We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the wander” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quilt Museum and Gallery - CLOSED

Quilt Museum and Gallery
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wander”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Slightly away from the centre but only at the bottom of the Shambles, amazing Great Hall, with super display of quilts. Interesting shop with cards, calendars, fabric, Christmas decorations/cards books.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank moraymum5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, Manager at Quilt Museum and Gallery, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Quilt Museum and Gallery and in particular the shop. We have been able to create product ranges based on our unique quilts in our collection which are not available anywhere else. Unfortunately the Museum and Gallery is closed in December and most of January for maintainence work. However it is still possible to buy online, through Quilt Museum Shop website, last orders for UK delivery before Christmas is 18 December.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    43
    10
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful old building complex”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Rather out of the est but the building is a beautiful old hall with timber beamed ceiling.
Not as many quilts as I had hoped. American Museum in Bath has more on display by hanging from rods that can be swung around to see the next quilt.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Margarett M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona D, Manager at Quilt Museum and Gallery, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The Quilt Museum and Gallery is based in the magnificant St Anthony's Hall, one of the few surviving medieval guildhalls in York. and a Grade 1 listed building, the hall is of significant architectural and historical interest. It is owned by York Conservation Trust who maintain a large number historic properties in the city.

St Anthony's Hall is one of only four remaining medieval guild halls in York. In 1446 King Henry VI granted a charter that founded the charitable Guild of St Martin. The hall and a chapel were subsequently built on the site, which previously housed a chapel for St Anthony - the name was retained for the hall. In its long and colourful history, it has been a guildhall, a workhouse, a munitions magazine, a prison, a Blue Coat School, the Borthwick Institute (historical archive) and now a museum.

The Quilt Museum and Gallery is home to The Quilters Guild Collection of the British Isles of over 800 quilts and coverlets dating back 300 years .We have a programme of changing exhibitions showing our own collection and work from contemporary textile artists. This enables us to show a range of quilts so that there is something different each time for our regular visitors and also helps us to reduce the strain on our more fragile historic quilts by reducing the amount of time that they are on display.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glad I Went”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Lovely old historic building. Went on second day of new exhibition. Really impressed with everything there. Staff were friendly and helpful. Look forward to a return visit when the exhibition changes.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie C, Manager at Quilt Museum and Gallery, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the visit to the Quilt Museum and Gallery. The current exhibitions 'It's all in the Making' and 'A sensitive art' will close on the 30 November 2013. The Museum and Gallery will then close for a winter break and will re-open on Saturday 25 January 2014 with two new exhibitions, ' Cabin Fever' and a guest exhibition by the Anglia Textile Group. More information will posted on the Quitl Museum and Gallery later this autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Excellent! A warm welcome given by the lady at the desk who also gave basic information - that there is a lift and where the toilets are. The shop was well stocked with interesting items and books. The exhibition was displayed so that all items could be seen clearly. Information was also clearly displayed. The WOW is for the building which is awesome and provides a fabulous backdrop for the patchwork and quilting. I particularly like that there was a display of work from the 1990's, not just the 1780-1820(?) exhibition.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Isabel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie C, Manager at Quilt Museum and Gallery, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and especially the wonderful St Anthony's Hall. The Museum is closed for an exhibition change for a few days but reopens next Friday 6th September with a new exhibition of quilts and textiles. You may be interested to know that this includes some beautiful contemporary woven textiles from the British Tapestry Group. We hope to welcome you to the Museum again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LLANDUDNO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“materials”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

I enjoyed the lovely designs & use of many materials .some were only stitching ,
Why I couldn't take a photograph I don't know you could't copy them if that's the issue .

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank annwynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosie C, Manager at Quilt Museum and Gallery, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit but sorry to hear you were disappointed at not being able to take photos. The reason for this is that the quilts on display are extremely old and fragile and the light from flash photographs can damage them. Without flash it would be hard to get a good image.Also, some of the items in the exhibition are on loan to us and the owners do not wish them to be photographed. We do provide images free on our website and postcards at a modest cost in the shop. I hope this won't put you off and hope to welcome you to our next exhibition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quilt Museum and Gallery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing