We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
187
73
12
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
187
73
12
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub four poster bed yorkshire pie rabbit stew mixed grill good selection of ales olde world fantastic pub dick turpin the portion size pies real ale lots of character beer garden full english breakfast light sleeper large bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 302 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We went as a group on a ghosthunting night 8/3/2012. The Landlord was very welcoming and the place itself was amazing. We hired all 3 rooms, they were all clean, comfortable rooms and it was nicely decorated. There was plenty of coffee/tea/sugar for each room, instead of the usual couple of each. We took some very spooky pics, did a through the nite ghosthunt and it didn`t fail to give us a few shrieks and screams! Breakfast was HUGE! Very tasty and you could have anything you wanted. We had a superb stay, will be returning soon for definate!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Excellent location,excellent room and even better staff 10/10

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Stayed at the Black Swan for four nights in Feb. Hotel was everything we hoped for in atmosphere and looks. Loved the crooked stairway and the dim lighting, all added to the character of the place. Stayed in the Stag room on the first floor, very spacious with a four poster bed which was very comfortable. The large bathroom was clean with plenty of fresh towels every day. The in-room tea/coffee was a bonus, they are very generous with replenishments! so thank you for that. The breakfast is marvellous, you can pretty much eat until you burst, but it is not quantity over quality, it was superb. The lady who cooks is very accomodating and will pretty much cook you what you want, she also likes to sing! The location was good and it's close to all that York has to offer. We had an excellent stay here and intend going back to York and would love to stay again. All the staff we met were so nice and sociable. Last but not least we have to mention the resident cat "Salem". He was a sweetheart. If I could have put him in my case and brought him home with me I would have! He's a friendly wee guy/girl very affectionate.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catwomanGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Nice little country pub with nice apartments staff are friendly and the foods great....not the best place to drive to in ice

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurensss_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2012

My wife, daughter and I spent two nights at the Black Swan in Oct 2011. While researching rooms online we found the Black Swan to be a little more expensive, but we were enticed by the Inn’s history, atmosphere and ghostly reputation.

We arrived by car and found the parking situation to be poor. There is no reserved parking for guests and the lot was full for the majority of our visit. The only other parking option is a very expensive lot on the opposite side of the Inn.

The pub itself was very interesting and was exactly the way I pictured a 600 year old tavern to look. We approached the bartender and she walked us up to our room. The famously crooked stairs and dim lighting really added to the overall ambiance. Our room was on the second floor down a short hallway. The hallway light was blown and it was pitch black even during the day. We were told twice during our stay that it would be fixed, but it was still out when we left.

We stayed in the Stag Room and it consisted of a main bedroom, hallway and bathroom. The main bedroom was fantastic and the canopy bed was very comfortable. It had a very spooky yet elegant feel to it. The hallway was wide enough to accommodate a small bed where my daughter slept during our stay. The hallway was very stark compared to the rest of the room. I did feel a little guilty sleeping in the much nicer bedroom but my daughter said her bed was comfortable. I found the bathroom to be modern and very large. The room was clean and the linens were comfortable. Others have mentioned noise as an issue, but we didn't have a problem during our stay.

The Inn itself is located just a few blocks from the scenic parts of York, but is surrounded by modern buildings. It’s difficult to tell online, but I thought it would be a little more scenic around the Inn’s immediate location.

We didn’t get to eat breakfast while we stayed at this B & B. We wanted to start our site seeing early as we had a limited amount of time in York and breakfast isn’t served until 9am. We let the manager know we would be checking out early morning (7am) our last day and he offered to have someone come in early to cook breakfast. We waited until 7:30am, but the cook was still not in the building when we left.

Overall we loved York and I did enjoy staying at the Black Swan. The service and parking were a little subpar, but the building, location and room were great. One thing that made our stay even more memorable was a Ghost Walk that concludes at the Black Swan. The guide tells a couple ghost stories about the Inn, including one that supposedly happened in the room we were staying.

We didn't see any ghosts at the Black Swan, but we did enjoy our stay.

Cons: Pros:
Pricey Atmosphere
Parking History
Mediocre Service Clean and Comfortable
Location

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews