We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly lovely place”
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
York House
Ranked #68 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Tuxford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A truly lovely place”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed for one night to enjoy a day at the races and nothing was too much trouble for the staff, right down to ordering a taxi to take us racing. The huge added bonus was being able to check in at midday instead of the usual 2pm on therabouts, enough time to change etc after out journey. The room was well appointed, spacious and very clean, we were on the ground floor but were in no way disturbed by any noise whatsoever. Breakfast was freshly cooked and served in a lovely bright, light conservatory, the garden looked worth investigatin but alas didn't have the time. Intend to book again next year and have no hesitation recommending York house to anyone planning a trip to york, certainly value for money and you will get a very warm welcome

Room Tip: Room 3 on the ground floor, quiet and a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenenights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    88
    15
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
204
28
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Just got back from our 2nd stay at this guest house.
Excellent again. Very clean rooms beautiful bed linen, tea and coffe making facilities in the room, with a good selection.
Selection of toiletries in the bathroom for your use.
TV in the room with radio and alarm clock.
Windows double glazed to keep the noise out from the main road.
Bathrobes for your use in the wardrobes.
Breakfast choice from cereals to full english to kippers.
Lovely light and airy conservatory for the breakfast room.
Easy to get to the center of York, bus stop right outside .

thank you and see you next year for the York Ebor again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahJim2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Retford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

1 night stay at this above average guest house. Spotlessly clean ,clean and bright decor,excellent facilities,great staff all helpfull and friendly. Breakfast freshly cooked and tasty.
Would certainly reccomend and will be making full use of these facilities in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My partner and I stayed at York House Hotel in Heworth for the weekend. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable and the hotel has a very pleasant breakfast area leading into a conservatory and, beyond, a small garden. It's about ten to fifteen minutes walk from the centre of town. Dave and Cath, the proprietors gave us a such a warm, friendly welcome and Cath suggested some things we might like to do in York (like a great FREE guided walk from Exhibition Square). There are excellent bus connections. The No9 from Rougier St (leaves every 10 mins) stops outside the Shoulder of Mutton (pub next to York House). The Coastliner bus to Whitby and Scarborough also stops near York House. All in all an excellent place to stay and very good value for money. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the ground floor near the check in desk and you can hear people as they pass by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExmoorBoy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Have just got back from an amazing 3 night stay. We had the room with the water bed which was amazing. The room was decorated to an high standard and extremely comfortable. Suberb welcome from the owners on our arrival and instantly made to feel that nothing was too much trouble for them. Had breakfast in the conservatory which was the best ever! Nice choice of menu. All freshly cooked to the highest standard. Ideal for walking into the city or catching the bus which is just outside. The staff were all very polite and helpful. All in all this was a gem we found. Good price for the stay and we couldnt fault a thing. We are planning our next visit there. We came awy feeling we had made new friends which was a bonus. Highly recommended. Well done keep up the excellent work you made our stay with you fantastic THANKYOU

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Have just got back from 2 nights in the 4 poster bed room. Lovely decor, massive room and good sized bathroom. Shower was good, once you work out which way is hot/cold!! Everyone was very welcoming and the breakfasts were good and arrived nice and hot - it was a very pleasant eating area in the conservatory. The only downside was the bed: my husband is quite tall and found it a bit restrictive, length-wise, making it somewhat uncomfortable for him. That said, the location was good - only a short walk to Monks Bar and the Minster. The pub next door is a good place to eat if you don't want to go far - good quality fresh food and lots of it! Two good places to visit if you want to get out of York: Terrington Lavender Farm and Helmsley - both lovely and worth the effort. All in all 9 out of 10 and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotty73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The owners were very helpful and informative. The breakfast was excellent and they were willing to work with my dietary needs. The room was very comfortable. To top it off, the price was great. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGTraveller348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#127 of 192 in York
168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#40 of 192 in York
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holgate Bridge Hotel
Holgate Bridge Hotel
#77 of 192 in York
245 reviews
1.8 mi away
Midway House
Midway House
#74 of 192 in York
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#59 of 192 in York
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing