We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for school groups”
Review of Safestay York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Safestay York
Ranked #11 of 58 Specialty Lodging in York
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Compared to a proper Youth Hostel the ACE isn't really suitable for school groups. The staff weren't friendly or helpful to the school party I was working with and the food was considered terrible by all the children and adults. Plus it was served on paper plates with plastic utensils all of which were chucked in the bin - not very environmentally conscious ! There's nowhere for a group to be gathered all together easily, which is essential for school parties. And yes, the location is central but the nighttime noise from the street outside and the pub yard disco at the back made it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyG90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 877 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

Great Georgian building.
Friendly staff.
Good values
When my group was there Stag do of 20 there were many other groups.
Bar prices are cheaper than the bars.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank putoguiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights, great location! Free wifi, from the hostels around the UK the first on give away fruit as part of the Breackfast. Rooms are pretty big lots of space. It only needs to improve on their beds, they are quite loose. I would recommend it for your trip to York!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
Thank Jesus R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Great location. Very clean and big. Friendly staff. The bottom bunk gives you enough room to actually sit up straight which is always an appreciated detail in any hostel. Great value, but my only complaint is that there was only one tiny individual bathroom for 10 girls to share. Otherwise it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Good value for money hostel in an ideal location. Good standard of cleanliness. Reasonable breakfast. It was also fairly quiet, which was what we wanted, though I suspect in peak season it may be a bit more lively.
The only thing I would say is we stayed in the four bed dorm and, as the sign outside the room pointed out, it used to be a cupboard so you can imagine it was not the brightest, most spaceous room. However, we were only really in the room to sleep so that wasn't too much of an issue.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Despite my review title, this place isn't bad per se, it's just shown up by the Fort Hostel in town. Yes the building is impressive, but the rooms are still dorms, and the bathrooms like something from an aeroplane. The shower is tiny, and it's a little offputting using a bathroom that resembles a plastic cubicle inside the bedroom.

When i was there there were loads of schoolkids, and it reminded me of an YHA - which i'm not a fan of. A few too many rules and regs. Don't get me wrong. It's really not bad, the beds are comfy enough, and its clean, but seriously, unless you like having a bar/big communal area to hang out and meet people i would stay at the Fort Hostel (which is more like a small converted apartment) and it's right in the centre of town).

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oracle77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

A nice short distance from the train station, this gorgeous old mansion has been converted into a lovely boutique hostel - a very classy backpackers or a cheaper alternative to a hotel.
Around the building they have little placards describing the history of the previous tennants etc and gives a really lovely touch.York is steeped in history and you feel the history of this place by knowing its personal story.
The walk into the hart of town is a little bit of a hike, but nothing too difficult, and pituresque as you pass over the river.
Beds were comfortable and everything was immaculatly clean.
Beakfast was normal fare for a backpackers, but the dining room felt nice and communal.
The only thing i disliked about this place was the ensuite in the dorm...Unfortunatly it resembled what you might get in a caravan - hard to explain - all made from plastic and it did not offer much in the way of sound proofing... it would be better to get rid of the ensuite and make a propper communal bathroom instead.
However altogether this hostel was just so nice i wish there were more just like it!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
3.1 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
1.6 mi away
Best Western York Pavilion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn York
Holiday Inn York
#34 of 47 in York
1,417 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn York North West Hotel
1.2 mi away
York Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safestay York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safestay York

Address: 88-90 Micklegate | Micklegate House, York YO1 6JX, England (Formerly Ace York - Boutique Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 58 Specialty Lodging in York
Price Range: $28 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Safestay York 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safestay York is set in a beautiful Georgian townhouse less than 10 minutes’ walk from York train station and even closer to the historic city centre. You’ll love the affordable accommodation and stylish social spaces, 24 hour reception and free Wi-Fi throughout. With twin, double and family en-suite rooms as well as en-suite and standard dormitories for 4 to 12 people there’s a bed for every budget. All bed linen is included and private rooms boast flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, and towels too. In dormitories Safestay’s own brand of bunk beds are fitted with a personal night-light and surrounded by privacy curtains, allowing for a comfortable night's sleep. There’s a locker for each bed too, making it easy to store your luggage and valuables. The four social spaces include a breakfast room, serving continental breakfast every day, a fully licensed bar, games room and heated courtyard. The hostel also has a laundry, bike racks and a luggage store for guests to use at their pleasure. The blend of the surreal and the traditional reflects the fairy tale feel of York, giving the hostel an individual charm of its own; whilst staying true to Safestay’s award winning design. Great for groups and individuals Safestay is York’s first choice hostel for the savvy traveller. Stay at Safestay York and you’ll be within easy walking distance of The York Minster, Clifford’s Tower, Jorvik Viking Centre, The Shambles, National Railway Museum, The York Dungeons and much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Safestay York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace York - Boutique Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing