We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
185
72
11
20
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
185
72
11
20
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubfour poster bedyorkshire pierabbit stewmixed grillgood selection of alesolde worldfantastic pubdick turpinthe portion sizepiesreal alelots of characterbeer gardenfull english breakfastlight sleeperlarge bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
228 - 233 of 298 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Swan in January and were the only over-night guests. From a decor perspective the place is everything one would hope a 600 yr old inn would be and it comes complete with ghosts, both human and animal (though I regret we did not see any). The bedroom was clean and comfortable with both a four-poster double and a single beds. The staff were very friendly and eager to assist and sent us on our way with a marvelous full English breakfast.

My only caveat about the Swan is that it has a quite popular pub and thus a lot of noise came up through the floor, at least in the room we were in, until closing at 11. That been said, though, I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is not directly above the pub rooms, if possible.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Busby09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We had a fantastic night in the Black Swan. The place has great character, great people and great food. Good parking and easy to walk into the center of York. Great stay thank you.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happytraveller422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Just got back from staying at the black swan hotel,the hotel was ok for the night very cold so take extra clothing if going in January,very central to York centre, food lovely and got plenty the hotel is a very old place and its said to be haunted but apart from a few orbs we didn't see a or hear anything all in ill an exciting weekend

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elly28031965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a fantastic pub and hotel that is a real experience in itself. It's a great place to stay in York if you want something a bit different. It's certainly not a 5 star hotel but it's comfortable, clean and friendly. The breakfast is absolutely enormous! We parked in the hotel carpark and felt perfectly safe, and it was an easy stroll to the Shambles - in fact we stumbled across it without even realising it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KittyMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We live in York but have not been to the Black Swan for years. Some friends wanted to meet and it was one of the places they knew and easy to get to.
Beer was gorgeous. This lulled us into ordering lunch. We had planned to walk into York and eat elsewhere - nowhere in particular.
Between 4 of us 3 different meals were ordered - pigeon pie, fish pie and omelette.
The pigeon pie was the toughest meat you could imagine. I am still trying to figure out the gravy. My ancient teeth just about managed it. The fish pie consisted of pieces of fish partially covered with mash potato. It was bone dry. No sauce. The omelette was enormous but overcooked.
Tip for the future. Drink the lovely beer - eat elsewhere - even MacDonalds.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kenbpfell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews