We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuffed”

Toby Carvery Hopgrove
Ranked #264 of 874 Restaurants in York
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stuffed”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Been here a few times and always been well satisfied.
Met by friendly greeter, shown to table and checked on by friendly waitresses.
The chefs always give you plenty of meat ...you can choose from 4 meats or have some of each (usually have 3!).
Loads of veg, yorkshire pudds and sauces, gravy etc.
I've never managed a pudd as too full, but the kids alwats rave about them ...although too big and can never finush them.
Excellent value at £5-6 for carvery main.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this review, April 15, 2017
We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    170
    101
    48
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goole, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
282 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“All You Can Eat Breakfast for £3.99!”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I've had carveries at different branches before but never breakfast.
I saw the price outside and decided to try it out having had good experiences with Toby in the past.
Again I was not disappointed and found the breakfast to be excellent value for money.
You get sausage, eggs, beans, bacon, tomatoes, hash browns and a gammon and potato hash unlimited, as well as toast in the price.
You can pay £1 for extras such as mushrooms while hot drinks are also unlimited on the menu.
All in all you won't pay much more than a fiver for a hot and tasty breakfast.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this review, April 15, 2017
We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Value for Money”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

my self and my family often visit this carvery when on holiday in York, There is a good selection of food on offer and the staff are generally friendly and helpful. in regards to the food you get a good portion of the selected meat and a large choice of veg etc. the only problem I found was that the roast potatoes tasted as if they had been burned but in general you get a good meal for the price you pay.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Derren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this review, April 15, 2017
We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not great quality of food”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My boyfriend and I came for a roast one evening and I can't say any of the food was of any quality you definitely get what you pay for which is mass produced cheap poor quality food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BeefFarmersDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this review, April 15, 2017
We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very poor”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went here for a Sunday carvery, we have been plenty of times before and have always enjoyed our meals but yesterday was appalling we approached the carvery and chose our meat but the kitchen staff were not keeping up with the demand of vegetables so there were empty dishes and not much choice for a 'carvery'. When we have visited before we have always been pleased with the choice of vegetables but not this time it certainly was not worth the £8.99 a plate we paid for it! We were also seated in a very noisy area by the kitchen doors and been a table of two we found ourselves shouting at each other to be heard, we left with a headache and deeply unsatisfied.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Hopgrove, responded to this review, April 15, 2017
We are sorry it has taken us so long to respond. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toby Carvery Hopgrove also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Hopgrove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing