderfloor heatingon arrivaloriginal featuressteam roomcontinental breakfastamazing hotelbeautiful buildingtrain stationbirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,187 - 3,192 of 4,309 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Impressed by the proactive contact from the hotel before we've even arrived - wanting to see if we wanted to book dinner at the restaurant as they're nearly fully booked - let's hope this is a good sign for things to come !!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank J0H0skings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

If you like hotels to be in old buildings with character then this is the place for you! Ideally placed for the train station & the city, the hotel is set in an old office building. The renovation kept many of the charming features but it also introduced the necessary modern refinements.
Stayed in a suite - pure bliss! The standard rooms were also excellent from what I could see.
Downside? The food wasn't the best but with York on your doorstep there are plenty of alternatives.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnyUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel York this being my fourth visit.I would not advise anyone to book through a third party as I found we were given the worse rooms in the hotel.
Having been shown several rooms and taking the best of bad bunch we settled for a reasonable room but later finding several problems with it and in the end paid for a upgrade.
The previous stays had been booked direct through the hotel and we found it wonderful!
The problems we encounted were sorted out in the end but it took a lot of energy and complaining for this to happen.
Having said this I would go back but only through a direct booking to the hotel and upgrading to a executive room.

Room Tip: Book a executive and direct through the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed with my daughter and four month old granddaughter for two nights. We had a thoroughly enjoyable stay. The staff could not do enough for you, in a very friendly and genuine manner. Location could not have been better; literally less than five mins walk from railway station and into the centre of town.

I would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

My partner treated me to a stay at this lovely hotel whilst we spent a few days in lovely York. Location is fantastic, close to the railway station and only 5 mintues walk into the
centre. The food was outstanding, quite easily the best steak I have ever had along with an amazing eggs florentine for breakfast of which the quantity and quality of food was excellent. Service across all employers of the hotel was brilliant from reception, the spa staff, the doorman to the waiting and room staff. An amazing hotel and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room facing the city walls and Wheel of York
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews