We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveler rating
184
72
11
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
184
72
11
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfour poster bedyorkshire pierabbit stewmixed grillgood selection of alesolde worldfantastic pubdick turpinthe portion sizepiesreal alelots of characterbeer gardenfull english breakfastlight sleeperlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 297 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2017

Visited this establishment with my wife and granddaughter. The rooms are very pleasant, warm and inviting. We were after a quick lunch son settled for Cheese & Onion toastie(1), Home made Cheese burger(2) and Hot roast beef baguette(3). The former appeared to have fried and was not attractive to look at. No.2 fell apart in the roll and appeared under cooked--chips were fine. No 3 was as expected and was very nice. Unfortunately one out of three wasn't very good.

Room Tip: As we were only there for food my comments relate to the pub.
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night on bonfire weekend, arrived early so had lunch. Massive portions and really tasty, large selection of drinks, really nice staff. Our room was fine but could have perhaps done with a makeover. Came back for last orders and sat by the open fire, breakfast was great, large and good quality served by nice chatty cheerful lady. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Gazo1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

Warm friendly pub, old feel with drooping timber ceiling and log fire. Landlady brilliant, pleasant and topped up our mulled wine.
In the city centre but just a step outside to avoid the tourists stampede.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Huge huge portions and the pies are "licking your fingers" tasty! We tried a few of them already and we never miss a chance to go back again! Just go and order pies! The place is very old and it creates an authentic old English Inn ambience. Totally Recommended!

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nikos V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile

Me and my family came for the second time on 5/11/17 it took us 10 minutes to be seated and when we sat down down the table was dirty , however the bar staff seemed to be just standing around, I went up to the bar to place our order and was greeted by a black cat sitting on the end of the bar! We got our food promptly however the gravy was really salty on my Sunday roast and my wives meal was in her words "inedible" we were wanting to sit next to the fire in the bar to dine but was told no children were allowed, however there were a young girl in there with what I presume was her dad playing on a tablet, giggling away! In the future we will not be coming back to this establishment as it should not be one rule for one and one for another! The only plus side after waiting 5 minutes for our cutlery after asking twice was a young girl who brought it out to us was extremely pleasant and was hugely apologetic. Its such a shame as the pub is beautiful and looks like it could have a lot of potential if only it had management who could run it properly!

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank geofflund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews