We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic York Visit”
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
York House
Ranked #68 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historic York Visit”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

A great location as it is only a 10 minute stroll or a 5 minute bus ride (bus stop outside the guest house) to the historic town centre. The service from our hosts was excellent as they were very attentive to all of our needs and provided information and advice about the local historical sites and the best alternate methods of moving around utilising public transport. A delicious cooked breakfast was made to order with an option of a continental breakfast with tea, coffee and juices. The walking distance to the city made it very easy to stroll down for lunch or dinner and enjoy some of the local cuisine and beverages before returning to our very comfortable room to rest for the next day’s adventure. Highly recommended when visiting the historical city of York. Ralph & Anna, Australia

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNM2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post such a nice and positive review it very much appreciated by all of us at York House. We do try to extend a warm welcome to all guests and hope that they feel there stay here is home from home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    87
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
203
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

This was our second stay at York house, once we parked the car we never used it till we left.
Location just the right distance for a stroll into town or you can catch bus right outside
Nice welcome on arrival, comfortable bed, excellent breakfast with a good choice served by friendly girls nothing was a trouble.
In hallway lot of information brochures with maps and places of interest.
Overall stay was excellent and will be returning next year ☺

Room Tip: Stayed in rooms 1 & 2 both very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annerobinson01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a positive and generous review about York House and I will pass your kind comments onto the staff, we do try our best to make guests feel at home. It was nic to see you again and I look forward to you visiting York House once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Romantic retreat. 4 poster bed ! Situated within easy walking distance from city centre. Bus stop if needed. Tasty breakfast with local food. Good choice. Roomy bedroom with local information provided. Worth the price.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a kind positive review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay at York House bed and breakfast and that you were comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Excellent Welcome when you arrive. Very good size rooms, clean and tidy. Meals very good. Overall very good, Will stay again and recommend to everyone. Easy travelling into the town, bus stop straight outside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a kind and positive review. I am pleased to learn that you would stay here and again and suggest York House to other potential visitors, you can not wish for a better recommendation for our work. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Enjoyed York House for short city break. Welcoming on arrival and free parking. Good location. Room nice but could do with a bit of tlc(damp marks on ceiling and bathroom walls). Bed was really comfy. Nice and quiet even though we had a room at the front. Lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaroleD281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a good review. The paint issue has been dealt with - I must admit that I hadn't seen it until I read your review and then I went to closely examine the bathroom and it would appear that the paint was being removed each time the walls were wiped down. I am pleased you were comfortable and enjoyed the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed in Room 2, downstairs 4 poster room, and our friends was in room 1, we stopped for 2 nights while visiting York for a long weekend, warm friendly welcome, ensuite was lovely with a lovely big shower, the four poster bed was nice, complimentary tray with plenty of tea and coffee, breakfast was really nice and tasty, the place was very clean and will stay again, thank you for a great no problem stay, kind regards Steve & Teresa

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are on the ground floor with lovely four poster beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Manager at York House, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a very generous review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at York House, we do try to enhance your stay in York without being too intrusive but are almost always present to be of assistance should it be required. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. Me and my partner stayed there from the 2nd to the 4th May. The room was lovely and the little touches that were put on were nice. Fluffy robes, complimentry hot chocolates, coffes, biscuits, horlicks and bathroom goodies too. Fresh water in a bottle everyday was very much appreciated. The owners were laid back and more then happy to give us directions to visit outside of York. It was all very relaxed and friendly. Thank you for such a lovely stay. Andrea

Room Tip: Dont have the twins beds stapped together if no double beds available. This was a request and nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us, it was a shame there were no double rooms available for you but o course zip linking the two single beds together is not perfect and only done on request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#123 of 192 in York
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#40 of 192 in York
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen Annes Guest House
1.4 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#57 of 192 in York
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing