We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #5 of 47 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Absolutely met my expectations - polite, attentive staff, very friendly. Beautiful room, fab bar and great breakfast. Concierge really helpful. Felt really well looked after! Pool small but beautiful, great button to turn on a resistance current. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was out of order but this was explained to as soon as we went into the spa. Beds very confutable, towels fluffy - couldn't have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BAGEL01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout, in particular your time spent in our Spa.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,904
    643
    223
    102
    48
See reviews for
509
2,384
76
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (706)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect. I stayed with my boyfriend in Feb 2012 as a romantic surprise. From the second we checked in, we were treat like royalty. We were checked in by Poppy who was just lovely and then got took up by concierge to our room. He opened the door and then saw a lovely surprise that was organised by my boyfriend (who probs harrased the staff beforehand- so even putting up with that thank you)
The room was heaven... very spacious... immaculate... 2 chairs...huge comfy bed with dressing gowns... huge bathroom, heated floor, a very luxurious bath and double shower! Oh girls, Molton brown toiletries :-)
Every member of staff we came into contact with was so pleasant and lovely .
I will be saving the pennies so I can come back again!!
Thank you

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetness86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa on Saturday (10.03.12) for one night as a guest of friends that were celebrating a major birthday. We were greeted by their Concierge on arrival and our car was taken by one of their staff to a local car park and the '5 Star' treatment continued right up to when we departed the next day. The Spa facilities in the hotel were great and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. We didn't have dinner in the hotel as we wanted an Italian meal, however we did have breakfast in the hotel and it was fabulous.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALAN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future whereby I hope you will have more time to take advantage of more of our facilities such as Dinner in our Award Winning Restaurant.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Everything about this hotel was perfect.
I stayed with my boyfriend in October 2011 and every member of staff that we came into contact with was lovely and helpful.
The room was large, and immaculate. The bed was very comfortable and the view over the city was amazing. We had a huge bath and a double shower (best hotel shower Ive ever come across).
In terms of location, it is just inside the city walls. perfect for the train station and only a short walk to the main shopping area.
It wasnt cheap to stay here but still worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SN2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your stay with us back in October.

I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

It was my second time at York when I stayed in Cedar. My first experience is for Marriott so I can compare them.

Cedar is defintely a lot more luxurious hotel than Marriott. Not only the reception and restaurant areas, but also room inside. Breakfast is well prepared and daily newspaper is served every morning. The only disadvantage compared to Marriott is not having pool in Cedar.

The Hotel is located just opposite of Railway station and very closed to city center. Just walking distance to Minster area, which is not the case for Marriott.

If you are looking for elegant experience in York no need to think about, go ahead!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ino-1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

Indeed we do have a Swimming Pool amongst other Spa facilities located on the lower ground floor of the building. It’s a great shame that you were unaware of this, however this is information is conveyed in all guest literature, including our website and is also communicated verbally upon arrival to the hotel. I hope that you are able to see this great facility at first hand on your next visit to us.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My partner and I were in York and wanted a coffee but somewhere nice and walked into the hotel. We were welcomed at the door by a fantasic door man that walked us into the hotel and showed us were to go.

The reception is stunning and very professional, we walked to the tea room area near The Grill and it was stunning. We sat down and we were welcomed again by a young girl who showed a very high standard of service and took our order.

The coffee and service were 2nd to none and was 100% faultless (and i'm a hard to please).

I was expecting a massive bill as normaly hotels of this standard charge massive amounts for light refreshments, but was cheaper than a trip to starbucks.

I think the hotel and staff should be very proud of the level of service they provide.

5 Star all the way

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Bevergage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review following your recent visit to us.

I’m delighted your experience in our Restaurant / Bar was so enjoyable. I know the Team will be as delighted as myself in reading your positive feedback.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have just return from a weekend trip to York and had the pleasure of staying at the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa.
Whilst I tend not to "slum it" when it comes to lodgings, I have only stayed in 5 star hotels on relatively few occasions. That being said, the Cedar Court can hold its own with any of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in previously.

Before we had even entered the hotel, Paul the doorman had relieved us of our bags and showed us to reception. We were able to check in well in advance of the stated 3pm check in time and Paul escorted us to our room and gave us a thorough explaination of the room features (although he managed to make a simple hotel room hotel room sound very complicated!). Paul seemed very knowledgeable about the hotel and informed us that, despite being over 100 years old, the building was only converted into a hotel 2 years ago.

Despite booking a standard (Classic) Room I was very pleased to see how large the room was, this would have been classed as a large Junior Suite in many London hotels! The bathroom was also very large and well kitted out with Molton Brown toiletries.
We were then offered a complimentary tea & coffee served in our room before we headed out to see the sites and sounds of York.

Upon returning from a hard days' shopping and sightseeing we returned to the hotel and decided to go for a swim down at the spa, which was very well appointed.
That evening we went for a night cap in the hotel bar. Prices were actually not all that bad for a 5 star hotel bar - about £4 for a bottle of lager and £7 for a cocktail.

The following morning we enjoyed the continental breakfast in the restaurant. Whilst I did initially think that £15 was a bit steep for a breakfast that didnt include bacon or sausage (that was extra), we were very impressed with the offering and can vouch for the fact that £15 is not expensive for the quality and range of the breakfast and the surroundings in which it was served. Gillian, Natalie and Dael looked after us impeccably.

There were 1 or 2 small niggles to mention: the temperature control for the shower was broken so I could not adjust the temperature of the water, which was rather warm (I wasn't using that layer of skin anyway!) and the control for the tv volume in the bathroom didn't work properly. Neither of these were of any detriment to my enjoyment of one of the most pleasurable hotel stays I have experienced in a long while.

The hotel itself was immaculately appointed (the lifts were VERY shiny!) and included the widest hotel corridors I have ever seen. The staff were exceptional and all the staff were attentive but not intrusive.

All in all I would not hesitate to recommend the Cedar Court Grand Hotel and Spa. From previous experience I would expect to pay 3 or 4 times what this stay cost me to have a similar standard of hotel and service in other parts of the country. Excellent from start to finish!!

Room Tip: Whilst our room was on the front of the hotel, we heard from other guests that rooms on the side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andromeda_says_boom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest

Wow!! Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#3 of 47 in York
1,302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#10 of 47 in York
1,263 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
The Parisi Hotel
The Parisi Hotel
#1 of 47 in York
633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 47 in York
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in York
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing