We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, reasonable prices”

Lucia Wine Bar & Grill
Ranked #59 of 888 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Family owned restaurant serves Italian, Spanish and Mediterranean dishes with world class cocktails in a holiday type of feeling at our cosy indoor and outdoor space.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonable prices”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Went here in the summer and had a thoroughly enjoyable meal. Opted for the Cajun chicken fillet and jalapeno burger and it was very nice indeed. Very busy but excellent and quick service. As well as good food it is a nice environment to sit and enjoy a meal. The bill was very reasonable, all in all ensuring I would go back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKL808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, General Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Thank you very much for your review and really appreciate that you recently shared your experience with others although it has been a while since your visit to Lucia Wine Bar. We are glad to hear that you would visiting us again. Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,620
    661
    195
    90
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowness
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“excellent steak at Lucia's”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We visited Lucia's on Friday night. It was busy but we managed to get a table. We both had rump steak and it was delicious, one of the nicest steaks we had had! Service was really good and quick considering how busy it was. I would recommend the restaurant for all groups.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your recommendation! I was very happy to read you felt it was one of the best steaks you've had, and your comments have been passed on to my team, thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant, great food, brilliant service!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I visited York for the first time with my Fiance and searched on a Saturday afternoon for a nice restaurant to eat in that evening. We found Lucia, lovely restaurant! You can't book tables but was asked to wait upstairs in a very classy wine bar for a table, (5 minute wait) We ate outside on a heated patio and sheep blankets are provided to keep you warm, very fun and quirky! Lovely meal, brilliant service and the bill only came to £36 with a two course meal each and drinks. Excellent!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nicola t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback, I'm very pleased you was satisfied with your recent visit. We look forward to seeing you again here at Lucia Wine Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dewsbury
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good food good atmosphere”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Out of the way but worth finding,We shared garlic mushroom starter and had chicken and a steak skewer, which turned up very quickly.Struggled to eat all food.Walk upstairs to cocktail bar which was quite full.Would use again

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your recent visit to Lucia Wine Bar. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a meal here for 5 on boxing day after my wife said how good the one in beverley was.

The bread that came as part of the starters was inedible. Both daughters had the mussels as a main course but sent them back as there was an odd smell. Bearing in mind that it was boxing day they were probably a few days old so taking no chances back they went.
They were removed from the bill so no argument there but left disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank jetsettel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LUCIAWINEBAR, Manager at Lucia Wine Bar & Grill, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. Firstly, I'd like to apologise that the mussels did not live up to your expectations. I can assure you that we cook all our products from fresh, and receive food deliveries every other day, so therefore impossible to be old. I'd also like to assure you that your comments were noted on the day, and we will continue to ensure this doesn't happen again. I hope this experience hasn't deterred us from revisiting in the future, and I hope to see you and your family again soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucia Wine Bar & Grill also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Lucia Wine Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing