We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
York House
Ranked #65 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent little place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed two nights in the four poster bedroom on the ground floor. We were initially concerned how much road noise we would hear with the windows open but this was not an issue at all. The room was spotlessly clean, well decorated and had a well stocked tea / coffee basket.

The hotel itself is a 10min walk to the centre of York but I am told there is a regular bus service stopping nearby that we didn't bother with.

The staff couldn't do enough to help us and breakfast was cooked fresh for us each morning.

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave1050_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your generous and positive review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay in the four poster room at York House and found the housekeeping up to a good standard and appreciated the well stocked beverage basket. I am pleased you were not disturbed by traffic noise and were able to keep windows open, if necessary guests can make use of the extra glazing which dulls all traffic noise.

The shuttle bus service is very convenient and regular, though it is close enough to walk into York centre from York House.

I am glad you enjoyed the food cooked to order, it so much better than having food served immediately because it will have been pre-cooked and held for any length of time, which does not enhance the texture or flavour.

Both the staff and I would very much appreciate any recommendations you can make to friends and colleagues, that if they should visit York in the future perhaps they could consider York House for accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    87
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
196
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed for one night in the four poster bed room, was fairly small badly decorated (red pictures on wall very out of place with green furnishings) brilliant four poster bed but unfortunately the fabric was stapled into the frame so we couldn't close it and the mattress was far too soft.Bathroom was right next to breakfast room so was very uncomfortable while trying to use it while hearing chinking plates and cups.Didn't receive a particularly warm reception in fact found the lady who showed us about was pretty offhand and rude, when we asked about getting to places etc she did give details of how to get there but didn't give us directions was more 'oh you get the bus from... *a place weyve never heard of!* breakfast looked promising, the breakfast staff were excellent until they explained the breakfast was made to order and to help yourself to cereal and fruit,was in the middle of debating what fruit to have when they looked at my boyfriends full cereal bowl and promptly took my bowl away!!no fruit for me! Cooked breakfast was pretty standard. In all, dreadful customer service,average room,average breakfast, wouldn't be recommending the place to anyone for the price they charge.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denisew7186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
I am at a loss, what can I say other than I am sorry to read your negative review and wondered if you had stayed at the same York House as other guest reviewers. It is a great shame you had a completely contrasting customer experience, which is poles apart when compared to the experiences of the vast majority of earlier guests. I am also amazed you did not like the fact that breakfast is cooked fresh to order as opposed to being cooked in advance and suffering the consequences of such. I can only apologise that our high standards are obviously not equal to your even higher expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

A great place to stay - my single room was really comfortable and well-equipped, and the made-to-order breakfast (ham and cheese omelette!) was absolutely superb. The staff were really helpful and went out of their way to improve my stay - even letting me use another room in the guest house to change and prepare for a wedding in the morning whilst the room I had booked for the forthcoming night was still occupied. I cannot speak highly enough of York House, and will hopefully have the opportunity to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheOC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your generous review. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would be pleased to see you again should you visit York in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

As above, this is my greatest B&B experience. A short walk from York (you can see the Minster from just outside) and free parking too!

The owners were very welcoming and there is free wifi, and a free breakfast (with lot of choice) the following morning.

I stayed in a single room and there is a flat screen television on the wall, complimentary dressing gowns, a kettle, sachets of things like hot chocolate etc (which I thought was a lovely touch) and complimentary soap and shampoo & conditioner.

They let us have 2 people in a single room due to most of York being fully booked up, but it was cosy nonetheless!

You have key access so you can come and go as you please, and the owners cannot do enough for you! There's a lovely conservatory to sit in and also a fish tanks inside the wall in the breakfast room.

10/10, the very best, I will tell all my friends and family about this one. I would stay here again even if there were rooms available in York city centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatP87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
What can \I say but thank you for your kind review and am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the York House.
The room we stayed in was the 4-poster room, which was lovely, very spacious with big windows, on the front of the B&B. The only thing that was not convenient was the matress of the bed, it was probably old and that's why it was not very comfortable.
However, the shower was excellent and our room (as well as the guesthouse in general) is overall very clean.
Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious and it also had fresh fruit ,cereal, toast, ham, cheese.
The location is very good, not inside the old city but in a comfortable 10 mins walk from the gate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maikol77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed your accommodation and food at York House. I am sorry you found the mattress too soft, however, this could have been remedied as I had put on a substantial mattress topper following complaints that it was too firm - this could have been removed for your stay. As you say it is just a 10 minute walk to the Minster from York House, and I agree our location is good in relation to access to the city centre. If we were located within the city walls we would not be able to offer free parking and room rates increase dramatically and, of course, there is the general city hum of noise and nightlife noise which we do not tend to suffer from being located just on the outskirts of the city centre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

We arrived at York house and Met by David and assisted with the car parking we checked in and access to the doors was explained and information about bus services and and distance from York which was very close 10 min walk which was ideal .
As it turned out we got a taxi £ 4.50 as it was raining .
The room We stayed in was the Four poster room which was nearest the front door but not a problem the room had triple glazing and quiet as on the front of the Hotel .The bedroom was a good sized room with tv /DVD lots of tea coffee etc and a hair dryer even an IPod dock lovely bed although a bit soft for us but looked lovely spotlessly clean with a large shower and complimentary shower gels etc .
in the wardrobe were bath robes to use and a fan if needed .
The Breakfast was served between 8am and 930 am and was fresh fruit ,cereal ,toast and a full English cooked to order in a lovely conservatory over looking beautiful terraced garden .
The cooked breakfast was very nice and served by very friendly staff .
We left after breakfast and found a great car park near to the railway museum £4 all day on a Sunday which left us to explore the sights on a sunny Sunday .
.We had a perfect weekend Thank you Katherine and David

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorty78_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments and generous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's a shame you didn't let me know about the bed as we could have addressed this issue without too much problem and made the mattress a little firmer throughout your stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the sights of York and found such a reasonably priced car park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed our overnight stay at York House, which is very comfortable and within walking distance of the city centre. Breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious. Our room was lovely and an early check in was no problem. We happily recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieMellinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hep20, Owner at York House, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I am so pleased you enjoyed the hospitality York House offered and even more delighted that you would recommend our bed and breakfast establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#137 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#36 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing