We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“second visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“second visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Cedar Court again and can not fault the location and valet parking. Staff are helful and keen to ensure your stay runs smoothly. We stayed on the 2nd floor this visit and were not bothered by the work improvements being carried out to the building opposite.

Lovely touches such a a turn down service make the differance to this hotel. We booked through a website however staff knew we had stayed and welcomes us back.

Room Tip: rooms appear to differ in size and layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cordelia6825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent 2nd stay with us.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout and that our team looked after you well.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,731
    600
    208
    95
    41
See reviews for
468
2,244
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Amazing hotel with very good service. It is expensive but I knew it would be when booking so as long as you're aware in advance you're going to really love it (as I did). The spa is fabulous and I'd highly recommend indulging in a treatment or two. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chocablock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I stayed at the Cedar Court Grand for 4 nights this August. I travelled with my mother and we had booked a spa day and planned some shopping and general relaxing in luxury! We were not disappointed. The Cedar Court is a beautiful hotel with a wonderful history and our bedroom was very spacious and full of all the essentials and more. We didn't do a huge amount of sightseeing but York Minster is a must. Breakfast options (both dining in room and in the breakfast room) were fantastic and staff very friendly - with one exception. Unfortunately, one member of staff, who I believe was head porter - though I was not sure of his specific job title, really let the high standards that the hotel has attained down by demonstrating his degree from the school of sarcasm at every given moment. He was a slightly older man and unfortunately I didn't get his name but he was very rude, abrasive and obviously felt he was above talking to us in a normal manner- he was very sarcastic towards my mother when she asked if we could possibly leave our luggage for an hour after checkout. Not a nice feeling when you are paying around £400 a night. I work in the hospitality industry and I would be very upset if a member of my staff behaved in this way. In all other areas though, our trip was fantastic and staff could not do enough to please. Special thanks to the mixologist who we had a long chat with and to Sophie in the spa.
We are definitely planning a return visit, though we may just be hoping that our porter is taking a holiday of his own at that time...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this generally positive review following your recent stay with us.

I’m delighted you liked your bedroom, enjoyed your breakfast and took the opportunity to both make use of our Spa and Cocktail Bar.

Naturally I am disappointed to read the incident involving a member of our Concierge Team. I’m sure whoever it was did not have the intention of coming across in this way and I can only apologise if his mannerisms were misconstrued. I will ensure our Head Concierge and Front Office Manager are made aware of the situation.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you all back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

cannot fault a single thing with this hotel , perfect location , the staff and room were excellent , and the meal was out of this world , can honestly say we've never had a meal like it , took my girlfriend there to propose (she said yes) i she's already planning to go back next year for the anniversary.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
May I take this opportunity to say congratulations on your recent engagement and I’m thrilled that the The Grand played such a big role in the special day.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future for your anniversary.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

beautiful building inside and out -with history. Friendly staff. Excellent position of hotel for tourism. Facilities were excellent such as swimming pool and spa complex. Nearby building work should have finished by now but the quality curtains helped keep out alot of the noise. The only problem was that of reception staff not knowing of the booking [through 3rd party web sites] even though a precautionary phone call to the hotel from me the day before assured me that the booking had been received. This had happened to another customer during my stay as witnessed by overheard anger at the desk. The receptionist explained that they had trouble with internet bookings and it would be better for customers to contact the Hotel directlly- I thought this strange advice in an age of internet shopping. The overall quality of the experience was so good that I enjoyed my 35th wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: If building work not finished go to back of hotel. Excellent quality feature and fittings with two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brianeustice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent celebratory stay with us.
I’m delighted that overall you enjoyed your stay throughout.

I can only apologise if there was some confusion at the Front Desk regarding a particular 3rd party website offer. I shall ensure our Front Officer Manager is made aware of this incident and I am confident measures will be put in place to prevent a re-occurrence,

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
325 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We journeyed to York after 4 nights in London for the Olympics. We selected York based on guidebooks and selected Cedar Court based on TripAdvisor reviews. And the town and hotel did not disappoint.

Our only disappointment was that we could only be there one night!

Upon arrival, the hotel bell captain (I am only guessing at that title) Paul met us as we parked our car. He helped us unload our luggage, get acclimated and on our way. We entered our room alongside the stellar hotel concierge, Jordi, who escorted us to our room and gave us a "tour." High ceilings, beautiful moldings, sitting area... the bathroom featured a tub, shower, towel warming rack AND heated floor! Wow.

With some quick tips on what to see and do from Jordi, we were off and running pretty quickly to explore the town.

When we returned, we had a restful sleep. We did partake of breakfast the next morning, and since we are not big breakfast eaters, found the cost to be high for what we ate, but that goes along with the 4-star quality and comfort of Cedar Court.

The concierge we met on our departure day mapped out our journey for us, and, Paul re-routed us as we went to our car so that we could experience the scenic route down through the Cotswolds to Bath. His directions were right on and we were pleased to have taken that journey!

If you are going to York - stay here - and stay longer than one night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

We don’t have anyone by the name of Paul within our Concierge Department, never the less thank you for your kind words and I am delighted that the service and attention you received was to as a high standard as it normally is.

It’s great to read also that you were able to explore the city and the surrounding area which as you know has a lot to offer.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to York’s only 5 star Hotel (not 4) in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

First impression of York, Very nice service and warm welcome. Good and safe location. Molton brown products were unexpected, It's a great treat. Double room was amazing with all classy furniture. I would go back and stay there again. It's a shame that I stayed there only one night, didn't have a chance for spa and others.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing