We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”
Review of Harrand House

Harrand House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Harrand House
Ranked #164 of 194 York B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you are looking for a friendly hotel that is on the edge of the Minster area, so quite but close with all the necessary amenities then this place is for you. Harrand House is detached from the main hotel in a residential street and has been very recently refurbished with all new everything.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Castle1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 31 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2011

We fell across Harrand House after originally enquiring about the sister hotel just round the corner in which we also had a lovely breakfast sitting in the front window watching the world go by with a selection of bird feeders in the trees opposite which kept the view even more interesting! Our room was in Harrand House itself and it was like being in someones cosy home in a lovely quiet street. Just the break we needed to brush the cobwebs away. We love York and we will most certaintly be returning to this Hotel! We were only there for a short visit so next time we will also enjoy the Spa and Pool too!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

I like this p[lace, close enough to walk to city centre, far enough away to be peaceful! Recently refurbished town house with comfortable and clean furnishings.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RevDarkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I stayed here with friends while taking a class through my University. It was a great place to stay especially because we had a kitchen to use and a living room to hang out in. It really made me feel at home. Being able to use the kitchen also kept the cost of food down for us poor college kids!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank under120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

Every day starts with an excellent full English breakfast (best I've ever had), served by a friendly staff in a cozy and inviting dining area. Our suite was lovely, had a great view and a nice full kitchen, very comfortable beds and room to spread out. It's in a good location between the walled city and the train station. Would love to go back soon!

Room Tip: St. Olave's: great layout and big kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rschwietz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This place was perfect for our group. It was really nice to have the kitchen facilities on the main floor. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie43501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Owner at Harrand House, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2011

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Loved the house and the staff of Hedley House. Everything was comfortable and easy and I couldn't have asked for better service. Thank you all so much for making our school all the more amazing!

Room Tip: Know what you need and want in a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregHotel, Owner at Harrand House, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review Harrand House.
It was a pleasure to host you and the rest of the group. You will go down in HH history as the most polite, well behaved and quiet group. Not to mention one of the longest serving groups!!

See you next time

Greg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
2.6 mi away
Mercure York Fairfield Manor Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel Noir
Hotel Noir
#1 of 2 in Clifton
1,139 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express York
7.2 mi away
Harmony House
Harmony House
#1 of 1 in Stillingfleet
144 reviews
0.6 mi away
Safestay York
Safestay York
#13 of 56 in York
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harrand House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harrand House

Address: 20 North Parade, York YO30 7AB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly refurbished property is available to rent as a whole or rooms can be rented by the night. 5 minutes walk from Hedley House Hotel where breakfast and meals maybe be purchased it is a great place from which to work or visit York and the surrounding area. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing