We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
York House
Ranked #64 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Top Class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights beautiful room at front of house. Breakfast was number 1 with kitchen area visible for all to see and served in comfortable surrounds. Everything was quality here from the loo paper to the brand names of cereals..jams etc on breakfast table...so basically no short cuts. Our hosts were extremely pleasant and helpful and location was excellent....parked car in front yard and left it for 3 days.In my view a lot of B and B's could learn by checking out York House.

Room Tip: The double looking on to the road at front of building is a pleasure to stay in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youghalbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    87
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
29
198
26
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

We very much enjoyed our two night stay in a double aspect room (no 5), which had an extremely comfortable king size bed. Nice large shower room, everything very clean. Lovely sunny conservatory for breakfasting and good location being a 15 min stroll into the City centre. Bus stop, with very regular day service right outside as an alternative, so all very convenient. Owners were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do enough to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Would recommend to others and will definately go back to York House when we next visit the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovejoy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed with friends on easter weekend, our greeting was very friendly and our room was largeand comfortable,the breakfast was excellent with cereals toast and full english cooked to order. Next door is a friendly pub that serves reasonably priced meals. Despite the weather a very weekend was enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dudleylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is the third B&B I have stayed at in York in the last couple of years and definitely the best. A leisurely stroll into Monksgate and £5 or £6 back from the centre of York in a cab at night. Disappointingly they were fully booked for a return visit in August

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdinburghBhoy1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

I didn't have chance to write in the visitors book so thought it would be helpful to show our appreciation for all to see including the hosts,staff and potential guests.We stayed at the York house hotel for the easter weekend 2012 for a friends wedding.We had never been to York before and in the wedding info it was listed on places to stay.We had a warm welcome and walked into York city which was approximately 10-15 mins away.The city is historic,pretty and a shopaholics dream.The B&B was very clean and we were made very welcomed.The rooms were tastefully decorated with all the home comforts including a hot water bottle(which I had forgotten and was stressing about on the journey!).The breakfast was lovely with fresh juices,cereal,perculated coffee and food to order.Nothing was any trouble.We really enjoyed our visit and thank the owners and staff for making us feel welcome.Would book again.

Room Tip: We stayed in two double rooms and both were very comfortable,clean,nicely decorated with home comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stayed in the superior double room. It was very large with a waterbed, sofa, television, desk, etc. The breakfasts each morning were cooked to order and very nice - even catered to our dietary restrictions, which was great.

There were a few little problems with the room, which were resolved without the following day without us even asking (a few lights out the night we came). Nothing that really took away from our stay.

What really made the stay enjoyable was the hospitality that we received from the owners whenever we had any questions.

Room Tip: Make sure you like waterbeds if you choose the superior double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Room nice and cozy with comfy beds, a plentiful welcome tray and a lovely shower room. Breakfast was brilliant with plenty of choice. Bus stop right out side took us straight to the city centre. Very friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marcia220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.4 mi away
Monkgate Guest House
Monkgate Guest House
#69 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#12 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#136 of 192 in York
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#38 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#3 of 192 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#33 of 192 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing