We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed on a Saturday night - no explanation!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Chandini Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chandini Indian Restaurant
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Asian, Indian
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Seating, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Closed on a Saturday night - no explanation!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had bought a groupon voucher for this restaurant and was going with some friends for my birthday. When we arrived, the restaurant was closed, no sign to explain why and looking through the window, things were packed up in boxes.....
Very disappointing for us, but the excellent Bombay Spice just a few doors away were very accomodating.
Tried to contact the restaurant today, and the phone number is disconnected.
Not really a review as we didn't actually get to eat!!!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Bunny7434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, Good Service, Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

The all-you-can-eat buffet was delicious and a super value at 8 pounds.

We didn't understand at the beginning, but one first sits at one's table, and the staff bring out generous amounts of appetizers. Truly, the appetizers were almost enough to make a meal. Delicious naan.

After appetizers, one can partake of the buffet. (The staff, who had only a few words of English) seemed very keen to make sure we had appetizers before going to the buffet.

The buffet had four choices that were very spicy, and only two that were mild.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 133travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food on a quiet night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

We visited this restaurant on a Monday night and as expected it was very quiet. We were however really well looked after and the food was very good. The staff were friendly and stopped to chat whilst we were waiting for our food. Would really recommend it.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sallywt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringstead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful, Awful, Awful”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

We arrived at Chadinis on a Saturday night at about 8:30pm. We were told there was a 15 minute wait and were pointed to a row of chairs. It took a while to be offered a drink but we were seated in the 15 minutes. The laminated menus were then almost thrown at us by the young surly waiter. Finally somebody bothered to come and take our order along with the second order of drinks. The papadoms arrived a mere 20 minutes later and the starter a further 25 minutes after that. The table was cleared with no word from the waiter. At no point did they offer napkins and it was obvious that the chutneys that came with the papadoms had just been transferred from someone else's table as bits of other peoples papadoms were in the chutney. I'm still surprised that we were still there at this point as my hackles were beginning to raise. They kept looking over at us but at no point did they anyone bother to approach us and explain why the food was taking so long to arrive. Funnily enough as we got up and started to put our coats on the staff appeared from everywhere. Once I had remonstrated with them I offered to pay for the drinks and the starters that came to over £28. I paid them £20 while my partner was warning people waiting for a table about the woeful service they should expect to receive and left vowing never to return. 90 minutes in total to get as far as the starter !!!!!! The chips in the paper from the shop in the next street were excellent.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelBandChrisW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Minimalist decor, maximum taste!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

One of their special dishes: something like Nawabi Khana - was a real treat. One of the best restaurant curries I have had in a long time. All the starters and usual accompaniments were pretty good too. Some of the party I was with came back for a return visit the following night, they enjoyed it so much! Perhaps not a place for a romantic dinner, as the decor is a bit minimalist, but who goes out for a romantic curry? (If you do, you will be very impressed!)

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank gbtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chandini Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Sutton on the Forest, York
Long Marston, York
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing