We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Grays Court Restaurant
Ranked #355 of 881 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $58
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Grays Court is a boutique hotel and heritage property in York that boasts over 900 years of colourful history. Nestled between the Minster and city walls. We are a one-off, a country house hotel in the heart of the city waiting to be explored. As well as eleven individual luxury bedrooms, we house a vibrant resturant and bar and walled garden which proved a beautiful and original venue for meetings, private dining and celebrations.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Had lunch at Gray's court Hotel the building a fantastic 900 year old gem.The service very good and pleasant staff,The food we had the Duck Confit very nice as was the Grilled Sea Bream the Ploughman's not quiet as good a small soup roll and small portions but good quality.We will return may and stay in the hotel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank teejay11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    43
    21
    19
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique in central location”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Set within the city walls this was a great location for us as we travelled by train and not car. We were able to walk to most places. The room was very nice with a view over the walls, although it could have done with a blind in the bathroom that you could put down in the day time that did not shut out all the light but provided some privacy.
Wifi was a weak point. You could to get anything in the room. Managed to pick it up at the breakfast room but that was all. Very nice building though tastefully restored. Tea was provided daily free of charge in the long room although this was not properly explained on our arrival, we thought it was just as we arrived there not every day. Reception staffing a bit hit and miss. There is a bell but it was not always answered.as we were leaving we had to go in search of someone upstairs to settle the bill.......all in all probably worth what we paid but would not describe it as a bargain. It is pretty top end prices.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent service”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Third visit wanted to take a couple of friends who were visiting York, beef sandwiches cheese on toast pots of earl grey wonderful friendly service and v,tasty food. Needless to say my friends won't be queuing at Bettys again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Cream Tea in a VERY historic location”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Home made scones. Delicious and freshly made. Jam which was made with sugar, rather than glucose-fructose syrup. Lashings of leaf tea. The obligatory extra pot of hot water.

Enjoyed in a room where King James I, knighted eight noblemen in a single day. History, exudes from the wood panels and the attentive staff clearly enjoy their roles.

Would I recommend it? Oh yes, indeed I would. But, don't take my word. Try it yourselves. You won't regret it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CloudStratUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“3rd time unlucky?”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Both of our 2 previous visits to Grays Court were a great experience. This place has atmosphere, history and good food. Prices are a little higher than average however we considered this worth the extra for the special experience. Our 3rd visit however was not so impressive. On arrival we were kept waiting to be seated - even though there were plenty of places available. Once seated service continued at the same level - a couple who arrived after us were served drinks, paid and departed before we had even been served. When I complained that we had waited 25 minutes for our cups of tea we were told that this was because the Ginger Beer was in the cellar??? We hadn't even ordered Ginger Beer - so not a great excuse! In all we waited just short of 1 hour to before our food arrived. The 5 of us were expiring! So disappointing after our previous experience. This visit deserved only one star however 2 stars given because of previous experience.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Erisnud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grays Court Restaurant also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Grays Court Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing