We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
York
Post
Inbox
Search

“Athiti contemporary indian restaurant”

Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant
Ranked #231 of 1,088 Restaurants in York
Price range: $10 - $15
Description: Set in the historic city of York, Atithi is one of the best Indian restaurants in the city for contemporary Indian food. Atithi has a proud history of serving innovative and creative Indian dishes. Taking inspiration from all over India, we invite you to celebrate contemporary Indian cuisine.
Restaurant details
Description: Set in the historic city of York, Atithi is one of the best Indian restaurants in the city for contemporary Indian food. Atithi has a proud history of serving innovative and creative Indian dishes. Taking inspiration from all over India, we invite you to celebrate contemporary Indian cuisine.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great Food, Great Service. My parents had an awesome experience visiting here. This is the second time i arranged surprise being away from the country for my parents on their birthday and this restaurant has been amazing in every way. Thank you so much for making their day special with the cake and special song... Staff is really nice and welcoming.
Thanks to the whole team once again for everything.

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank G6073IRkarank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
969amarr, Owner at Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Firstly, we understand how important special occasions can be, which is why we strive to make it a memorable experience. We are very happy that you spent that special day with us. Secondly, we welcome your kind compliments towards our food and staff, as we spend a lot of time and effort into making it the best they can be. Finally, we are looking forward to welcoming you back should you wish to have some of our food again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing experience! Words can barely describe our meal! Innovative, delicious and interesting way of reimagining Indian cuisine and ingredients. This place serves delicious and fresh food. The ambience is great too. There is so much on the menu that I’d like to try.
You will probably never find most of the dishes anywhere else in York. I really enjoyed Lamb Chops which is From the new menu. It’s insanely amazing. Definitely going back there. Highly recommended..

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank 323pushpinderk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
969amarr, Owner at Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you kindly for your leaving a review of your positive experience with us. The food we have on our menu has had a lot of development to make it as special as it is. Our goal is to bring what most people know and love about traditional Indian cuisine, and elevate it by bringing in influence from local ingredients, to give it its flair of uniqueness. We also make everything from scratch and to order, so it is fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our food as whole, as we strive to make it the best it can be. We are excited to hear that you liked the lamb chops from our new menu, which will be coming soon. We look forward to seeing you again at Atithi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I'm so glad we planned to eat out here. As a vegetarian, I found the vegetarian options were plentiful and tasty, instead of being an afterthought. The Chilli paneer was brilliant and spiced just right. I had Palak paneer for main course, and the paneer was perfectly cooked and flavoured.
I must also say the service is friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. Will definitely go back.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank ujjirao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
969amarr, Owner at Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

We are very happy to hear that you had a good time with us. Vegetarian or not, we put a lot of work into making everything on the menu taste extraordinary. We keep a very high standard when it comes to our food, as everything is made from fresh ingredients in order to bring the most out of everything we cook. Thank you also for your kind words towards our service. We hope to have you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I had the Kerala duck curry from the chef's special. As a Keralite, it tasted exactly like Kerala food. I can vouch for its authenticity. Do try!

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank utharag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
969amarr, Owner at Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

We appreciate your positive comments towards our Kerala Duck Curry from our menu. We take pride in the fact that our food is cooked to order using only the best ingredients that can be found in traditional Indian cuisine, which is a core value we maintain in everything we cook. We are thrilled to hear that this has been represented in your account of your time here. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Service was really amazing and the food was out of the world though it was from India. It was way more than I ever planned to expect.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank TejasTK98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
969amarr, Owner at Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi,

We welcome your positive thoughts of your time with us. The food we prepare is made using only fresh ingredients from scratch, with a large amount of effort and care put into it to make sure that it is true to the heart of Indian cuisine. We hope to see you again soon at Atithi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Atithi Contemporary Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing