We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“stunning”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

What a beautiful hotel! It is amazing - had a beautiful stay here, pricey but worth every penny. The service is amazing!
We ate in the Grill room, which lived up to its aim of styling itself on other great hotel grill rooms like the Savoy or the Grosvenor. The food was fabulous - the highlight being the deconstructed tiramisu. Try it - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: they are all amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happy75london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear happy75london

Thank you for such wonderful review. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Grand soon.

Warm wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,885 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,877
    638
    221
    101
    48
See reviews for
499
2,367
75
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (700)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Met an old friend here for a night away from families and a great catch up and the hotel delivered all that we wanted. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable and had enough that was out of the ordinary (fantastic bathroom with underfloor heating and tv sound piped in) to keep us entertained and the spa was great too. The location is perfect for the station and a short walk into the centre of York. It was a perfect place to stay, can't fault it and will be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Mrs C

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I was very pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay, found our staff helpful and friendly and enjoyed the comfortable accommodation.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Well done to all at Cedar Court Grand Hotel, super hotel. first visited when the hotel opened 2010 and returned to celebrate my husbands birthday November 2012 standards still excellant.Staff could not have been more helpful,food superb room very spacious,great location to explore york.Keep up the good work,thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank englandruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your marvellous review of your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay as much as the first visit to us in 2010. I will pass on your lovely comments to all our team members as I know they will be as pleased as I am.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Grand Hotel on your next visit to York.

Warm wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend of pure luxury to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We had a junior suite which was immaculate and decorated in keeping with the fascinating history of the building, Every aspect of your stay is thought about from the valet parking on arrival, easy check in and concierge service to the turning down of your bed, the in room facilities and fantastic food. Our trip was started, after we had been stuck for an hour and a half in traffic to get there, by our concierge, Jonti arranging glases of complementary champagne to be brought our room which was a lovely touch. From there we were given advice on where to eat in the city, the best way to access the sites, outstanding breakfast service to our suite and the food in the Grill, one of the hotels restaurants, was exceptional. The on site Spa offers treatments for everyone and the pool, sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi were a lovely way to finish a chilly afternoon's walk round York and get us ready for our meal. You're less than a 5 minute from the centre of York, the beds are huge and so comfy perfect for unwinding after a day batling the shoppers and sightseeing. The rooms have robes, slippers, irons, hairdryers, gorgeous Moulton Brown shower gel etc, a safe and tea, coffee, cookies and an expresso machine.
The only problem we had was one of the his & hers showers did not work, we reported it to reception who were most apologetic but, my husband being a plumber's merchant, we knew a part would be required so this would not be fixed in our stay. The other shower worked fine, very powerful and the soak in the rolltop bath was heaven. Touches like the underfloor heating in the bathroom and the speaker system so you could listen to the radio whilst in the shower show the thought that has gone in to making your stay so enjoyable.
The price of our weekend was comparable to hiring a cottage in the lakes so for us it was a no brainer, luxury and being treated like royalty wins everytime!
We treated ourselves to the suite and it was worth every penny but I know people who have stayed in the standard rooms who have assured me these are just as well equipped and luxurious, we'll definately be back again hopefully before the next 10 year anniversary!

Room Tip: Junior suites are lovely and the separate seating area means you have the option to eat in your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickywalmsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndreaSCCG, Front Office Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your grand review of your recent stay with us.

How wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were truly spoilt for your 10th wedding anniversary. We hope you won't have to wait another 10 years for your next visit. I was disappointed to read that the second shower was not working and will have our maintenance team look into this. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience.

We look forward to seeing you back at The Grand on your next visit.

Best wishes
Andrea Schipper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Absolutely brilliant! This was the second time we had stayed, definitely be returning again and again. Staff always polite and efficient! Rooms are immaculate! Spa is a dream! Would definitely reccomend to friends and family.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at the Cedar Court as part of a mini mid week getaway.
The hotel is smack bang in the middle of York and surprisingly easy to get to given its location.
We were greeted by a concierge and all the pomp such a 5 star hotel has to offer.
The service from start to finish was excellent but relaxed and not stuffy in the slightest.
We booked a standard room but it was very well appointed and immaculate.
We ate in the hotel on the night in their restaraunt as part of our treat.
The food was excellent and the service again was faultless. Its quite expensive but i was very impressed and believed you got exactly what you were paying for.

The only regret was we ran out of time to use the spa facilities but that just gives us an excuse to go back at some stage.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffdebDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Arrived at The Cedar Court on Monday for a quick two day break in York, from the minute we arrived everything was perfect. Great staff, beautiful hotel and a fab location!


Only two faults with our experience-

Our trip was too short and we could have done another couple nights here.
Building works were a bit noisy, but this was from opposite the hotel and I don't hold this in anyway against the visit.

We will surely return! We would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a top class place to chill out and be pampered whilst staying in York!

Thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozman666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,252 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#18 of 47 in York
1,481 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing