We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and will be back” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 46 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent and will be back”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Fantastic stay, service top rate, food very good, Spa amazing.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devie41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to share your great feedback following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,733
    600
    208
    95
    41
See reviews for
470
2,244
73
202
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

This was a bit of a surprise. We got a great rate and from the site the hotel seemed to be on the iside of the city wall so looked like it was in the" thick of it". We had valet parking an walked in. What a great old building! We were greeted by a bank of some of the mst friendly but professional staff. We were showed to our room by bell staff and were not disappointed. The hallways are huge & give a real feeling of opulance lost on newer hotels. Our room had the highest ceilings, great decor and lots of space. We had a lovely bathroom where the TV sound was piped through to. After an afternoon walking around the city we got back to the hotel and enjoyed cocktails at the sumptuous bar. The decor is in keeping with the building but has a contemporary twist. Because we were only eating out late we took the opportunity to use tha spa. Unfortunately we could not have a massage at the same time so I would book treatments before arrival next time. The pool, jacuzzi, steam room & sauna were really high spec (if not a little small) and a wonderful place to relax & unwind. We missed out on using the restaurant because we were eating elsewhere but only heard good reports. All in all, this was a great place to stay. Right in the centre without being noisy. All of your needs are met & surpassed. Loved it.

Room Tip: Good rates are available on a few different sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadFiggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Guest

thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
It's great to read that you enjoyed your stay throughout and in particular highlighting the friendly staff, cocktail bar, valet parking service and Spa.
I'm glad the decor and style of the former North Eastern Railway HQ was to your liking too.

On behalf of myself and the whole team here at the Grand, York, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

The most valuable amenity is the valet parking..just off load the cases and the staff whisk them upto your room. On arrival our room wasn't quite ready so we provided tea and coffee while we waiting.

The bathroom was superb and on checking out we were able to leave our cases securely and have the car brought to the door. The staff on the door were friendly and informative.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cordelia6825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Dear Guest

thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular appreciated our ever efficient valet and concierge service upon arrival to the hotel.
On behalf of all of us here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

If you're after a luxury hotel in the heart of York, then there can surely be nowhere else to look than The Cedar Court Grand! We stayed for 2 nights for my girlfriend's 25th Birthday and absolutely loved it. Our room was fantastic (an Executive King) and the bathroom was enormous, with a double rainfall walk in shower, marble topped bath and double sinks. All the fixtures and fittings are of a very high quality and the bed was very comfortable. On the downside, the air-conditioning was VERY noisy, so much so that we turned it off on our second night. However this meant that the noise from the building site across the road from our room was even more noticable.

We ate in The Grill restaurant on our second night. The food was outstanding, from the most delicious bread rolls (i know it sounds an odd thing to comment on, but honestly they were incredible!!) to melt in the mouth fillet steak. And the blackberry souffle was sublime....but like everything else at Cedar Court Grand - be prepared to pay for it!! Nothing comes cheap here!

The bar area is as comfortable and stylish as the rest of the hotel, and every drink we enjoyed was expertly made (gin and tonic with sliced cucumber was surprisingly good). My only criticism was that during the afternoon when it was quite quiet, the bar area, and in particular the outside terrace lacked atmosphere.

The spa was very nice, all the facilities were of a standard in keeping with the rest of the hotel, and our double massage was excellent. I had contacted the Spa via e-mail prior to arriving in an attempt to arrange our treatments but no-one ever got back to me. On our arrival the Spa was too busy to accomodate the treatments we would have actually liked to have which was a shame. We also had a voucher for the Spa, having booked through Expedia, however when i presented this to the member of staff he implied it wasn't valid and almost accused me of trying to con him into giving us a discount. This caused some embarrasment to me, and could have been handled much better.

Spa attendant apart, the service elsewhere was fine. In particular the Concierge (think he was called Peter) who assisted us on our arrival with a map of York and pointing us in the direction of the things we wanted to see - very helpful!

I would definately recommend Cedar Court Grand to anyone visiting York looking for a treat - Expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phil6214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent meal with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed the experience throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team here at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RASL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

Stayed here for surprise 40th bday. Fantastic location & superb accommodation. Staff helpful & friendly. Meal & drinks wise more expensive than should but I suppose has to maintain 5* trimmings

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RASL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write this positive review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

What a fantastic 5* Hotel. Brilliant location. The service was excellent; the staff couldn't do enough for you. The room was a dream, absolutely perfect, comfortable, wonderful shower and bath facility, loved all the additional Free of Charge extras i.e. Wi-Fi, turn down service, tea selection with delicious biscuits, bath robes and slippers, safe .... the list is endless. The Spa was another luxury; the treatments were very relaxing and professional. We can't wait to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayeCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank your for taking the time to write such a fantastic review following your recent stay with us.
I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay throughout.

On behalf of myself and the rest of the team at The Grand, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the future.

Bes Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Can’t wait to go back!

This hotel is fabulous! Right from booking the room over the phone with Jacqui to arriving at the hotel to leaving on Monday morning. Check in was pleasant and fuss free

We were upgraded to a suite which was such a nice surprise on check in.
The room was sumptuous and decorated beautifully – with bold pink printed wall paper behind the headboard and cushions on the bed to match.

Our room (302) had a bathroom with a bath then a separate shower room.
These were both so clean and had the fluffiest towels I have ever had in any hotel.

We ordered room service on Sunday afternoon, this was delivered swiftly and looked gorgeous right down to a lit candle and floating gerbera! The young man who brought the room service (short dark hair with glasses) was efficient and pleasant.

I had the chicken caesar salad, not very exciting you might think, however it is surprising how many places don’t know how to get this dish just right – they have certainly achieved it here – it was just perfect with the most succulent chicken, fresh crisp lettuce, tasty croutons and just the right amount of parmesan shavings. Feeling a little naughty I also ordered a side order of chunky chips – I don’t know what they did to them but they were the best side order of chunky chips I have ever tasted!

We had a couple of items from the mini bar – which for a mini bar I didn’t think were too over priced – bottles of coca cola or lemonade at £2.00 each.

Thomas helped us with our TV, as we appeared to have lost one channel – this was fixed in time for a favourite program of mine!

Our luggage was taken to our room on arrival and brought down for us again at the end of our stay.

We didn’t get to use the spa facilities this time or the Restaurants – but we will on our next visit.

We did take a drink in the bar on Sunday evening – it was nice and busy with a lovely atmosphere – be careful with the chairs – they are so comfortable you may have trouble getting out of them!

The whole hotel is decorated beautifully – with gorgeous individual touches from the little goblet shaped candle holders to the beautiful bold silver coffee table in the lounge.
A lot of care has been taken ensure that the new meets the old perfectly – meaning that this old building stills maintains a sense history.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allaboutme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr_Graeme_Clark, Food & Beverage Operations Manager at The Grand Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 31, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing such a fantastic review of The Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa following your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your journey from your initial reservation through to the end of your stay.

I’m delighted that you had an opportunity to take advantage of our In Room Dining facility and also spend some time to relax in our Cocktail Bar.

On behalf of myself and the team, we look forward to welcoming you back to us in the near future.

Best Wishes
Graeme Clark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.1 mi away
The Principal York
The Principal York
#11 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 976 reviews
1.9 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 mi away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel & Spa

Property: The Grand Hotel & Spa
Address: | Station Rise, York YO1 6HT, England (Formerly Cedar Court Grand Hotel & Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in York
#3 Family Hotel in York
#3 Luxury Hotel in York
#3 Romantic Hotel in York
#3 Spa Hotel in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With stunning views of the Minster and the city’s ancient walls the Grand Hotel & Spa enjoys an enviable central location as York’s only five star hotel. Built in 1906 as one of the great railway buildings of York, the hotel’s graceful Edwardian architecture is complemented with fine dining and a luxurious spa complex that features an indoor pool and treatment rooms. All 107 guest rooms are individually designed and furnished to an extremely high specification, creating an indulgent yet unpretentious environment for both leisure and business travellers. And private dining facilities, an open air roof garden and elegant function rooms, provide a plethora of unique options for events and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grand Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Court Grand Hotel York
Cedar Court Grand Hotel And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing