We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Little Italy

Little Italy
Ranked #6 of 883 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We walked passed this restaurant & commented how nice it looked then decided to turn round & go back to see if we could get a table. We were lucky they had a table for 2. The service, atmosphere & food was excellent. We both ordered Lasagne and I can honestly say it was the nicest Lasagne I've had for a long time. Would highly recommend it but would advise to book first!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,580
    298
    99
    34
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Excellent as always. If your idea of an Italian dinner is Pizza and garlic bread then L. I. may not be for you. If you prefer perfectly pan fried fowl succulent grills (meat sourced locally) with the most delicious sauce, and proper home-made pastas all produced and served by the owners then you should give it a try.

Some of the mains take 20 minutes to prepare and a good way of passing the time is to share a bowl of olives with bread to mop up the fantastic oil that comes with it.

The staff are fantastic and my only disappointment is that Simone will not come and work with us!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

good little restaurant close to york minster reasonable price,pasta dishes were very good, we would eat here again when re-visiting York

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tony m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb food and service!”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We ate at Little Italy on Monday evening and were very lucky to get a table without advance booking, when we arrived just after 8 o 'clock they were almost full and we soon realised why. From start to finish we had a superb evening, excellent friendly and attentive service combined with one of the best Italian meals we' ve had in a long time.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic Italian in the middle of York”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I was visiting York with my wife and had earlier visited their deli. The quality of the food from the deli was excellent, so we decided to try the restaurant for my wife's birthday. The antipasti was beautifully presented - it was artistic without being overly flouncy. My wife had the special (mussels) while I had the calamari. Both were cooked to perfection. A similar experience with the mains - the seafood spaghetti dish was well seasoned, not overcooked and tasted great. The spaghetti is made in house. My wife had a rustic Sardinian dish of cut sausages with pasta in a tomato sauce - which again was great. The panacotta desert was beautiful.

It's rare I come up trumps for the wife's birthday, but managed it this time! So thanks to all.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Italy also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Little Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing