We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish it was my local”
Review of Jorvik Spice

Jorvik Spice
Ranked #165 of 870 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
1 review
“Wish it was my local”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Staying with friends in York where Jorvic Spice is their local Indian restaurant. We were a party of six with three children without a reservation and they quickly made a table available for us. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful when asked questions about the menu. I had Lamb Padina - a first - which I recommend as spicy with warm flavours. Saag Bhaji can be sloppy and greasy but this was packed with spinach and spices. The portions were perfect for the adults and children. The only small criticism would be the poppadoms which were tasteless, a bit like low-fat crips so not as delicious as they might have been although the chutneys were great. Wish this was my local in London...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sarahhartley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    70
    11
    5
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Very large portions”
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We visited on a Groupon voucher.
We had booked as requested, we were welcomed and given a choice of where we wanted to sit.
We ordered popadoms which sadly were a bit stale but the rest of the meal more than made up for it.
We both had chicken pakora to start, then murgh masala , special biriyani as main entrees and as extras we had Dahl , garlic nam and mushroom rice. We definitely didn't need the extras.
It was very tasty and great value for money.
The food was excellent. Don't be put off by the blandness of the shop front decor.
We would recommend , thank you

Helpful?
Thank TNADZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Jorvik spice adventure went excellent. Food was very good and tasty. You can taste all the herbs and spices must try their traditional home style dish call the NAGA very fine authentic dish simmered with chili pickle. Service was excellent Noor the waiter was polite and very talkative knows a lot about politics. Overall very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob-eel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Indian Food”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We moved to York only a little more than a month ago and did not know much about local Indian restaurants. After seeing Jorvik Spice's Groupon offer we decided to give it a try since the restaurant is located just a 10-minute walk away from where we live. The restaurant was not very busy the day we visited but we still followed the instruction on the Groupon voucher to book in advance. The waiter Noor politely explained to us how the voucher worked and we made our order according to the voucher guidelines. The food was sent to our table promptly, hot (in temperature), and tasted delicious. It was much better in volume and in taste than the food we had at an expensive Indian restaurant we tried while visiting London in September. The waiters Noor and Rubel were very friendly and helpful. Although we did not meet the chef Enam (Noor told us his name) we thought we had met him through his food. I would especially want to mention the jug of Mango Lassi which is a great value at just 5 pounds (plenty for three of us). The only disappointment we had was that we were unable to substitute coffee (offered in the voucher) to something more suitable for my kid. Overall our experience was wonderful and we definitely will go back again even without a Groupon voucher.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Made to feel unwelcome !”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant once only and never again ! We are well used to Indian restaurants in York we go out nearly every week for an Indian meal ! We purchased a Groupon voucher and thought we would give Yorvik Spice a try ! On sitting down at our table my husband presented our Groupon voucher to be asked straight away if he had booked ? We had not booked , but as there was only ONE table of 2 other than us in the restaurant we thought it shouldn't be a problem on a very quiet evening ! The waiter told us we should have booked before hand , ok maybe so BUT there was only one more table occupied in the whole place ! This made me feel very unwelcome indeed not a good start at all , I very nearly got up at that point and left as I have never come across such an unwelcome feeling from a waiter in the past , but decided to stay when he said ok then but must book next time , made us feel he was doing us a big favour letting us stay in his by then empty restaurant ! The food was ok , nothing to get exited about , the surroundings not brilliant , but on principle will not return because was made to feel unwelcome ! There are plenty of other restaurants in York in our experience with lovely staff , who bend over backwards to make you feel welcome , not that this is essential but the feeling of being unwelcome is very off putting . We are reasonable people and if the restaurant had been at all busy ,no offence would have been taken , and we wouldn't even expect them to give us a table if we hadn't booked one ! BUT it wasn't as stated one couple only on entering at 9 pm on a quiet week night , does not warrant how this waiter made us both feel !!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tonyjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jorvik Spice also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Jorvik Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing