We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bentham Lodge Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bentham Lodge Guest House
Ranked #8 of 205 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brilliant B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed at Bentham Lodge for two nights & I cannot think of a thing that could fault the place.

Nikki welcomed us in & showed us to our room which had all you need. A beautiful, clean, bedroom & en-suite, with a lovely large bed, tv, fridge, wifi access, and all the teas & coffee you wish for! Nikki even offered us a lift into town (the town centre is probably about a 45 min walk away), which was lovely & was much appreciated!

Breakfast in the morning did not disappoint either! It was beautiful & the bread for the toast was lush! Nikki provides one of the most filling & delicious English breakfasts I've ever eaten. It'll keep you going all day!

Definitely a winner here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    47
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
142
144
11
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed in quite a number of bed and breakfasts but I must say that this is one of the best.. we booked the family suite which is really two separate rooms on the top floor so its like your very own loft. the rooms were very comfortable, cozy and you can see that nikki has put in a lot of trouble making sure that the materials used for the bed and breakfast is good quality. The bathroom was top class with enough toiletries that made me feel that is was more like a five star boutique hotel .

Breakfast was such a spread , it was really two meals. I skipped lunch the next day. The christmas decor was up the night we checked in and it was so lovely. Our visit to York was short but definitely the top of mind recall in our York stay is Bentham Lodge and Nikki.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank malaccanlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed overnight on 15th December 2012. Nikki could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was superb. Wifi signal was strong. Room was smart and clean, bathroom decor was plush. Bed was very comfortable. Perfect B and B. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJAL47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
244 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We were traveling by car with our daughter, so we looked for a triple with free parking, not far from the center of York. The Bentham had all that, so we booked. Arriving late was not a problem. The room was comfortable, equipped with a spacious, newly renovated, sparkling-clean ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was cooked to order and was more than filling. But what makes the difference is Nikki, the owner: friendly, witty, ready to offer advice on what to see and where to go. We spent only one night there, but we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Street noise was not an issue with the windows closed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smokedeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We - my wife, daughter and I - stayed at Bentham Lodge for 2 nights at the start of an 18-day road trip through England, Scotland and Wales.
It was like staying with a friend. Breakfast was freshly cooked and tasty. Our room had good wi-fi connectivity and a good-sized LCD TV. Space was adequate for 3 persons.
There's a bus stop nearby from which you can catch a bus to and from the city centre. (Our friendly host Nikki even gave us a ride into the city centre after breakfast on one of the mornings.)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

The b n b was fab very clean and tidy. Breakfast lovely and entertainment at breakfast very funny. The best part of all is nikki the owner what a lovely women,she was so kind to my sisters and I dropping us off were we wanted to be and taking our cases to the train station On day of departure, nothing was a bother to her rooms and bathrooom very nice. Thank you nikki

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katybillingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Fantastic welcome by nikki the owner! Couldn't have made us more welcome! Had the feeling of staying with family. Everything was spotlessly clean, warm and comforting. I can recommend the scrambled eggs! Well done nikki you are an amazing host :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beciwinkwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these York hotels
1.9 mi away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
1.9 mi away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 46 in York
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
Middlethorpe Hall & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 46 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
The Ashberry B&B
The Ashberry B&B
#4 of 205 in York
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentham Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentham Lodge Guest House

Property: Bentham Lodge Guest House
Address: 92 Tadcaster Road | Dringhouses, York YO24 1LT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 205 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bentham Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run guest house offering modern facilities and great breakfasts within easy walking distance of York Racecourse and York College. 30 Minute walk into the City of York. Regular buses. Free parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Bentham Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing