We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a lot of choice on a Sunday night”

Toby Carvery Hopgrove
Ranked #304 of 916 Restaurants in York
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We walked across to this Toby Grill from the nearby adults only York Caravan Park. There is a good amount of parking and it is part of a hotel chain Holiday Express.The pub part was empty on the Sunday night apart from a few staff talking to a couple of customers. Initial service was slow. We had a look at the menu which advertised outside that the carvery was available at £5.99 however when we got the menu this price was for midweek and it went up to £8.99 on a Sunday. I couldnt work out off the menu actually what it was going to cost for a full roast dinner with all the trimmings. There wasnt much else as a choice - a few salads and some starters. We asked if we could just have a portion of the sausages cooked in honey,the yorkshire pudding with beef and some strips of chicken in a tasty sauce . To be fair there was plenty for the two of us and it came out cheaper than the full carvery meal. and it was tasty Perhaps in the week it would be busier as on the Sunday night it was very quiet. Perhaps the weekday menu might have been better. Wouldnt go again unless there was nowhere else .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank daffyhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 517 of 588 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

even though it was 9 .30 or so in the evening (last order 10pm) the food was lovely with succulent meats.. turkey, pork, beef ,gammon. choice of 7 veg, mash and roast potatoes Yorkshire pudding stuffing, sausage, crackling, lots of choice of gravies and sauces.. lovely helpful staff in clean pleasant surroundings. will go back again if iam in York area.

Thank sunnyhoneygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

visited this Toby for first time having eaten in others from time to time. What you get "is what's on the can" - it's a CARVERY very good value for two at £10 ( we had a voucher - 2 carverery's for a tenner )

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Grahame P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I have ate here and enjoyed the Sunday carvery, but if you come on a morning it's like eating in a different restaurant. Snappy waitresses and poor cold food. Won't be back for breakfast.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

On a recent break in York we wasted time looking around for somewhere pleasant to eat, having looked at Piccolinos which is our favourite although it must be said the one in Birmingham we decided against it as it was almost empty and no atmosphere. So off to find Jamies there again not impressed, by this time we were very hungry, we had seen the Toby on our travels and decided to give it a go.Very pleased to say we were not disappointed very busy, great staff sorted in minutes food hot and plenty of it all in all a good result.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FRAMPTON1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2017

We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hopgrove also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hopgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing