We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cannot find fault”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cannot find fault”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

A recent business meeting brought me to the Cedar Court in York. From the moment the consierge opened my car door, to the time he brought it back , the service was excellent. I have to say, it continued throughout my stay, the reception desk, the waiters in the varous rooms and the restaurant staff, were outstanding. The decor is tasteful and the bedrooms reflect an air of peace and rest. Whoever plans the training for the Cedar staff, have got their training modules right, their strategy spot on. This hotel made a real difference, i have to say iam normally difficult to please, but credit where credit is due.
The food was excellent both at dinner and at breakfast, as you would hope from a hotel of this standing. I can find no areas of complaint or annoyance. I would love to go back for a non business stay , maybe a weekend break. Location wise, arrive, leave the car and walk around York.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STEVE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,783
    609
    211
    96
    41
See reviews for
481
2,282
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

What a fantastic hotel no negatives. Truely a 5 star. The saff are wonderful nothing to much trouble. We had "Sunday in Luxury" and it was. We ate in the restaurant at night everthing about it was perfect. The spa treatments very good did not have time to use the pool. The rooms are spotless and beds very comfy.We had a light bulb out and the guy arrived within minutes!!Already planning next trip. Its a must !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Thank you to all the staff for making it a great weekend.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Executive room sooooooooooooo much space (room 505)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

The hotel is everything you would expect from a UK 5*. We had a wonderful meal in the restaurant, a fantastic (extensive) breakfast in the room, spent time in the spa facilities and had treatments. I would like to return and will certainly recommend. The following points may seem like nit-picking because we did thoroughly enjoy ourselves, but the hotel is expensive and therefore I feel it is fair to raise them.

Despite having spent our evening in the hotel bar and restaurant, somehow our room didn't get serviced which meant we returned to the inconvenience of being without clean cups and milk as we'd used them earlier. We called reception and what we needed was sent up quickly and we were compensated for the oversight with a complimentary breakfast.

The pool is small and, on a busy Saturday afternoon in December (when it was freezing outside), it became over-crowded with children which didn't make for a restful spa experience! As I often find with hotel spas, the therapists were competent but not excellent. Inexplicably, the hair dryer in the changing rooms is hopeless and the staff must get complaints about this frequently as they had a contingency plan ready to put in place the moment I mentioned it! (They set up a proper hair dryer in the disabled changing room, which I was happy with but probably contravened health and safety regs!) The management need to change this as it's absurd for a five star spa property to put a single, wall-mounted, low power 'fan' dryer in the ladies changing room instead of a set of professional quality hair dryers. Also, the shower I used didn't drain properly and caused a substantial flood.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engalnd
Level Contributor
114 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Attentive, polite, obliging staff right from the minute we parked our car to the very end of our 3 day stay. Large, luxurious and comfortable room, Excellent pool and spa facilities - so useful for thawing out apres shopping. Excellent restaurant food and, while being pricey, the experience was on balance VFM. Close to the city centre and the station. An ideal base for a short break in York.

Room Tip: Be charming and nice to the reception staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetinaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family consisting of me, my husband, 19 year old son and 84 year old mother stayed for the first time at the Cedar Court. What a fabulous experience, could not fault a thing, the staff are so friendly and eager to please, the rooms are beautiful (we stayed on the first floor, 25 foot high ceilings) very spacious, very comfortable beds. We used the spa and pool which we had to ourselves.
Definitely would recommend the stay, the food in the Grill restaurant was amazing.
What a stress free, relaxing weekend break had by all.
The Potts family, Conisbrough, South Yorkshire

Room Tip: check in is not until 3pm, we arrived at 11:30am, our luggage was taken, the valet parked our car, w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thepottsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My husband treated me to a 3 day stay in the magnificent Cedar Court Grand Hotel in November 2012 as an added treat for my 60th birthday.
On arrival we opted for the valet parking and were greeted by a very smart, courteous gentleman who whisked our car away to a nearby secure car parking facility. This added extra did cost £20 per night but we felt it well worth the money knowing that our car was safe and securely parked. Spaces are not in abundance in York, even in November.
The hotel receptionist who booked us in was very welcoming and having asked my husband when he initially telephone booked our reservation if our first visit to the hotel was to celebrate any special occasion, he had told her it was for my birthday.
Consequently we were upgraded free of charge to a superior deluxe room, only 1 of 6 available in the hotel. I would therefore urge any potential clients to inform hotel staff prior to arrival of a GENUINE celebration.
Our luxury room was superb. Large, spacious, tastefully decorated and very well equipped. We were delighted. Similarly the bathroom and accompanying toiletries, towels were of the same superior standard.
Although we did not take advantage of the spa facilities, when we went to explore the spacious, clean pool area we were again welcomed by a very friendly informative staff member who took time and effort to explain what amenities were on offer.
We thoroughly enjoyed our full English Breakfasts, good selection of dishes, waiter served in charming surroundings.
Overall our stay was so enjoyable and we would have no hesitation in either recommending this beautiful hotel to any visitor to York, or returning ourselves which we intend to do in the near future. It is ideally placed to explore the city.The ongoing building works did not detract in any way from our stay there. Work had ceased by 5pm so noise was not a nuisance.
5* quality in all respects.

Room Tip: Pay a little more and treat yourself to either an executive or a deluxe room for that extra special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sazzleDoncaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Me and my husband spent three nights here at the beginning of January and it was amazing.
The hotel is in a great location and we stayed in an executive suite and it was lovely.
The hotal pool is nice and warm and was not at all busy. We also enjoyed several spa treatments which were also amazing.
The molton brown products in the bathrooms are lovely and the lipbalms left out at night are a nice touch.
The service is outstanding and we had a brilliant weekend. I would definately recommend this hotel and I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelllh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing