We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of York House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
York House
Ranked #68 of 192 York B&B and Inns
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here from start to finish. We were made very welcome, room was very clean, spacious and ideal for our short break. Dave and Kath and all the staff were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was outstanding, would recommend this b & b, although a little way out of town there's a frequent bus service but it's only around a ten minute walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    87
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
203
27
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Margate City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the York House for one night after a train journey. Without a car we wanted a place within walking distance to town or on a bus line, and the York House fit the bill nicely. The other motivation for reserving a room at York House were the pictures of the breakfast area and patio that I saw on the website. Since it was late spring, we wanted to take advantage of the lovely bright weather in a garden setting. Well, the pictures didn't lie. The breakfast room was sunny and airy; a great spot to enjoy our cooked-to-order breakfast. But the aspect of the stay that I have not stopped relating to all is the hospitality of the host. Not only did Dave take the time to tell us about the area, but when it was time for us to go, he drove us to pick up a car at a local rental agency. He literally went that extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margate_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Friendly owners who were happy to please us and make the most out of our stay. Breakfast was lovely. Room was clean and location was good for access to York. Bus stop right outside the front door. Parking was tight but owner was happy to park guest's vehicles. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marchhare1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Tipperary
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Very courteous and friendly welcome. We were shown to the room and given instructions on the windows, shower etc. We were given a tourist brochure of York, with their address and phone number written over the Map. The whole premises were very clean and tidy. It was within walking distance of York center. The breakfast was cooked to order and was plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2011

Handy Location to down town, requiring a walk of 10-15 minutes. David and his wife were very friendly and helpful. Excellent room with newer double pane windows, comfortable bed, good lighting and quiet. The en-suite toilet worked better than what we were used to at other B and B's during our one month travel in the UK. Excellent breakfast. We thought the price compared very favorably with other B and B's, especially considering the quality of York House.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsnugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fish Creek, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

I would highly recommend this accom. The host was friendly, obliging and helpful with a great sense of humour. He went out of his way to make sure one of our party, who was recovering from a broken ankle, had a ground floor room. The rooms were huge and extremely comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. A short walk to the main attractions in York and advice and directions given cheerfully. A very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandy2949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Staffordshire
1 review
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Our first time at York House - we had a very enjoyable 4 night stay in family room
Very clean, comfortable & friendly guest house; owners and staff very helpful; excellent freshly cooked brekfast to order with good choice; only 12-15 minutes walk into city centre - bus stop immediately outside if required.
Very highly recommended

Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank johnsirknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
0.0 mi away
Shoulder of Mutton
Shoulder of Mutton
#123 of 192 in York
160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Heworth Guest House
Heworth Guest House
#40 of 192 in York
318 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ashbourne House
Ashbourne House
#38 of 192 in York
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Queen Annes Guest House
1.4 mi away
Farthings Guest House
Farthings Guest House
#50 of 192 in York
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Heworth Court Hotel
Heworth Court Hotel
#57 of 192 in York
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to York House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about York House

Property: York House
Address: 62 Heworth Green, York YO31 7TQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — York House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your York House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing