We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One word - Nacho's!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stonegate Yard Bar & Brasserie

Stonegate Yard Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #176 of 850 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One word - Nacho's!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

We are from Leeds and this is our place of choice for lunch each time we visit York. Nice covered courtyard that is dog friendly or inside which isn't. Food is always good. The nachos are amazing. Waiting staff always look rushed off their feet even if the place isn't that busy?! We will be returning next time we are in York!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachael1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    200
    86
    41
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“You need to be hungry”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Been here a few times over lasy 18 months and always been very good food.
They have outside seating (under cover, with heaters) and also various indoor seating areas to eat.
Portion sizes are large and generous ...had lasagne, gammon, chilli and chicken dishes ...all very good, tasty stuff.
Music can be bit loud on Sat night, but worth a visit.
Lunchtime specials ... sandwiches, chips and drinks for c. £11 is good value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Big portions lovely food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Had tea here after Xmas shopping we thought we'd just order a couple of starters to share pleased we did they were huge had the mixed platter with potatoe wedges chicken sausages tempura veg etc and nachos there was easily enough for four people never mind two and it was really good food and excellent value! We ate outside in the patio area and it has a lovely atmosphere anyone who's visiting York should try it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Presl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

We go quite often to Stonegate Yard - especially if the weather is warm as the courtyard is so lovely. Even it is not so warm, they have a cover and heaters which help.

The main reason we go is because they allow dogs in the courtyard and provide drinking water for the dogs.

The menu isn't that adventerous - burgers, nachos, chilli, sandwiches, that sort of thing but what you do get is good. On a Sunday they do a giant Yorkshire pudding filled with Sunday dinner type stuff - this is delicious and big enough to share.

Staff are friendly and helpful and table service (even for drinks) is a nice bonus when looking after 2 40kg dogs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RonnieWould
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Hidden courtyard offers good value meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across this place by accident . The courtyard provided a great setting for drinks in the evening! We came back for a meal the next day .. the food was of a good pub quality. You cannot complain at the good value for money and cost of the drinks! The courtyard area itself is a particular highlight and I'm sure we will return next time in York.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank K785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonegate Yard Bar & Brasserie also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Stonegate Yard Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing